Dinosaur Jr To Return To Australia with Original Line-up of Mascis, Barlow and Murph in 2024 - Noise11.com
J Mascis photo by Ros O'Gorman

J Mascis photo by Ros O'Gorman

Dinosaur Jr To Return To Australia with Original Line-up of Mascis, Barlow and Murph in 2024

by Paul Cashmere on October 4, 2023

in News

Dinosaur Jr fifth album ‘Where You Been’ was released on 9 February 1993. It was the album that established the Dinosaur Jr fanbase, especially in Australia where the Massachusetts group had their first chart position in Australia which continued on with the next record ‘Without A Sound’.

‘Where You Been’ was the only Dinosaur Jr album from 1988’s ‘Bug’ to 2007’s Beyond’ to be recorded with the band of three, J Mascis, Mike Johnson and Murph. Johnson was the new bass player for the group replacing Lou Barlow. Murph left after “Where You Been’ and returned in 2005. For 2024, Australia will be treated to the original trio, J Mascis (guitar, vocals, primary songwriter), Lou Barlow (bass, vocals) and Murph (drums). It’s the band’s first visit to Australia since 2017.

Presented by Frontier Touring and 95bFM (Auckland show only)

via frontiertouring.com/dinosaurjr
Runs 24 hours from: Thursday 5 October (2pm local)
or until presale allocation exhausted

Begins: Tuesday 10 October (2pm local time)

Wednesday 21 February
Enmore Theatre | Sydney, NSW
Lic. All Ages

Friday 23 February
The Tivoli | Brisbane, QLD

Monday 26 February
Hindley Street Music Hall | Adelaide, SA

Wednesday 28 February
The Astor Theatre | Perth, WA

Saturday 2 March
Town Hall | Auckland, NZ
Presented by 95bFM
Lic. All Ages

*Also performing at Tent Pole: A Musical Jamboree, Geelong, Sat 17 Feb
more info via tentpolemusicfestival.com

Patrons are advised to purchase tickets only through authorised ticket sellers.
We cannot guarantee any ticket purchase made through any means other than the official ticketing agents listed on the Frontier website.

Stay updated with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see NOISE.com’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE


Related Posts

Rolling Stones Voodoo Lounge
The Rolling Stones To Release Vinyl Only 30th Anniversary Edition of ‘Voodoo Lounge’

The Rolling Stones will mark the 30th anniversary of the ‘Voodoo Lounge’ album but unlike previously expanded editions, this one is vinyl only with only the b-sides added.

4 hours ago
Dog Trumpet Space and Time
Dog Trumpet Preview ‘Space and time’ Ahead of Tour Kick Off This Week

On Friday May 24, Dog Trumpet will release new music and perform new music. The song ‘Space and Time’ is the first new song since the release of the ‘Shadowland’ album in 2022.

4 hours ago
The Sharp image May 2024
The Sharp Reform For Live Shows In 2024

In 1993 and 1994 Charlie Rooke (guitar/vocals), Allan Catlin (double bass/vocals) and Piet Collins (drums/vocals) as The Sharp had the two hit albums ‘This Is The Sharp’ (1993) and ‘Sonic Tripod (1994). In 1995, they disbanded.

5 hours ago
The The Ensoulment Session Feb 9th 2024
The The To Release First Album In 25 Years

The The will release their first album in 25 years in September.

1 day ago
Sean Diddy Combs, music news, noise11.com
Sean Diddy Combs Apologises For His Behaviour

Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs has apologised for his “inexcusable” behaviour after video footage emerged of him allegedly attacking his then-girlfriend Cassie Ventura.

1 day ago
Sean Diddy Combs, music news, noise11.com
Video Of Sean Diddy Combs Attacking Girlfriend Surfaces

Hotel security video appears to show Diddy beating his ex-girlfriend Cassie Ventura.

2 days ago
KT Tunstall photo by Ros O'Gorman
KT Tunstall To Recieven Ivor Novello Award

KT Tunstall is to receive the Ivor Novello Award for Outstanding Song Collection.

5 days ago