James Williamson Rounds Up Stooges Famous Fans For Rarities Release
James Williamson

James Williamson photo by Heather Harris

James Williamson Rounds Up Stooges Famous Fans For Rarities Release

by Paul Cashmere on June 19, 2014

in New Music,News

James Williamson, guitarist for The Stooges 1973 era ‘Raw Power’ album and more recently 2013’s ‘Ready To Die’ has gathered famous friends who were fans of the band to record rare songs of The Stooges for the album ‘Re-Licked’.

‘Re-Licked’ will feature collaborations with Jello Biafra, Mark Lanegan, Alison Mosshart, The Orwell’s Mario Cuomo, Ariel Pink and Carolyn Wonderland as well as an incredibly powerful second single ‘I Gotta Right’ featuring Lisa Kekaula of The Bellrays.

‘I Gotta Right’ was written by Iggy Pop around 1970 but remained unused until now. Another song ‘Heavy Liquid’ was written in 1973 by Pop and Williamson but not used on ‘Raw Power’.

The recording band features Steve Mackay, Mike Watt & drummer Toby Dammit, all from the live touring version of The Stooges.

The album will be released around October. The single ‘I Gotta Right’ will be released on July 29.

Sample James Williamson and Lisa Kekaula I Gotta Right

Never miss a story! Get your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow Noise11.com on Facebook and Twitter




Related Posts

James Williamson
James Williamson Re-Records Rare Stooges

Iggy & The Stooges guitarist James Williams has re-recorded some rare 70s Stooges song for the new album ‘Re-Licked’.

March 6, 2014
Iggy Pop, photo Ros O'Gorman
Iggy & The Stooges Release Follow-Up 40 Years Later

Better 40 years later than never: The follow-up to the first record ever to bear the Iggy and the Stooges logo - the immortal proto-punk masterpiece Raw Power - will finally be out April 30, when Fat Possum Records releases the all-new Iggy and the Stooges studio album, Ready To Die.

February 27, 2013