Hoodoo Gurus To Join EG Hall Of Fame - Noise11.com
Dave Faulkner of Hoodoo Gurus Performing at the EG Awards Launch - Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Dave Faulkner of Hoodoo Gurus Performing at the EG Awards Launch - Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Hoodoo Gurus To Join EG Hall Of Fame

by Paul Cashmere on October 7, 2011

in News

Hoodoo Gurus will join The EG Hall of Fame at The EG Awards in November.

Dave Faulkner of Hoodoo Gurus Performing at the EG Awards Launch - Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Dave Faulkner of Hoodoo Gurus Performing at the EG Awards Launch - Photo By Ros O'Gorman

After forming in 1981, Hoodoo Gurus drove out pop-rock gems like ‘Bittersweet’, ‘Like Wow-Wipeout’, ‘I Want You Back’ and ‘Miss Freelove ‘69’.

The previous inductees in the EG Hall of Fame were Paul Kelly, Painters and Dockers, Died Pretty, Kim Salmon and TISM.

The show this year will feature Stonefield and the EG-All Stars featuring Pete Luscombe, Dan Luscombe, Ash Naylor and Bill McDonald.

Nominations are no open for the awards.

Nominees for this year’s eight reader-voted awards are:
BEST NEW TALENT: Big Scary; Brous; Husky; Kimbra; King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard; Lanie Lane;

BEST GROUP: Architecture In Helsinki; Art vs Science; Boy & Bear; Cut Copy; Eskimo Joe; Grinderman;
Sand Pebbles; Little Red; The Drones; The Jezabels; The Living End; The Panics; Wagons

BEST FEMALE ARTIST: Abbe May; Adalita; Amaya Laucirica; Clare Bowditch; Holly Throsby; Jane Badler; Kimbra; Lanie Lane; Laura Jean; Megan Washington; Paris Wells; Sophia Brous

BEST MALE ARTIST: Ben Salter; Drapht; Gurrumul; Gotye; Jack Ladder; Jordie Lane; Mark Seymour; Mick Harvey; Mike Noga; Pete Murray; Phrase; Ron S. Peno; Tim Rogers

BEST ALBUM: Adalita Adalita; Boy & Bear; Cut Copy; Gotye; HTRK; Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders, Jordie Lane Blood Thinner; Oh Mercy; Ron S. Peno and the Superstitions; Sand Pebbles; Skipping Girl Vinegar; The Living End; The Panics; Wagons

BEST SONG: Adalita; Architecture In Helsinki; Brous; Drapht; Gotye (featuring Kimbra); Jack Ladder; Oh Mercy; Oscar & Martin , Phrase; Sand Pebbles; Teeth & Tongue; The Grates; The Panics; Washington

BEST VICTORIAN/LOCAL ACT: Black Cab; Blue King Brown; Children Collide; Dave Graney & the Lurid Yellow Mist; Eagle and the Worm; Graveyard Train; Oh Mercy; Ron S Peno & the Superstitions; Sand

BEST TOUR: Blondie/Pretenders (Palais, A Day On the Green); Faust (Forum); Gorillaz (Rod Laver); Grace Jones (Palais); Grinderman (Palace/BDO); Jim Jones Revue (Corner/BDO); Kinky Friedman and Van Dyke Parks (Prince/Toff); Kyuss Lives! (Palace); Primal Scream’s Screamadelica (Forum/BDO); Pulp (Festival Hall); Roxy Music (Rod Laver); Randy Newman (State Theatre); Sun Ra Arkestra (Forum, Kelvin Club, Fed Square); Swans (Forum/East Brunswick Club); Toots & the Maytals (Palace); The National (Palais/Falls)



Related Posts

CDB Christmas Is Here
CDB Recruits Diesel and Guy Sebastian for Christmas Album

Diesel and Guy Sebastian have both contributed to the new CDB Christmas album ‘Christmas Is Here – The CDB Mixtape’.

13 hours ago
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Midnight Oil and 18 Indigenous Collaborators Deliver The Makarrata Project

Midnight Oil’s ‘The Makarrata Project’ is the first collection of new Midnight Oil songs since 2002. It also features 18 indigenous artists collaborating with the band.

17 hours ago
The Soul Movers Lizzie Mack and Murray Cook - photo credit Kim Madgwick Photography
The Soul Movers Are Working With Former Sherbet Members

The Soul Movers’ Lizzie Mack and Murray Cook have been working on new music with Garth Porter and Tony Mitchell, formerly of Sherbet.

1 day ago
Crowded House
Crowded House Debut First New Song in a Decade ‘Whatever You Want’ VIDEO

Crowded House have a new song. ‘Whatever You Want’ is the first Crowded House song in a decade.

2 days ago
Angus Young AC/DC Etihad Stadium, Rock Or Bust World Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
AC/DC Glow About Axl Rose

Angus Young has thanked Axl Rose for his short tenure in the band.

2 days ago
Antony Partos
2020 Screen Music Awards Nominees Revealed

The 2020 Screen Music Awards will be streamed via YouTube this year on 1 December 2020.

2 days ago
Splendour In The Grass
Splendour In The Grass’ Jessica Ducrou Calls For Action From Government for Live Music

With major sporting events opening up, Splendour In The Grass co-founder Jessica Ducrou has called on the Government for equal support of the live music industry.

3 days ago