Cold Chisel To Receive APRA Ted Albert Award -
Cold Chisel photo by Ros O'Gorman

Cold Chisel photo by Ros O'Gorman

Cold Chisel To Receive APRA Ted Albert Award

by Paul Cashmere on March 29, 2016

in News,Noise Pro

Cold Chisel will be honoured with the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services To Australian Music at the 2016 APRA Awards on April 5.

Cold Chisel formed as Orange in Adelaide in 1973. The line-up featured Don Walker, Ian Moss, Steve Prestwich and bass player Les Kaczmarek with 17-year old Jim Barnes joining in December that year. Kaczmarek left in 1975 and was replaced by Phil Small. Jimmy’s brother John Swan was also part of the early line-up but left before the first album was recorded.

Cold Chisel’s debut album came in 1978 after the band signed with Warner Music in Sydney. The album features one of Chisel’s greatest songs ‘Khe Sanh’ but the song was banned by commercial radio for the line “Their legs were often open/But their minds were always closed” so never became a hit.

Cold Chisel recorded five albums between 1978 and 1984, breaking up at the peak of their career. Chisel would reform in the late 90s to record a sixth album ‘The Last Wave of Summer’.

The seventh album ‘No Plans’ followed in 2012 and then the most recent album ‘The Perfect Crime’ in 2015.

Previous recipients of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music include Paul Kelly, Jimmy Little, Slim Dusty, The Seekers and last year’s recipient, Fifa Riccobono.

The 2016 APRA Awards will be held at Carriageworks in Sydney on April 5.


Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter

NOISE11 UPDATES are now in Apple News



Related Posts

Briggs. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Briggs To Host Virtual APRA Awards

Australian rapper, writer, hip hop artist and actor Briggs has been revealed as the host of the 2020 virtual APRA Awards.

April 30, 2020
APRA Music Awards To Be Virtual In 2020

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic and ongoing safety concerns, we’re saddened to announce that the 2020 APRA Music Awards will not be held in the usual live format for this year. The event was due to take place on Tuesday 28 April at the International Convention Centre in Sydney.

March 27, 2020
Entertainment Industry Concerns For Workers As COVID-19 Threatens Incomes

The following statement has been released by APRA AMCOS following concerns for the impact of working in the entertainment industry.

March 13, 2020
Tones and I
APRA Reveals 25 Song Shortlist For Song of the Year

APRA has revealed the 25 songs up for consideration for APRA Song of the Year.

February 6, 2020
Paul Kelly AWITG on Friday 17 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Paul Kelly, David Bridie, Dan Luscombe Win APRA Screen Music Awards

Paul Kelly, Dan Luscombe and David Bridie are just some of the winners at the 2019 APRA Screen Music Awards.

November 20, 2019
Justine Clarke
Justine Clarke To Host Screen Music Awards In Melbourne

Queen of children’s entertainment Justine Clarke has been announced as the host of the Screen Music Awards when it returns to Melbourne in November.

September 26, 2019
The Necks
The Necks to Receive 2019 Art Music Award

Experimental band The Necks will be the recipients of the 2019 Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music from APRA AMCOS.

July 31, 2019