Paul McCartney and Wings ‘Wild Life’ Album Turns 50 -
Paul McCartney and Wings Wings Wild Life

Wings Wild Life

Paul McCartney and Wings ‘Wild Life’ Album Turns 50

by Paul Cashmere on December 8, 2021

in News

‘Wild Life’, the third post-Beatles album for Paul McCartney, was released 50 years ago this week.

‘Wild Life’ was the first Wings album, McCartney’s new group after The Beatles. Wings was Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney, Denny Laine and Denny Seiwell. It was released on 7 December, 1971.

Like The Beatles ‘Let It Be’ and ‘Abbey Road’, both recorded in 1969, ‘Wild Life’ came just six months after the previous McCartney album ‘RAM’ and that was released 13 months after the first McCartney solo album ‘McCartney’.

Between ‘Abbey Road’ and ‘Wild Life’ there were two Beatles albums, three McCartney albums, two John Lennon albums, two Ringo’s and George’s epic ‘All Things Must Pass’.

McCartney recorded ‘Wild Life’ in just over one week from 25 July to 2 August 1971 at Abbey Road Studios. Five of the eight songs were captured in a single take.

Wings played their first show on 9 February 1972 in Nottingham, England.

The setlist was:

Blue Moon of Kentucky
Give Ireland Back To The Irish
Help Me Darling
Thank You Darling
Wild Life
Bip Bop
Shuffle Blues
The Mess
My Love

Long Tall Sally

‘Wild Life’ reached no 3 in Australia, number 10 in the USA and number 11 in the UK.

An extended box set of the album was released in 2018.

CD1: Remastered album
1. “Mumbo” – 3:58
2. “Bip Bop” – 4:10
3. “Love Is Strange” (Baker, Vanderpool, Smith) – 4:52
4. “Wild Life” – 6:41
5. “Some People Never Know” – 6:37
6. “I Am Your Singer” – 2:19
7. “Bip Bop Link” – 0:52
8. “Tomorrow” – 3:28
9. “Dear Friend” – 6:00
10. “Mumbo Link” – 0:46

CD2: Rough mixes
1. “Mumbo (Rough Mix)” – 3:58
2. “Bip Bop (Rough Mix)” – 4:22
3. “Love Is Strange (Rough Mix)” (Baker, Vanderpool, Smith) – 4:27
4. “Wild Life (Rough Mix)” – 6:41
5. “Some People Never Know (Rough Mix)” – 6:44
6. “I Am Your Singer (Rough Mix)” – 2:18
7. “Tomorrow (Rough Mix)” – 3:36
8. “Dear Friend (Rough Mix)” – 5:53

CD3: Bonus tracks
1. “Good Rockin’ Tonight (Home Recording)” (Roy Brown) – 0:58
2. “Bip Bop (Home Recording)” – 3:17
3. “Hey Diddle (Home Recording)” – 2:33
4. “She Got It Good (Home Recording)” – 0:44
5. “I Am Your Singer (Home Recording)” – 2:53
6. “Outtake I” – 0:29
7. “Dear Friend (Home Recording I)” – 4:49
8. “Dear Friend (Home Recording II)” – 2:02
9. “Outtake II” – 0:13
10. “Indeed I Do” – 1:14
11. “When the Wind Is Blowing” – 3:51
12. “The Great Cock and Seagull Race (Rough Mix)” – 4:02
13. “Outtake III” – 0:10
14. “Give Ireland Back to the Irish” – 3:44
15. “Give Ireland Back to the Irish (Alternate Version)” – 3:46
16. “Love Is Strange (Single Edit)” (Baker, Vanderpool, Smith) – 4:14
17. “African Yeah Yeah” – 2:44

DVD: Bonus video
1. “Scotland, 1971”
2. “The Ball”
3. “ICA Rehearsals”
4. “Give Ireland Back to the Irish (Rehearsal)” free download
1. “Dear Friend (Orchestra Up)” – 5:59

The ‘Wild Life’ album set Wings up as the Paul McCartney vehicle right through the 1970s.

The Wings albums to follow were:

Red Rose Speedway (1973)
Band On The Run (1973)
Venus and Mars (1975)
Wings At The Speed of Sound (1976)
London Town (1978)
Back to the Egg (1979)

In 1980 McCartney released another solo album ‘McCartney II’ and to this day has recorded as a solo artist.

Be the first to see’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Prince at Rod Laver Arena in Melbourne on 21 October 2003. Photo by Ros O'Gorman http:://
Prince Estate Valued At $156 million

The estate of late music icon Prince has been valued at $US156.4 million ($AUD217 million) following a lengthy legal battle.

1 hour ago
Dolly Parton in concert photo by Ros O'Gorman
Dolly Parton Has An Ice Cream Flavour and Its Called Strawberry Pretzel Pie

Dolly Parton has a new ice cream and a new song. The ice cream flavour is Strawberry Pretzel Pie. And like the ice cream, the song ‘Rose Of My Heart’ is only available from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams.

1 day ago
Jon Lind in Howdy Moon
Madonna and Earth Wind & Fire Songwriter Jon Lind Dies At 73

Jon Lind, who wrote hits for Earth, Wind & Fire and Madonna, has died from cancer at the age of 73.

1 day ago
Ronnie Spector
Ronnie Spector Dies At Age 78

Ronnie Spector, the singer for The Ronettes and one time wife of notorious producer Phil Spector, has died at the age of 78.

5 days ago
Rod Stewart photo by Ros O'Gorman
Rod Stewart Australian Tour Cancelled

Rod Stewart's upcoming Australian tour including A Day On The Green dates has been cancelled.

5 days ago
Elvis Costello, ADOTG, Photo By Ros OGorman, Noise11, Photo
Elvis Costello Made ‘A Boy Named If’ Like His Life Depended On It

Elvis Costello says his new album ‘A Boy Named If’ was made “like my life depended on it”.

6 days ago
Marty Stuart
Marty Stuart To Play UK Music Festival In 2022

American country legend Marty Stuart will head to the UK in 2022 for a headline performance at The Long Road Festival is Leicestershire in August.

6 days ago