Iggy Pop Plays Massive 22 Song Set At SXSW - Noise11.com
Iggy Pop, Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Iggy Pop, Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Iggy Pop Plays Massive 22 Song Set At SXSW

by Paul Cashmere on March 18, 2016

in Live,News,Noise Pro

Iggy Pop served up a 22 song setlist at SXSW this week and while launching his new album ‘Post Pop Depression’ the audience was treated to song mainly his two classics ‘The Idiot’ and ‘Lust For Life’, both from 1977.

13 songs of Pop’s SXSW came from the 1977 pair of albums, created with David Bowie.

Bowie was the producer and key songwriter on both ‘The Idiot’ and ‘Lust For Life’. Pop and Bowie recorded the albums at Hansa Studios in West Berlin between June 1976 and June 1977. ‘The Idiot’ was released in March 1977, ‘’Lust For Life’ in August that same year. At the same time Bowie was working on his own albums ‘Low’ and ‘Heroes’, also both released in 1977. It was a massive creative period for Bowie.

The Pop albums would create a catalogue of songs that Bowie will later remake as his own including ‘Tonight’, ‘Neighbourhood Threat’ and ‘China Girl’ for his 1983/1984 albums ‘Let’s Dance’ and ‘Tonight’.

Pop performed at SXSW with Josh Homme of Queens of the Stone Age showcasing their new album ‘Post Pop Depression’.

Iggy Pop setlist, SXSW, 17 March 2016

Lust For Life (from Lust For Life, 1977)
Sister Midnight (from The Idiot, 1977)
American Valhalla (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Sixteen (from Lust For Life, 1977)
In The Lobby (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Some Weird Sin (from Lust For Life, 1977)
Funtime (from The Idiot, 1977)
Tonight (from Lust For Life, 1977)
Sunday (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
German Days (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Mass Production (from The Idiot, 1977)
Nightclubbing (from The Idiot, 1977)
The Passenger (from Lust For Life, 1977)
China Girl (from The Idiot, 1977)

Break Into Your Heart (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Fall In Love With Me (from Lust For Life, 1977)
Repo Man (from Repo Man soundtrack, 1984)
Gardenia (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Baby (from The Idiot, 1977)
Chocolate Drops (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Paraguay (from Post Pop Depression, 2016)
Success (from Lust For Life, 1977)



Never miss a story! Get your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow Noise11.com on Facebook and Twitter

NOISE11 UPDATES are now in Apple News



Related Posts

Bowie Golden Years
‘Bowie: Golden Years’ Encore Performance Heads to Memo Music Hall Friday

The David Bowie tribute show ‘Bowie: Golden Years’ will have its encore performance this Friday at Memo Music Hall in St Kilda.

6 days ago
Jeanne Pratt AC, Chairman of The Production Company
The Production Company Launches 2019 Season with a Bowie exclusive

Melbourne’s revered theatre company The Production Company has launched its 2019 season with two Australian premieres (including David Bowie’s last work) and an all time classic.

February 19, 2019
Bowie Golden Years
Bowie: Golden Years is heading to Memo Music Hall

After a sell-out show at the Corner Hotel, Bowie: Golden Years will have a second run at St Kilda’s Memo Music Hall.

January 18, 2019
Bowie Golden Years
Jason Singh and Dale Ryder assemble incredible band to honour David Bowie

Dale Ryder had wanted to perform a tribute to David Bowie five years ago, two years before Bowie had died, and last April he was finally motivated to go through with it.

January 11, 2019
David Bowie Spying Through The Keyhole
Rare David Bowie ‘Spying Through A Keyhole’ set for release

‘Spying Through A Keyhole’ is a brand new David Bowie release featuring nine previous unreleased demos including one never-before released song.

January 9, 2019
David Bowie 2004 Rod Laver Arena. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
The Production Company to produce David Bowie ‘Lazarus The Musical’ for Melbourne

Melbourne’s The Production Company will stage the first Australian production of David Bowie’s musical ‘Lazarus’ in 2019.

December 14, 2018
Noise11 iHeartRadio
Noise11 iHeartRadio Expanded Interviews with Bryan Ferry, Disturbed, Mario McNulty, Wreckless Eric, PP Arnold and Nickelback

This week at iHeartRadio Music News powered by it is our biggest week every with extended interviews from Bryan Ferry, David Draiman of Disturbed, Mario McNulty, the producer of the new edition of David Bowie ‘Never Let Me Down’, Wreckless Eric, PP Arnold and Mike Kroeger of Nickelback.

October 21, 2018