Hilltop Hoods Offer $10000 Grant To Emerging Artists - Noise11.com
Hilltop Hoods - photo by Ros O'Gorman

Hilltop Hoods - photo by Ros O'Gorman

Hilltop Hoods Offer $10000 Grant To Emerging Artists

by Announcement on February 15, 2017

in News,Noise Pro

Hilltop Hoods have laid down $10,000 for emerging hip-hop and soul artists to help their careers.

The $10000 grant will include covering costs associated with manufacturing, promoting and distributing an album or EP. The grant is available for artists who have not yet released a commercial album through an industry recognised label.

“We couldn’t be more excited about this year’s Initiative,” said Hilltop Hoods’ Suffa MC.

“We were so impressed with a previous recipient, I AM D, that we distributed his EP ‘M.N.T.N.S’ through our label Golden Era Records. This year is extra exciting as we’re bringing a new judge on board, Sose Fuamoli of the The AU Review. We can’t wait to see what this year’s Initiative brings.”

The grant is not intended to cover the costs of recording or mixing an album but it can be used for costs like mastering, publicity, artwork and vinyl manufacture.

Entries will be judged by a panel comprising some of the most respected figures in Australian hip hop:
• Hau (ACT) – Artist (Koolism), presenter (triple j’s The Hip Hop Show)
• Sosefina Fuamoli (SA) – Editor of The AU Review
• Nish (SA) – Graffiti artist, Indigenous community worker, promoter
• Ran-Dee (NSW) – Manager (Def Wish Cast, NTSC), booking agent, promoter
• Raph (VIC) – Artist, clothing label owner (Blank Clothing), author (Behind The Beat)
• Tom Thum/Tommy Illfigga (QLD) – MC, beat boxer, graffiti artist, b-boy, producer
Applications are open now and close Tuesday 21 March 2017, 5pm AEDT.
The winner will be announced Thursday 11 May 2017.

For more information on eligibility and how to enter, visit apraamcos.com.au/hilltop-hoods-initiative/

The X Studio



Related Posts

Robbie Miller
APRA Invites Aboriginal Songwriters and Musicians To Starting Ground Workshop

The Starting Ground workshop is heading back to Byron Bay and APRA AMCOS is inviting Aboriginal songwriters and musicians to attend.

April 10, 2017
Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, 2013, Photo By Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
APRA Song of the Year Finalists Revealed

Amy Shark, Tim Minchin, Jackie Jacklin, D.D. Dumbo and Nick Cave are the five finalists for the APRA Song of the Year.

March 15, 2017
APRA AMCOS Partners With Origin For Asian Market

APRA AMCOS will represent OriGin for mobile, online and media services throughout Asia.

February 15, 2017
APRA AMCOS Arts Music Fund Offer $100,000 In Grants To Songwriters

Art music composers have the chance to share in A$100,000 worth of funding to create new commissioned work thanks to the APRA AMCOS Art Music Fund.

November 17, 2016
APRA AMCOS Paid 248,994 Songwriters $294,000,000 In 15-16

Australian songwriters and publishers had a 14% revenue increase during 2014-2015 with APRA/AMCOS confirming it paid out $294,600,000 in the last financial year.

October 20, 2016
Screen Music Awards Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen
The Chaser’s Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen To Host Screen Music Awards

The 2016 Screen Music Awards will be in Sydney this year and Chris Taylor and Andrew Hansen of The Chaser will host.

September 16, 2016
Supafest Promoter Order To Pay APRA AMCOS $437000 In Damages

John Denison, the promoter behind Soulfest and Supafest, has been ordered to pay APRA AMCOS $437,000 in compensation and damages by a Federal Court.

September 7, 2016