2016 Art Music Awards Finalists Announced - Noise11.com
Jonathan Biggins by Tony Mott

2016 Art Music Awards Finalists Announced

by Paul Cashmere on July 19, 2016

in Live,News

The finalists for 11 categories of the Art Music Awards have been announced.

The Art Music Awards recognise the diversity of contemporary art music written, composed and performed in 2015.

The Art Music Awards will be presented at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne on 16 August 2016. Jonathan Biggins will host the evening curated by Gabriella Smart.

Presented by APRA AMCOS and AMC

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year

Title: Fly Away Peter
Composer: Elliott Gyger
Text: Pierce Wilcox, after the novel by David Malouf
Performed by: Sydney Chamber Opera

Title: Le Molière Imaginaire, for eight voices
Composer: Andrew Schultz
Text: Timothy Knapman, after the final scene of Molière’s ‘Le Malade Imaginaire’
Performed by: I Fagiolini

Title: Malala
Composer: Paul Jarman
Performed by: PLC Sydney Chamber Choir and soloists

Title: Paradise, five songs for soprano, cello and piano
Composer: Andrew Schultz
Performed by: Felicitas Fuchs (soprano), Qin Li-Wei (cello) and Bernard Lanskey (piano)

Jazz Work of the Year

Title: Beginning and End of Knowing
Composed &
Performed by: Laurence Pike and Mike Nock

Title: Nyilipidgi
Composer: Paul Grabowsky and the Young Wägilak Group
Performed by: Paul Grabowsky, the Young Wägilak Group and the Monash Art Ensemble
Publisher: J Albert & Son

Title: Spiel
Composed &
Performed by: Paul Grabowsky and Niko Schäuble
Publisher: J Albert & Son

Title: Water Pushes Sand
Composers: Erik Griswold
Performed by: Erik Griswold, Vanessa Tomlinson, Australian Art Orchestra and Sichuan musicians

Instrumental Work of the Year

Title: Patañjali
Composer: Michael Kieran Harvey
Performed by: Michael Kieran Harvey, Arabella Teniswood-Harvey and Eugene Ughetti with yoga asana by Arjun von Caemmerer

Title: read/write error
Composer: Tristan Coelho
Performed by: Ensemble Offspring

Title: Saudade
Composer: Natalie Williams
Performed by: Doric String Quartet and Pavel Haas Quartet

Title: Semaphore
Composer: Kate Neal
Performed by: Semaphore band and dancers

Orchestral Work of the Year

Title: Darkest Light
Composer: Mary Finsterer
Performed by: Monash Academy Orchestra

Title: Earth Plays
Composer: Catherine Milliken
Performed by: Bavarian Radio Orchestra, Fiona Campbell, soloist, Peter Rundel, conductor

Title: From Joyous Leaves
Composer: Elliott Gyger
Performed by: Arcko Symphonic Ensemble, Zubin Kanga, soloist, Timothy Phillips, conductor

Title: Jerusalem (after Blake)
Composer: Georges Lentz
Performed by: Sydney Symphony Orchestra, David Robertson, conductor
Publisher: Hal Leonard/Universal Edition

Performance of the Year

Performer: Goldner String Quartet
Title: String Quartet no. 3
Composer: Paul Stanhope

Performer: Semaphore band and dancers
Title: Semaphore
Composer: Kate Neal

Performer: Louise Devenish
Title: Electroacoustic Music For One Percussionist
Composers: Warren Burt, James Hullick, Stuart James, Andrián Pertout and Lindsay Vickery

Performer: Sydney Chamber Opera
Title: Fly Away Peter
Composer: Elliott Gyger

Award for Excellence by an Organisation

Arcko Symphonic Ensemble for presenting From Sorrowing Earth, a celebration of Nigel Butterley
Ensemble Offspring for 2015 activities and sustained services to Australian music for 20 years
Speak Percussion for their 2015 Program: Performance, Commissions, Collaborations and Education
The Music Show (ABC Radio National) for promotion, discussion and analysis of Australian music over 25 years

Award for Excellence by an Individual

Andrée Greenwell for her work as composer and Artistic Director of Green Room Music
Claire Edwardes for performance, advocacy and artistic leadership
Peter Knight for sustained contribution through composition, performance and leadership
Ros Dunlop for her sustained contribution to Australian music for over 30 years

Award for Excellence in Music Education

Artology for the Fanfare Competition
Australian Art Orchestra for the Creative Music Intensive residency project
Queensland Music Festival for the Cape York Instrumental Program
SCEGGS Darlinghurst for the Compose 120 Projects

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area

Moorambilla Voices for the Moorambilla Voices 2015 Tenth Anniversary Season
Queensland Music Festival for Under This Sky, a large scale production in the community of Logan
TURA New Music for the 2015 Reflection Tour to regional, remote and very remote Australia
Tyalgum Music Festival for the 2015 Tyalgum Music Festival

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

Clan Analogue for Intone: Voice Abstractions
Decibel for After Julia program
Leah Barclay for WIRA River Listening
Speak Percussion for 2015 Music Program

Award for Excellence in Jazz

Alister Spence Trio for CD recording Alister Spence Trio: Live
Australian Jazz Real Book for the Australian Jazz Real Book
Mark Isaacs for sustained contribution over four decades and 2015 Queensland Regional Tour
WA Youth Jazz Orchestra for an outstanding 2015 annual program



Related Posts