Flume Wins Big At 2017 APRA Music Awards - Noise11.com
Flume by Cybele Malinowski

Flume by Cybele Malinowski

Flume Wins Big At 2017 APRA Music Awards

by Paul Cashmere on April 3, 2017

in News

Flume won three APRA Music Awards this week after a run in the past year that netted the electronica producer eight ARIAs and one Grammy.

Harley Streten aka Flume was named Songwriter of the Year at the 2017 APRA Awards and also won Dance Work of the Year and Most Played Australian Work for the hit song ‘Never Be Like You’ featuring Kai.

APRA’s top prize ‘Song of the Year’ went to DD Dumbo for ‘Satan’. Oliver Perry aka DD Dumbo won the Triple J Album of the Year award in 2016 for his debut ‘Utopia Defeated’.

Other winners were:

Troye Sivan for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year.

Sam Dixon for Overseas Recognition Award for his credits on works by Adele, Sia, Christina Aguilera, Carly Rae Jepsen, Paloma Faith and Jack Savoretti.

Aleyce Simmonds won Country Work of the Year for Greatest Companion.

Robbie Miller and Nathan Morrison won Blues and Roots Work of the Year for The Pain.

Birds of Tokyo won Rock Work of the Year for ‘I’d Go With You Anywhere.

Illy and Vera Blue won Urban Work of the Year for ‘Papercuts’.

Vance Joy won Most Played Australian Work Overseas for ‘Riptide’.

Adele won International Work of the Year for ‘Hello’

The Gov in Adelaide won Licensee of the Year

Archie Roach was awarded the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

The X Studio

Related Posts

Colin Hay performs at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 11 February 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Ringo Starr Beams Down To Australia’s APRA Awards to Congratulate Colin Hay

Ringo Starr popped up at the APRA Awards in Sydney tonight to congratulate his friend Colin Hay on receiving the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

April 27, 2023
Angus Young AC/DC Etihad Stadium, Rock Or Bust World Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
2022 APRA Music Awards, the Complete Winners List

The APRA Music Awards were held in Melbourne Tuesday night (3 May 2022) honoring Australian songwriters across 15 categories.

May 3, 2022
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
APRA Music Awards Nominees for 2022 Have Been Revealed

The nominees for the APRA Music Awards have been revealed with Midnight Oil. Amy & The Sniffers, Hiatus Kaiyote, Genesis Owusu and The Kid Laroi up for Song of the Year.

April 7, 2022
Jerome Farah
APRA Music Awards To Celebrate 40 Years Event In Melbourne

The APRA Music Awards is about to have its landmark 40 year edition with a major celebration in Melbourne on 3 May 2022.

March 24, 2022
Jimmy Barnes at Red Hot Summer Mornington 2019 photo Noise11.com
Tones and I, Hilltop Hoods, Jimmy Barnes Win APRA Music Awards

The APRA Music Awards were announced tonight with a virtual event during COVID-19 lockdown.

May 25, 2020
Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019
Courtney Barnett performs in the ABC Melbourne Studio Foyer celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the Archie Roach album Charcoal Road. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Courtney Barnett Wins APRA Songwriter of the Year

Melbourne’s Courtney Barnett has been honoured with the coveted Songwriter of the Year award at the 2016 APRA Music Awards.

April 6, 2016