Gotye image photos


Gotye, Kimbra, Matt Corby, Lanie Lane and The Beards Nominated for APRA Song of the Year

by Paul Cashmere on May 2, 2012

in News,Noise Pro

Kimbra will compete against Gotye featuring Kimbra as well as Matt Corby, Lanie Lane and The Beards for the APRA Song of the Year.



Nominees were announced this morning and despite his global success with ‘Something That I Used To Know’, Gotye is honoured to be nominated for APRA’s Song Of The Year.

“The APRA Song of the Year is voted on by other songwriters, so it’s a great honour to be nominated!,” Wally De Backer aka Gotye said in a statement for

The APRA Song of the Year nominees are:

Matt Corby ‘Brother’
Kimbra ‘Cameo Lover’
Lanie Lane ‘(Oh Well) That’s What You Get (Falling In Love With A Cowboy)
Gotye (featuring Kimbra) ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’
The Beards ‘You Should Consider Having Sex With A Bearded Man’

Other nominations were:

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Drapht – Daniel Rankine/ Paul Ridge
Boy and Bear – Killian Gavin / Jonathon Hart / Timothy Hart / David Hosking / Jacob Tarasenko
Lanie Lane
Matt Corby

Most Played Australian Work
From The Music – The Potbelleez
Own This Club – Marvin Priest
She’s Like A Comet – Jebediah
Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye feat Kimbra
Wild At Heart – Birds of Tokyo

Country Work of the Year
Bad Machines – Shane Nicholson
Beautiful Mess – Kasey Chambers
Famous Last Words – Shane Nicholson
Meant To Be – O’Shea
Serves You Right – Jetty Road

Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Biding My Time – Busby Marou
Compass – Saltwater Band
Falling – The Waifs
(Oh Well) That’s What You Get (Falling In Love With A Cowboy) – Lanie Lane
What Do I Do – Lanie Lane

Dance Work of the Year
Finally See Our Way – Art Vs Science
From The Music – The Potbelleez
Sunlight – Bag Raiders
Titanium – David Guetta feat Sia
We Run The Night – Havana Brown

Rock Work of the Year
Heartbreak Made Me A Killer – Short Stack
Love Is A Drug – Eskimo Joe
She’s Like A Comet – Jebediah
Switch Me On – Shannon Noll
Wild At Heart – Birds of Tokyo

International Work of the Year
Animal – Neon Trees
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5
Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO
Price Tag – Jesse J
Rollin’ In The Deep – Adele

Urban Work of the Year
Own This Club – Marvin Priest
Reflections – Bliss N Eso
Simple Man – Diafrix feat Daniel Merriweather
Sing It (The Life Of Riley) – Drapht
Throw It Away – 360 feat Josh Pyke

Watch Lanie Lane perform her APRA nominated Song of the Year at



Related Posts

Jonathan Biggins by Tony Mott
2016 Art Music Awards Finalists Announced

The finalists for 11 categories of the Art Music Awards have been announced.

July 19, 2016
Jonathan Biggins by Tony Mott
APRA Art Music Awards To Return To Melbourne

The 2016 APRA Art Music Awards will be announced in Melbourne on August 16.

June 30, 2016
Jimmy Barnes performs at the Palais in St Kilda Melbourne on Saturday 18 July 2015 as part of the Flesh and Wood Tour 2015.
Australian Artists Speak Up For Australian Music At Australian Election

Jimmy Barnes, Katie Noonan and Josh Pyke are just a few Australian Music names who have raised their voices ahead of the Australian election for governments to support the Australian Music Industry.

June 16, 2016
Cold Chisel To Receive APRA Ted Albert Award

Cold Chisel will be honoured with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services To Australian Music at the 2016 APRA Awards on April 5.

March 29, 2016
APRA AMCOS music news
Voting Opens For APRA Song of the Year

Voting is now open for APRA members to vote for the APRA Song of the Year.

January 18, 2016
Briggs. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Briggs, Ngaire Benefit From 2015 APRA Professional Development Award

APRA has announced the recipients of its 2015 Professional Development Awards with Tim Carroll of Holy Holy, Ngaire and Briggs just some of the artists benefiting from the APRA initiative.

November 24, 2015
Jed Kurzel, music news,
Jed Kurzel Of The Mess Hall Wins Film Score Award At Screen Music Awards

The Mess Hall’s Jed Kurzel has taken home the Feature Film Score of the Year Award for ‘Slow West’ at the 2015 APRA Screen Music Awards.

November 12, 2015