Aztec Records Reissues Ayers Rock Classic ‘Big Red Rock’ -
Ayers Rock Big Red Rock

Ayers Rock Big Red Rock

Aztec Records Reissues Ayers Rock Classic ‘Big Red Rock’

by Paul Cashmere on April 13, 2016

in New Music,News

Gil Matthews’ Aztec Records latest reissue is the classic 1974 Ayers Rock debut album ‘Big Red Rock’.

Ayers Rock formed in Melbourne in 1973. The band was one of the first signings to Mushroom Records following Madder Lake and the first Mushroom act to sign an International contract when they were picked up for US release by Herb Albert and Jerry Moss’ A&M Records.

In September 1974 the five members, guitarists Chris Brown and Jimmy Doyle, sax player Col Loughnan and the master rhythm section of Duncan McGuire (bass) and Mark Kennedy (drums), recorded ‘Big Red Rock’ in one in-the-studio session.

‘Big Red Rock’ epitomized what at the time was known as jazz-fusion and drew comparisons to where Frank Zappa was at musically at the time, as well as jazz band Weather Report.

They even gathered commercial airplay in Australia with ‘Lady Montego’.

Gil Matthews has remastered the original ‘Big Red Rock’ album. It is presented in a Deluxe Digi-Pak, Aztec’s expanded CD edition of Big Red Rock adds the rare 1973 single ‘Rock ’n’ Roll Fight (Going On)’ – featuring the band’s original guitarist Ray Burton – plus other live material from Sunbury 1974 (‘Morning Magic’) and Reefer Cabaret (‘Gimme Shelter’). Remastered sound by Gil Matthews, colour booklet with rare photos by Philip Morris and liner notes by Ian McFarlane.

Ayers Rock – Big Red Rock is available now

Big Red Rock Track Listing

1 Lady Montego
2 Talkinʼ ’Bout You
3 Goinʼ Home
4 Crazy Boys
5 Nostalgic Blues
6 Big Red Rock
7 Boogie Woogie Waltz
8 Get Out To The Country

Extras – Singles & Live (1973-1975)
9 Rock ’n’ Roll Fight (Going On
10 Sorrowful Eyes
11 Morning Magic (Live at Sunbury, 1974)
12 Boogie Woogie Waltz (Live at the Reefer Cabaret, 1975)
13 Gimme Shelter (Live at the Reefer Cabaret, 1975)


Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter

NOISE11 UPDATES are now in Apple News



Related Posts