Kate Ceberano Debuts Lockdown Song Hold On and Reveals New Album ‘Sweet Inspiration’ - Noise11.com
Kate Ceberano Sweet Inspiration

Kate Ceberano Debuts Lockdown Song Hold On and Reveals New Album ‘Sweet Inspiration’

by Paul Cashmere on October 16, 2020

in News

The 2020 lockdown has inspired Kate Ceberano to create a new song called ‘Hold On’ about what the world is going through and it will feature on her next album ‘Sweet Inspiration’.

The album came about through Sony after Denis Handlin from Sony Music and Kate Ceberano got talking at an awards show. “I have always had tremendous respect for Kate as she is a pioneer in the Australian music industry”, said Denis Handlin AO, Chairman and CEO of Sony Music Entertainment Australia and New Zealand. “We are thrilled to welcome Kate back to the Sony Music family and we look forward to working with her for this new chapter of her career.”

Kate tells Noise11.com that while ‘Hold On’ came after the album was agreed to, Denis wasted no time in making sure the new song could be added. “You cut to making an album during Covid and it was a different type of context,” Kate says. “It has made the whole album feel totally different to me. To Denis’ credit, we did sign off on the album before Covid on the setlist and it didn’t have any originals at the time. Because Covid had kicked me in the guts I responded writing ‘Hold On’.

Kate says the song is also about uncertainty, about not knowing if you would even have a job when Covid was over. “With all the restrictions I was trying to maintain some optimism when I couldn’t work out what was happening. I didn’t know if this was my retirement, was I out of music now, was this the end of how we see ourselves within this music industry. Its been something definitely to overcome”.

‘Sweet Inspiration’ will be released in February but advance orders have already started. Fans who order early will also receive a signed art work from Kate.

Watch the Noise11.com Kate Ceberano Sweet Inspiration interview with Kate talking about every song on her new album.


  1. If It Be Your Will (Leonard Cohen)
  2. So Far Away (Carole King)
  3. Sweet Inspiration (Kate Ceberano, Rick Price)
  4. If These Walls Could Speak (Jimmy Webb)
  5. Mirror Ball (Guy Garvey, Craig Potter, Mark Potter, Peter Turner, Richard Jupp)
  6. I Honestly Love You (Peter Allen, Jeff Barry)
  7. Hold On (Kate Ceberano, Rodrigo Bustos, Jess Fairlie)
  8. When I Need You (Carole Bayer Sager, Albert Hammond)
  9. You Needed Me (Charles Randolph Goodrum)
  10. You Do Something to Me (Paul Weller)
  11. I Will Always Love You (Dolly Parton)
  12. The Long and Winding Road (Paul McCartney, John Lennon)


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

Angus Young AC/DC Etihad Stadium, Rock Or Bust World Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
AC/DC Tease ‘Demon Fire’ Off ‘PWR/UP’

AC/DC have slipped out another sample of the upcoming ‘PWR/UP’ with 54 seconds of ‘Demon Fire’.

1 day ago
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Midnight Oil and 18 Indigenous Collaborators Deliver The Makarrata Project

Midnight Oil’s ‘The Makarrata Project’ is the first collection of new Midnight Oil songs since 2002. It also features 18 indigenous artists collaborating with the band.

2 days ago
Bruce Springsteen and Max Weinberg at AAMI Park on Thursday 2 February 2017. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Bruce Springsteen Says he Set The Bar To High With Long Shows

Bruce Springsteen - who holds the record for the longest concert ever, with his 2012 Helsinki show lasting for four hours and six minutes - admitted he set the bar too high with his iconic mammoth sets as his fans expect nothing less from him.

2 days ago
Mick Jagger, photo by Ros O'Gorman, the rolling stones, melbourne 2014
Has Mick Jagger Just Teased A New Rolling Stones Song?

Mick Jagger has teased a new song called ‘Pride Before A Fall’. At this stage we don’t know if it’s a new solo song or a new Rolling Stones song.

3 days ago
Marty Stuart and Connie Smith photographed on stage at the Grand Ole Opry moments after the live broadcast was finished Saturday, September 26, 2020. This marked the final performance before the 95th Anniversary of the Opry which saw the return of a socially distanced crowd of 500 people.
Marty Stuart’s Congress of Country Music Celebrates Construction Milestone

Country legend Marty Stuart celebrated a milestone on construction today with the ‘topping off’ with the centerpiece of Marty Stuart’s Congress of Country Music. the final beam put in place to mark Phase 1 of the construction of the building.

3 days ago
Crowded House
Crowded House Debut First New Song in a Decade ‘Whatever You Want’ VIDEO

Crowded House have a new song. ‘Whatever You Want’ is the first Crowded House song in a decade.

3 days ago
Angus Young AC/DC Etihad Stadium, Rock Or Bust World Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
AC/DC Glow About Axl Rose

Angus Young has thanked Axl Rose for his short tenure in the band.

3 days ago