12 Years A Slave Soundtrack To Feature Gary Clark Jr - Noise11.com
Gary Clarke Jnr: Photo Ros O'Gorman

Gary Clarke Jnr: Photo Ros O'Gorman

12 Years A Slave Soundtrack To Feature Gary Clark Jr

by Anthony Barton on November 18, 2013

in New Music,News

The John Legend curated, ‘12 Years A Slave’, soundtrack will feature two tracks by Gary Clark Jr.

Each track was specifically recorded for the soundtrack, with Clark Jr performing covers of ‘When The Sun Goes Down’ and ‘Freight Train’, both of which have been covered by a multitude of people since the 1930s.

Other artists to appear on the soundtrack include Alicia Keys, Laura Mvula, Chris Cornell, and Alabama Shakes.

Directed by Steve McQueen (Hunger), the film is based on the true story of Solomon Northup, who fought for survival and freedom, after he was abducted and sold into slavery in pre-Civil War United States.

The ’12 Years A Slave’ Soundtrack will be released physically on November 19th, with the digital version available now. The film was released on October 18th.

1 Tim Fain – Devil’s Dream
2 John Legend – Roll Jordan Roll
3 Gary Clark Jr. – Freight Train
4 Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan – Yarney’s Waltz
5 Alabama Shakes – Driva Man
6 David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit – My Lord Sunshine (Sunrise)
7 John Legend feat. Fink – Move
8 Hans Zimmer – Washington
9 Gary Clark Jr. – (In The Evening) When The Sun Goes Down
10 Alicia Keys – Queen Of The Field (Patsey’s Song)
11 Hans Zimmer – Solomon
12 Laura Mvula – Little Girl Blue
13 Chris Cornell feat. Joy Williams – Misery Chain
14 Topsy Chapman feat. Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast – Roll Jordan Roll
15 Tim Fain – Money Musk
16 Cody Chesnutt – What Does Freedom Mean (To A Free Man)

Stay updated with your free Noise11 daily music newsletter. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Related Posts