Vance Joy Birds Of Tokyo Lead APRA Music Awards Nominations
Vance Joy, Photo By Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo

Vance Joy, Photo By Ros O'Gorman

Vance Joy and Birds Of Tokyo Lead APRA Music Awards 2014 Nominations

by Paul Cashmere on May 29, 2014

in News,Noise Pro

Vance Joy and Birds of Tokyo lead the APRA Music Awards 2014 announcement with four nominations each including the centrepiece award for ‘Song of the Year’.

Matt Corby, The Drones and The Preatures have also been nominated for Song of the Year.

The APRA Song of the Year features awards across 10 categories. Multiple nominees this year include Sheppard, Bernard Fanning, O’Shea, Busby Marou, Bliss N Eso, Illy, M-Phazes, David Musumeci and Anthony Egizil (DNA Songs) and Matt Corby with Dominic Salole.

As well as the 10 Awards, Lindy Morrison will receive the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

Song of the Year

The Drones – A Moat You Can Stand In

The Preatures – Is This How I Feel

Birds of Tokyo – Lanterns

Matt Corby – Resolution

Vance Joy – Riptide

Breakthrough Songwriter Of The Year

James Keogh (Vance Joy)
Jona Ma and Gabriel Winterfield (Jagwar Ma)
Kylie Sackley
Louis Schoorl
Hiatus Kaiyote

Most Played Australian Work

Birds Of Tokyo – Lanterns
Sheppard – Let Me Down Easy
Matt Corby – Resolution
Vance Joy – Riptide
Nathaniel – You

Country Work of the Year

Be With You Tonight – O’Shea
Flying With The King – Lee Kernaghan
Thank You Angels – O’Shea
The Girl, The Bottle, The Memory – The Wolfe Brothers
I Learned The hard One – Chelsea Basham

Blues and Roots Work of the Year

Avenger – The Bamboos
Get You Out Of Here – Busby Marou
Luck – Busby Marou
Lydon Street Meltdown – Melbourne Ska Orchestra
Only One – John Butler Trio

Dance Work of the Year

Alive – Empire of the Sun
Bring It Back – Will Sparks and Joel Fletcher
Holdin On – Flume
Promises – The Presets
Saved In A Bottle – The Potbelleez

Rock Work of the Year

Battleships – Bernard Fanning
Lanterns – Birds of Tokyo
Southern Son – Boy & Bear
Tell Me How It Ends – Bernard Fanning
When The Night Falls Quietly – Birds of Tokyo

Pop Work of the Year

Let Me Down Easy – Sheppard
Resolution – Matt Corby
Riptide – Vance Joy
What You’ve Done To Me – Samantha Jade
Nathaniel – You

Urban Work of the Year

Act Your Age – Bliss N Eso feat. Bluejuice
House of Dreams – Bliss N Eso
On and On – Illy
Run Alone – 360
Youngbloods – Illy

International Work of the Year

Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke
Can’t Hold Us – Macklemore and Ryan Lewis
Don’t You Worry Child – Swedish House Mafia
Let Her Go – Passenger
Pompeii – Bastille

The 2014 APRA Music Awards will be held at the Brisbane City Hall on Monday June 23.



Related Posts

Jimmy Barnes at Red Hot Summer Mornington 2019 photo
Tones and I, Hilltop Hoods, Jimmy Barnes Win APRA Music Awards

The APRA Music Awards were announced tonight with a virtual event during COVID-19 lockdown.

May 25, 2020
Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019
Flume by Cybele Malinowski
Flume Wins Big At 2017 APRA Music Awards

Flume won three APRA Music Awards this week after a run in the past year that netted the electronica producer eight ARIAs and one Grammy.

April 3, 2017
Courtney Barnett performs in the ABC Melbourne Studio Foyer celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Archie Roach album Charcoal Road. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Courtney Barnett Wins APRA Songwriter of the Year

Melbourne’s Courtney Barnett has been honoured with the coveted Songwriter of the Year award at the 2016 APRA Music Awards.

April 6, 2016
Vance Joy, Photo By Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
Vance Joy Riptide Named APRA Song of the Year WINNERS LIST

Vance Joy has taken away the prestigious 2014 APRA Song of the Year for his song 'Riptide'.

June 24, 2014
Nick Cave, Photo: Ros O'Gorman
APRA Shortlist 20 Song of the Year Contenders

With the APRA Music Awards heading to Brisbane in June, APRA have revealed 20 songs up for the major award Song of the Year.

April 15, 2014
Russell Morris, Long Way To The Top, Ros O'Gorman Photo
2013 APRA Music Awards Complete Nominees List

The 2013 APRA Awards will be handed out in Melbourne on Monday June 17.

May 23, 2013