Brett Cottle Set For His Final APRA AMCOS Awards After 28 Years -
Brett Cottle

Brett Cottle

Brett Cottle Set For His Final APRA AMCOS Awards After 28 Years

by Paul Cashmere on February 22, 2018

in News,Noise Pro

The 2018 APRA AMCOS Awards will have a different feel to it this year. It will be Brett Cottle’s final event after 28 years of leadership.

Cottle has served APRA AMCOS for 40 years, 28 of those as Chief Executive. He has decided to pass the baton.

In a statement Brett said, “It has been my great privilege to honour Australian songwriters and publishers at every APRA Music Awards since its inaugural event in 1982. Though much has changed over the decades, what has stayed the same since that first year when the likes of Harry Vanda, George Young, his brothers Malcolm and Angus, and Bon Scott all won, is that our songwriters continue to push the boundaries, passionately put in the work, and bravely create songs with meaning”.

The 2018 APRA AMCOS Awards will be held in Sydney on 10 April.

RockWiz star Julia Zemiro will host the event.

“For 12 years as the host of Rockwiz, I have had the sweetest gig: working with six generations of Australian artists, watching them work at close range and learning about their trials and tribulations. Hosting the APRA Music Awards is a wonderful celebration of many of these artists, their songwriting skills and the publishers who get them out there. The night itself is a joy: listening to five Song of the Year finalists LIVE, not performed by the artists themselves, but by five different artists. Sometimes an homage. Sometimes a re-invention. Always fascinating. It’s a one-off awards event. See you there!”, said Julia.

Robert Conley will return as Musical Director.

Nominees for the 2018 APRA AMCOS Awards will be announced on March 15.


Song of the Year
Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music*
Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year*
Songwriter of the Year*
Overseas Recognition Award*
Most Played Australian Work
Most Played Australian Work Overseas
Country Work of the Year
Blues & Roots Work of the Year
Dance Work of the Year
Rock Work of the Year
Pop Work of the Year
Urban Work of the Year
International Work of the Year
Licensee of the Year*

*These awards are determined by the APRA Board of Publisher and Writer Directors.

Listen to the Song of the Year shortlist on Spotify

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Related Posts

If APRA Can Reward Misogynist Act ONEFOUR Then Something Needs To Change

A misogynist rap song glorifying violence against women and sex acts has won the APRA Award for Most Performed Hip Hop / Rap song at the 2024 APRA Music Awards.

May 6, 2024
Rebecca Bracewell ART MUSIC AWARDS 2023
ANNOUNCEMENT: The Art Music Awards From APRA AMCOS Complete Winners List 2023

APRA AMCOS Art Music Awards were held in Sydney tonight (15 August 2023).

August 15, 2023
Australian Music Industry Takes Over Parliament House In Sydney

The second NSW Parliamentary Friends of Australian Music (PFOAM) event rocked Macquarie Street last night, with a delegation of New South Wales songwriters, musicians, recording artists and key industry leaders highlighting the contribution the contemporary music industry makes to our economy, our community and our culture.

September 28, 2018
Malcolm Black, Marianna Annas, Clive Hodson Join APRA and AMCOS Board

Songwriter Malcolm Black and ANC Music Publishing manager Marianna Annas have been announced as the new APRA board members while Pitch Perfect Publishing co-MD Clive Hodson has joined the AMCOS board.

November 23, 2016
APRA AMCOS Paid 248,994 Songwriters $294,000,000 In 15-16

Australian songwriters and publishers had a 14% revenue increase during 2014-2015 with APRA/AMCOS confirming it paid out $294,600,000 in the last financial year.

October 20, 2016
APRA AMCOS Ask Songwriters To Submit Performance Report For Payday

Songwriters are advised to get their Performance Report into APRA AMCOS by July 31 to receive payment for their work.

June 14, 2016