The Pixies Debut New Song Um Chagga Lagga #LISTEN -
Frank Black, Black Francis, Pixies, V Festival, Ros O'Gorman, Photo

Black Francis, Pixies, Photo By Ros O'Gorman

The Pixies Debut New Song Um Chagga Lagga #LISTEN

by Paul Cashmere on July 7, 2016

in New Music,News

The Pixies have previewed their upcoming album “Head Carrier’ with the new song ‘Um Chagga Lagga’.

‘Head Carrier’ was produced by Tom Dalgety (Royal Blood) and recorded at London’s Rak Studios in February and March 2016. The band then spent six week in pre-production for the songs, something they had not done since the 80s.

“This was a wonderful luxury, for us to have the time to be able to really work these new songs out,” said Pixies drummer David Lovering. “By the time we started recording, we all knew the songs backwards and forwards, so it took half as long for us to make this album as it did to make Indie Cindy. And it was great working with Tom… he started with us in pre-production and played a big part in keeping us focused on making the best music we could.”

‘Head Carrier’ is the first album with new bass player Paz Lecnhantin now a permanent member of the band.

“I was very nervous in the beginning when I went to that first rehearsal,” said Lenchantin. “There were these shoes I felt I had to fill and I tried to do the best I could for the fans, to make the live performances sound true to the originals. I spent three years learning to understand what being a Pixie meant, and now, my heart, spirit and love for their music is embedded in me and I feel like I have become a Pixie. We had been more about the history of the Pixies, but now, we are about going forward.”

“Paz is a joy to be around,” added Lovering. “She’s very funny, and we’re having more fun than we’ve ever had as a band, we all have a blast together, on and off stage.”

All songs were written by the Pixies apart from ‘All I Think About Now’, which was written by Francis and Lenchantin.

Head Carrier tracklist

Pixies Head Carrier1 Head Carrier
2 Classic Masher
3 Baal’s Back
4 Might As Well Be Gone
5 Oona
6 Talent
7 Tenement Song
8 Bel Esprit
9 All I Think About Now
10 Um Chagga Lagga
11 Plaster of Paris
12 All The Saints

Head Carrier – Pixies Out September 30 through Pixiesmusic/Play It Again Sam



Related Posts

The Pixies From left: Paz Lenchantin, David Lovering, Black Francis, Joey Santiago
The Pixies ‘Head Carrier’ Reviewed

In a recent interview, Pixies guitarist Joey Santiago made it clear he did not want the band’s latest album, Head Carrier, to be bogged down by demands for nostalgic revelry. The 12 tracks may not wallow in the joys of yesteryear but, the past serves as a platform for some of the LPs most interesting offerings.

September 27, 2016