APRA AMCOS Introduces Rockin’ The Puburbs Competition - Noise11.com
Diesel photo by Ros O'Gorman

APRA AMCOS Introduces Rockin’ The Puburbs Competition

by Noise11.com on June 13, 2017

in News

APRA AMCOS has introduced a live music initiative in New South Wales to discover new talent.

Rockin’ The Puburbs comes with a $15,000 prize including:

• Paid live gigs at NSW pubs over summer 2017-18
• A dedicated tour publicist
• A one-on-one mentoring session with Mark Lizotte (Diesel)
• A one-on-one mentoring session with the Live Music Office
• A paid performance at the AHA (NSW) Awards for Excellence

“I’ve been playing in pubs since the age of 14, and they’ve played an integral part in my development as a musician, providing an environment in which to work on my craft,” Diesel (Mark Lizotte) said. “Live music in pubs is part of the Australian landscape and in 2017, more than ever, we need to acknowledge and nurture the culture we have created for the future.”

Milly Petriella (APRA’s Director Member Relations) added, “This is the perfect leg up for emerging songwriters in NSW. You only have to look at music icons Cold Chisel and The Angels who started out in pubs across the country to see where this can lead. This is about creating live opportunities and developing the next generation of Australian songwriters, and hopefully something we can open up to other states in the future.”

The winner will first perform at the AHA NSW Awards for Excellence on Tuesday 21 November in front of more than 1,000 people.

Entries will be judged by an industry panel including reps from APRA AMCOS, LMO, AHA NSW and Mark Lizotte. The winner will be announced on 8 November 2017.

Enter at rockinthepuburbs.com




Related Posts

Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards winners announced

The 2018 Screen Music Awards have been announced with 12 categories for TV, online, film and advertising revealed.

November 19, 2018
Screen Music Awards 2018
2018 Screen Music Awards Nominees Announced

Nominees for the 2018 Screen Music Awards have been revealed with front-runners Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales leading the nominations in four categories.

October 18, 2018
Art Music Awards 2018
Art Music Awards Nominees Announced

Full list of 2018 Art Music Awards finalists follows.

July 17, 2018
Noise11 iHeartRadio
SXSW Acts, APRA Finalists and a Chat With Grouplove At Noise11 iHeartRadio

With both SXSW and the APRA AMCOS Awards less than a month away this week at iHeartRadio music news powered by Noise11.com you’ll hear a stack of new Australian music from Pretty City, Bad Pony, RVG, Gang of Youths, Alex Lahey, Paul Kelly, Jen Cloher and Dan Sultan.

February 23, 2018
Jen Cloher at the 2015 Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards held in Melbourne at the Meat Market on Thursday 22 October 2015. Photo Ros O'Gorman
APRA Delivers Its Strongest Song of the Year Shortlist In Years

With APRA AMCOS the barometer of Australian music you can rest assured that Australian music is in fine shape, even it doesn’t make the ARIA annual Top 10.

January 11, 2018
Jenny Morris and Ian James Named Chair and Deputy Chair of APRA

Jenny Morris and Ian James have been named the Chair and Deputy Chair for APRA at the annual general meeting conducted in Sydney today.

November 22, 2017