Applications for Grant McLennan Fellowship Open For 2017 -
Grant McLennan Fellowship

Applications for Grant McLennan Fellowship Open For 2017

by Announcement on July 19, 2017

in News

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The prestigious $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

These three cities were of special significance in Grant’s life, and for the last ten years have provided Queensland musicians with the same kinds of transformative experiences that made his music so special.

“I can’t wait to immerse myself in a city that is constantly whirring with activity” says 2016 recipient Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun) who has chosen to undertake her fellowship in NYC this August “…then return to my brownstone apartment in Bedford Stuyvesant, BK and bunker down for daily songwriting sessions.”

Queensland Premier and Minister for the Arts Annastacia Palaszczuk said the Queensland Government was pleased to support a Fellowship that offered exciting opportunities for the development of songwriting skills.

“The musical works Grant created remain a source of great inspiration for songwriters. Ten years on from the Fellowship’s creation, it continues to provide pathways for developing songwriters who are seeking the experiences that will help them reach their potential.”

“It’s so important to support and invest in the next generation of songwriters. Grant was one of our best! We’re really pleased to be able to recognise Grant’s songwriting and ongoing influence through this fellowship.” Dean Ormston, APRA AMCOS’ Head of Member Services.

Applications open on Wednesday 19 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

To be eligible you must:
– Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
– Be 21 years of age or older
– Be a member of APRA AMCOS
– Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
– Have an ABN
– Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).

Applications close on September 18, with the winners to be announced in December.

Head to
for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been;

2016: Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun)
2015: Timothy Steward (We All Want To, Screamfeeder)
2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles



Related Posts

Justine Clarke
Justine Clarke To Host Screen Music Awards In Melbourne

Queen of children’s entertainment Justine Clarke has been announced as the host of the Screen Music Awards when it returns to Melbourne in November.

September 26, 2019
The Necks
The Necks to Receive 2019 Art Music Award

Experimental band The Necks will be the recipients of the 2019 Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music from APRA AMCOS.

July 31, 2019
Brian Ritchie, Photo: Ros O'Gorman
2019 Art Music Awards Finalists Revealed And Brian Ritchie is one of them

Violent Femmes’ Brian Ritchie has been nominated for the Excellence by an Individual Award at the 2019 APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards.

July 16, 2019
Lorrae McKenna
Lorrae McKenna Receives The APRA AMCOS Lighthouse Award

Melbourne based band manager Lorrae McKenna has been named as the recipient of the 2019 Lighthouse Award by APRA AMCOS.

May 21, 2019
Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards winners announced

The 2018 Screen Music Awards have been announced with 12 categories for TV, online, film and advertising revealed.

November 19, 2018
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 2018 Screen Music Awards have been revealed with front-runners Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales leading the nominations in four categories.

October 18, 2018