Australia Salutes The Beatles With 50 Anniversary CD of Visit
Then and Now Australia Salutes The Beatles

Then and Now Australia Salutes The Beatles

Australia Salutes The Beatles With 50 Anniversary CD of Visit

by Paul Cashmere on May 23, 2014

in New Music,News

The Beatles one and only Australian tour was in June 1964. The band touched down in Sydney on June 11, 1964 and played 20 shows on the tour.

EMI Records has compiled ‘Then & Now – Australia Salutes The Beatles’ with covers of Beatles songs from The Bee Gees, The Seekers, Master’ Apprentices, Doug Parkinson, The Zoot, Glenn Shorrock, John Farnham, The Hoodoo Gurus, You Am I, The Vines, Josh Pyke, Bob Evans, Katie Noonan, John Waters, and many more.

The album was compiled by Glenn A. Baker who said, “it is as close to being a collection of the very best treatments of Australia Saluting The Beatles. It’s taken us fifty years to get to it but the wait has been so very, very worthwhile.”

Then & Now – Australia Salutes The Beatles

Disc One
  1. FROM ME TO YOU – The Bee Gees
  2. YESTERDAY – The Seekers
  3. FOR NO ONE – Little Pattie
  4. IT WON’T BE LONG – The Rajahs
  6. ALL MY LOVING – Johnny Young
  7. OBLA-DI, OBLA-DA – The Executives
  8. I FEEL FINE – Masters’ Apprentices
10. TOMORROW NEVER KNOWS – Wendy Saddington
11. HEY JUDE – Max Merritt & the Meteors
12. COME TOGETHER – The La De Das
13. DEAR PRUDENCE – Doug Parkinson In Focus
14. ELEANOR RIGBY – The Zoot
15. CARRY THAT WEIGHT – Colleen Hewitt
16. NOWHERE MAN – Sherbet
17. PAPERBACK WRITER – Glenn Shorrock
Disc Two
  1. HELP – John Farnham
  2. OH! DARLIN’ – The Models
  3. BIRTHDAY – Sunnyboys
  4. I’VE JUST SEEN A FACE – Jenny Morris
  5. BABY YOU’RE A RICH MAN – Company of Strangers (w/James Reyne)
  6. A HARD DAYS NIGHT – The Hoodoo Gurus
  7. I’M SO TIRED – You Am I
  8. I’M ONLY SLEEPING – The Vines
  9. TWO OF US – Josh Pyke & Bob Evans
10. GIRL – Glenn Cardier
11. BLACKBIRD – Katie Noonan
12. ACROSS THE UNIVERSE – Rachael Leahcar
14. THINGS WE SAID TODAY – Marty Rhone
15. LIKE DREAMERS DO – The Beatnix
16. ‘TIL THERE WAS YOU – Harrison Craig

Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter

Related Posts

The Beatles Get Back
Peter Jackson Tells How He Restored Beatles Audio In Get Back

Peter Jackson has revealed how he restored the sound on the Beatles’ songs for 'Get Back'.

3 days ago
The Beatles Get Back
The Beatles Did Not Break Up After Let It Be

One of the great Beatle myths is that the band broke up after the Get Back/Let It Be sessions and that the original film documented the break-up. That is not true.

November 29, 2021
The Beatles Get Back
Things We Learned From The Beatles Get Back Episode 1

The origins of the ‘Get Back’ sessions that became the ‘Let It Be’ album was for The Beatles to create 14 new songs over two weeks and perform a concert at the end of the sessions for what was first envisioned as a television special.

November 26, 2021
Noel Gallagher photo by Ros O'Gorman
Noel Gallagher Is Embarrassed By Beatles Comparison

Noel Gallagher was embarrassed when Oasis were compared to The Beatles.

November 19, 2021
Paul McCartney at AAMI Park Melbourne on Tuesday 5 December 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Neil Young Is The Only Person To Perform Paul McCartney’s Original ‘I Saw Her Standing There’ Lyrics

Paul McCartney has revealed to Howard Stern that his original lyric to ‘I Saw Her Standing There’ was a mistake and that John Lennon had him change it. But then McCartney told Neil Young the story and Young performed the original.

November 15, 2021
The Beatles rooftop performance Photo from Apple Records
The Beatles Share First Clip Of Peter Jackson Documentary Get Back

The Beatles have uploaded a scene from their upcoming documentary ‘Get Back’ by Peter Jackson.

November 13, 2021
George Harrison, photo by Paul Cashmere
Missing George Harrison and Ringo Starr Track Found

A previously lost track featuring Sir Ringo Starr and the late George Harrison, which was discovered in a loft, is set to be released.

November 12, 2021