ARIA Singles: Katy Perry Stays At No 1 -
Katy Perry Prism cover, Noise11, Photo

Katy Perry Prism cover

ARIA Singles: Katy Perry Stays At No 1

by Gavin Ryan on October 19, 2013

in News,Noise Pro

Katy Perry holds for an eighth week at No.1 on the ARIA Singles Chart with “Roar” (now 5x Platinum).

In turn Perry gains the longest run at the top of the ARIA Chart for a female artist this decade, beating Adele’s seven week running “Someone Like You” (from 27-June-2011), with the last female artist to hold this long at No.1 being the final No.1 of the previous decade, “Tik Tok” by Ke$ha (8 weeks from 9-Nov-09).

“Roar” also ties in third place for the longest running No.1 of this decade with “Blurred Lines” by Robin Thicke, “Somebody That I Used to Know” for Gotye & Kimbra and “Whistle” by Flo Rida. In the top two positions still are “Sexy & I Know it” (9 weeks) and “Party Rock Anthem” (10 weeks) both by LMFAO.

Avicii leapt almost eighty places last week with “Hey Brother”, which this week jumps again, up twelve places to land at No.2, plus it also helps his “True” album to rebound into the Top 10. Up a couple of places to a new peak of No.3 is “Bonfire Heart” for James Blunt, helped by his Graham Norton appearance last Sunday after his promo visit here, plus it becomes his third Top 3 single after “You’re Beautiful” (HP-2) and “Goodbye My Lover” (HP-3). After claiming a Top 10 debut last week, Nathaniel Willemse jumps up five places to No.4 with his debut single “You”, whilst all of the upward movement pushes Miley Cyrus’ “Wrecking Ball” down to No.5, but the song is now 2x▲ Platinum.

Scoring the highest new entry of the week (even though they just cancelled their tour here) are Pitbull and Ke$ha with “Timber”, new at No.6. This becomes Ke$ha’s ninth Top 10 appearance and Pitbull’s twelfth. Redfoo drops back four spots to No.7 with “Let’s Get Ridiculous” (now 2x▲ Platinum) and also down four is Jessica Mauboy with “Pop a Bottle (Fill Me Up)”, with Jason DeRulo replacing himself within the Top 10 as “Marry Me” is up six places to a new peak of No.9, becoming his tenth (of 14 charting) Top 10 single, and lastly Drake holds at No.10 with “Hold on, We’re Going Home”, which picks up a ▲ Platinum certification this week.

NEW PEAKS & MOVERS: Zedd and Hayley Williams jump up five places to a new peak of No.11 with “Stay the Night”, becoming Zedd’s highest charting single to date (as “Clarity” hit #13), with Ylvis and “The Fox” moving up three places to No.16. Eminem and “Survival” have now had a full week of sales, and the track leaps forty-three places to No.18, with another of last weeks new entries, “Warrior” for Havana Brown jumping up eight places to a new peak of No.24 (helped by an X-Factor appearance). “Bring it Back” for Will Sparks and Joel Fletcher holds at it’s peak of No.33, whilst Lana Del Rey is back up thirteen places to No.35 with “Young & Beautiful” helped by the recent ‘Great Gatsby’ DVD & Blu-Ray release.

DOWN DOWN: After an XF push last week for both Lorde’s EP “The Love Club” (feat. Royals) and Avicii’s “Wake Me Up”, this week sees them both leave the Top 10 again, to No.12 and No.14 respectively, whilst Jason DeRulo is down twelve places to No.20 with his former No.1 “Talk Dirty” after nine straight weeks inside the Top 10. “Summertime Sadness” for Lana Del Rey is down seven places to No.19, whilst HAIM drop ten places to No.23 with “The Wire”. Capital Cities fall five to No.26 with “Safe & Sound” which is now certified Gold (●) in sales this week, with Ellie Goulding falling ten places to No.30 with “Burn” and John Newman’s “Love Me Again” down fourteen spots to No.32 now that his “Tribute” album has debuted within the Top 10. “Acapella” for Karmin is down eleven places to No.34 and “Clarity” for Zedd and Foxes falls fifteen places to No.39 (now 2x▲ Platinum). “White Walls” for Macklemore & Ryan Lewis are down ten places to No.44, “We Can’t Stop” for Miley Cyrus is down six to No.46 (now 3x▲ Platinum) and Flo Rida and Pitbull’s “Can’t Believe it” falls thirteen places to No.48. Last weeks Justin Bieber debut at No.30 for “Heartbreaker” is down forty-six places to No.76 this week too.

X-FACTOR: Taylor Henderson lands the highest new entry from the XF performances this week, debuting at No.38 with his rendition of the Augie March song “One Crowded Hour”, whilst Taylor is the only XF act with multiple songs within the Top 100 this week, as his versions of “Wake Me Up” (49 to 80) and “The Horses” (64 to 83) are on the charts with one other contestants song, “Royals” for Jiordan Tolli (81 to 100). James Arthur and Havana Brown were the two guest acts this week, and both benefit from their performances, with Havana jumping up with her new song, whilst returning at No.92 with “We Run the Night”. Songs also returning due to them being performed on the Australian singers edition are Gotye and Kimbra with “Somebody That I Used to Know” back in at No.67, “Battle Scars” for Guy Sebastian at No.87 and “Plans” by Birds of Tokyo returning at No.89.

Justice Crew debut at No.15 with their first new material for 2013, “Everybody”, which becomes their sixth chart entry and instantly also becomes the fourth Top 20 hit and their highest entry position, beating the No.18 entry that their last single “Best Night” (HP-7) achieved in mid December 2012.

Calvin Harris featuring Alesso and Hurts debut at No.17 with a new track “Under Control”, which doesn’t come from Calvin’s recent album “18 Months”, but is from a forthcoming new album (no info known as yet). And a few places lower at No.22 is the second chart entry for James Arthur, “You’re Nobody Till Somebody Loves You”, which he performed on X-Factor this past week, which also helps his former No.2 single “Impossible” back into the Top 100 at No.59 this week.

Another week and another new track from forthcoming albums, with Eminem new at No.40 with “Rap God”, his third track lifted from the November 1st due ‘Marshall Mathers 2 LP”, and new at No.41 is Justin Bieber’s weekly release (until early December) entitled “All That Matters”.

Lower 50: Matt Corby is back up seventeen places to No.58 with “Resolution” whilst his “Into the Flame” EP returns at No.97 this week. Pink is up twenty-five places to a new peak of No.60 with “Walk of Shame” and now that the new movie ‘About Time’ is open in cinemas, the song from the movie by Ellie Goulding entitled “How Long Will I Love You” jumps fifteen places to a new peak of No.63. John Newman’s new single “Cheating” is up thirteen places to No.75 and London Grammar land a new chart height with “Strong” as it rebound’s five places to No.78. A further two (not already mentioned) returning tracks are “Thrift Shop” by Macklemore & Ryan Lewis at No.95 and “Firework” for Katy Perry at No.96.

YG (short for Young Gangster) makes his first ARIA Singles chart entry at No.69 with “My N***a” featuring guest rappers Jeezy and Rich Homie Quan. And British rapper Classified also makes his first chart appearance with guest vocalist Olly Murs on the No.82 entry “Inner Ninja”. The deluxe edition of the new Cher album “Closer to the Truth” (TW-24) features the track and a remixed version of the song she performed in the movie ‘Burlesque’ entitled “You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me”, which this week debuts at No.91. And a few places lower at No.93 is the first singles chart entry for The Band Perry entitled “If I Die Young”.

Gavin Ryan reports with thanks to



Related Posts