The White Stripes To Reissue ‘White Blood Cells’ for 20th Anniversary -
White Stripes White Blood Cells XX

White Stripes White Blood Cells XX

The White Stripes To Reissue ‘White Blood Cells’ for 20th Anniversary

by Paul Cashmere @paulcashmere on April 7, 2021

in News

The White Stripes ‘White Blood Cells’ will mark its 20th anniversary with an expanded edition.

‘White Blood Cells XX’ will be available from Third Man Records website but you can only order it up until April 30.

According to Third Man Records:

Disc one contains 13 tracks, all of which are previously unreleased. Building from the ground up, we hear embryonic demos of “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground” and “Offend In Every Way” coupled with songs never previously released in any form, from the full-band studio take on “That’s Where It’s At” (a tune that would later evolve into “I Think I Smell A Rat”) through skeletal sketches of “Oooh-Ahh” and “Feel Like I’m Three Feet Tall” songs both of which would be abandoned entirely. Early Easley mixes of “The Union Forever” and “I Can’t Wait” sit alongside alternate takes of tasty gems like “Fell In Love With a Girl” and “This Protector.” The end result is an LP that provides the unheard work-in-progress nuggets that fans have come to cherish from Vault deep dives. Pressed on red vinyl because the kids love it.

Disc two is a previously unreleased live recording from Headliner’s in Louisville, Kentucky. Recorded on September 6th, 2001 the band is captured mid-stride, having already played approximately 75 shows that year. Killer romps on “Truth Doesn’t Make a Noise” and “Expecting” pair beautifully with refreshing takes on “Boll Weevil” and “The Same Boy You’ve Always Known.” Utilizing audio straight from the soundboard and pressed on pristine white vinyl at Third Man Pressing in Detroit, this disc is yet another shining example as to how spectacular the Stripes were on stage.

Side A:
1. ‘Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground’ (previously unreleased boombox demo take 1)
2. ‘Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground’ (previously unreleased boombox demo take 2)
3. ‘Hotel Yorba’ (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
4. ‘Fell In Love With a Girl’ (previously unreleased alternate take)
5. ‘The Union Forever’ (previously unreleased working mix without interlude)
6. ‘Offend In Every Way’ (previously unreleased acoustic boombox demo)
7. ‘That’s Where It’s At’ (previously unreleased outtake)

Side B:
8. ‘Ooh-Aah’ (previously unreleased demo)
9. ‘I Can’t Wait’ (previously unreleased alternate mix)
10. ‘Hey Mary’ (previously unreleased demo)
11. ‘Feel Like I’m Three Feet Tall’ (previously unreleased boombox demo)
12. ‘Rated X’ (previously unreleased alternate take live at the Hotel Yorba)
13. ‘This Protector’ (previously unreleased alternate take)

Side C:
1. ‘When I Hear My Name’
2. ‘Death Letter / Grinnin’ In Your Face’
3. ‘Lord, Send Me An Angel’
4. ‘You’re Pretty Good Looking (For A Girl)’
5. ‘Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground’
6. ‘Hotel Yorba’
7. ‘Truth Doesn’t Make A Noise’
8. ‘I Think I Smell A Rat’

Side D:
1. ‘Jolene’
2. ‘We’re Going To Be Friends’
3. ‘Expecting’
4. ‘The Union Forever’
5. ‘The Same Boy You’ve Always Known’
6. ‘Apple Blossom’
7. ‘Cannon / John The Revelator’
8. ‘Astro’
9. ‘Boll Weevil’

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

The Black Keys
The Black Keys Honor The Blues with ‘Delta Kream’

The Black Keys pay homage to the Delta Blues with their new album ‘Delta Kream’.

1 hour ago
Bob Evans photo by Tajette OHalloran
Bob Evans Releases ‘Tomorrowland’, His First Album In Five Years

Bob Evans has released a new album ‘Tomorrowland’, landing five years after his fifth album ‘Car Boot Sale’.

1 hour ago
Mick Thomas Roving Commisson
Mick Thomas’ Roving Commission Debuts New Video ‘Keeping All The Cannons Clean’

Mick Thomas has taken to the streets of the Melbourne suburbs of Northcote and Thornbury for his new Mick Thomas’ Roving Commission’s video ‘Keeping All The Cannons Clean’.

1 day ago
Lady Gaga, Photo Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, photo
Lady Gaga Thanks Fans For Artpop Act II Campaign

Lady Gaga has recalled being in "desperate pain" making 2013's ‘Artpop’, and thanked fans for "celebrating" the record by campaigning for Volume II.

3 days ago
george To Reform For ‘Polyserena’ Album 20th Anniversary

george will reform for shows in Brisbane to mark the 20th anniversary of their ‘Polyserena’ album.

3 days ago
The Libertines, music news,
The Libertines Announce Their Reformation

The Libertines have announced the 'Giddy Up A Ding-Dong Tour’.

3 days ago
Luke Bryan
Luke Bryan Withdraws From American Idol After Testing Positive To Coronavirus

Paula Abdul is returning to American Idol to sub for sick judge Luke Bryan. The country singer will miss the talent contest's first live show of the season after contracting Covid-19.

4 days ago