APRA Art Music Awards Winners Announced In Melbourne - Noise11.com
Helen Gifford

Helen Gifford

APRA Art Music Awards Winners Announced In Melbourne

by Paul Cashmere on August 16, 2016

in News,Noise Pro

The APRA Art Music awards were handed out in Melbourne tonight (16 Aug 17). It was the night contemporary classical, jazz, chamber and the experimental music world are acknowledged for this excellence.

All of the APRA Awards across special and unique to the music industry in Australia. APRA recognizes the total spectrum of genres produced within the country by composers and pays tribute to the talents with the ART Music Awards, the Screen Music Awards and the APRA Music Awards.

The 2016 Art Music Awards were hosted by Jonathan Biggins, with musical performances curated by Gabriella Smart. Presenters at the event were Waleed Aly, Mairi Nicolson, Merlyn Quaife AM, Katie Noonan, Rupert Myer AO and Dr Joel Crotty. The event featured performers Derik Lynch, Deborah Kayser, Derek Pascoe, Barry Campbell, Lina Andonovska, Speak Percussion, Erik Griswold with the Australian Art Orchestra, Peter Knight, Mindy Wang, Sam Pankhurst, Vanessa Tomlinson, Rebecca Lloyd-Jones, Madi Chwasta, Matthew Horsley, Hamish Upton and Timothy Walsh.

AMC CEO John Davis paid moving tribute to those members of our music community who passed away over the year. The Australian art music community mourns the passing of Helen Noonan (1948-2016), Roy David Page (1961-2016), Bryce Rohde (1923-2016), Roger Smalley (1943-2015), Catherine Sullivan (1982-2016), as well as New Zealand’s Jack Body (1944–2015).

APRA AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle shared with the Art Music Awards audience the welcome news that the recently established Art Music Fund will open for its second round of applications in November. Earlier this year, APRA AMCOS and the AMC launched the Art Music Fund to offer $100,000 in grants specifically to support art music composers create new, commissioned work that will be performed extensively. In 2016 a diverse group of 12 established and emerging composers from around the country were awarded grants, with 45% of funding going to
women composers.

Applications for the 2017 Art Music Fund will open in November and close in February 2017, with details available on the APRA AMCOS website now.


Distinguished Services to Australian Music
Helen Gifford OAM

Vocal / Choral Work of the Year
Title: Le Molière Imaginaire, for eight voices
Composer: Andrew Schultz
Text: Timothy Knapman, after the final scene of Molière’s ‘Le Malade Imaginaire’
Performed by: I Fagiolini

Jazz Work of the Year
Title: Nyilipidgi
Composers: Paul Grabowsky* and the Young Wägilak Group
Performed by: Paul Grabowsky, the Young Wägilak Group and the Monash Art Ensemble
Publisher: J Albert & Son*

Instrumental Work of the Year
Title: Semaphore
Composer: Kate Neal
Performed by: Semaphore band and dancers

Orchestral Work of the Year
Title: Earth Plays
Composer: Catherine Milliken
Performed by: Bavarian Radio Orchestra, Fiona Campbell (Soloist), Peter Rundel (Conductor)

Performance of the Year
Performer: Semaphore band and dancers
Title: Semaphore
Composer: Kate Neal

Award for Excellence by an Organisation
Ensemble Offspring for 2015 activities and sustained services to Australian music for 20 years

Award for Excellence by an Individual
Claire Edwardes for performance, advocacy and artistic leadership

Award for Excellence in Music Education
Artology for the Fanfare Competition

Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
Moorambilla Voices for the Moorambilla Voices 2015 Tenth Anniversary Season

Award for Excellence in Experimental Music
Speak Percussion for 2015 Music Program

Award for Excellence in Jazz
Australian Jazz Real Book for the Australian Jazz Real Book

State Winners

Category: Instrumental Work of the Year
Recipient: Natalie Williams for Saudade

Category: Performance of the Year
Recipient: Sydney Chamber Opera for Fly Away Peter
Composer: Elliott Gyger

Category: Orchestral Work of the Year
Recipient: Darwin Symphony Orchestra for Tracy
Composers: Ross Edwards, Iain Grandage, Kat McGuffie and Lachlan Skipworth

Category: Excellence in Jazz
Recipient: Berardi/Foran/Karlen for Hope in my Pocket

Category: Excellence by an Organisation
Recipient: Zephyr Quartet for sustained contribution for over 16 years

Category: Instrumental Work of the Year
Recipient: Michael Kieran Harvey for Patañjali

Category: Orchestral Work of the Year
Recipient: Elliott Gyger for From Joyous Leaves

Category: Performance of the Year
Recipient: Louise Devenish for Electroacoustic Music For One Percussionist
Works by: Warren Burt, James Hullick, Stuart James, Andrián Pertout and Lindsay Vickery


Follow Noise11.com on Facebook and Twitter

Never miss a story! Get your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio



Related Posts