Genre Winners And Public Nominees Announced for The Age Music Victoria Awards -
Archie Roach, The Age Music Victoria Awards, Photo Ros O'Gorman

Archie Roach, The Age Music Victoria Awards, Photo by Ros O'Gorman

Genre Winners And Public Nominees Announced for The Age Music Victoria Awards

by Anthony Barton on October 11, 2013

in News,Noise Pro

The inaugural Age Music Victoria Awards public nominations and genre winners event was held last night with The Drones leading the charge with three nominations for the public awards.

Other nominees included Paul Kelly, Adalita, Dick Diver, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard and Clairy Browne and the Bangin’ Rackettes who each received two nominations. The Drones are up for three awards including best album, best band and best live act.

Two new regional awards will be added to this year’s event with nominations announced for Best Regional Venue and Best Regional Act. In addition to these new awards, there are two special awards this year that include a $5000 prize from APRA for the Best Song award and the Best emerging Artist award winner will be flown to the BigSound Conference in Brisbane.

The Genre Awards and Nominations event saw blues-man Chris Russell and rock-goddess Adalita delivering commanding performances in The Age foyer. Winners on the night include Kylie Auldist of the Bamboos for Best Soul, Funk, R’n’B and Gospel Album, Archie Roach for Best Folk Roots Album and Three Kings for Best Blues Album for their self-titled album.

The inaugural Age Music Victoria Awards (ex-EG Awards) show will be held on Wednesday November 20 at Billboard the Venue.

Featuring a performance by album of the year nominees, Big Scary, the event will also showcase Australian soul music with the EG All-stars performing classic Australian soul tracks with the best soul singers we have to offer, including Dan Sultan, Daniel Merriweather, Kylie Auldist, Archie Roach and Nkechi Anele.

The Age Music Victoria Awards have become the biggest publicly voted awards in Australia with an average of 80,000 votes while it was still called the EG Awards.

Music Victoria CEO, Patrick Donovan, said

“Music Victoria is thrilled to be in partnership with The Age to transform the Age EG Awards into The Age Music Victoria Awards in 2013. The only difference this year is that we are just celebrating Victorian music now – of all genres. It is still the people’s awards – fans can vote for their favourite music of the year, and buy a ticket to the Billboard show to rub shoulders with their heroes, see them perform and cheer for them as they take home a trophy.”

Tickets for the awards event are on sale now through Oztix for $50+bf. $5 from every ticket sold will go to charity Support Act that aims to take care of musicians who become ill or fall on hard times.

Anyone can vote in the awards, so have your say at (nominations below)

Genre Award Winners

Best Blues Album – presented by Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society – Three Kings for ‘Three Kings’

Best Country Album – presented by Addicted To Noise – Dan Waters for ‘La Vita E’Bella’

Best Soul, Funk, R’n’B and Gospel Album – presented by PBS – Kylie Auldist for ‘Still Life’

Best Jazz Album – presented by Dixons Creek Estate – Allan Browne Trio for ‘Lost In The Stars’

Best Hip Hop Album – presented by Capi Sparkling – Fraksha for ‘My Way’

Best Electronic Act – presented by Select AV – Nick Thayer

Best Heavy Album – presented by Wifire Music – King Parrot for ‘Bite Your Head Off’

Best Indigenous Act – presented by Songlines – Crystal Mercy

Best Global or Reggae Act – presented by Australasian Worldwide Music Expo – Melbourne Ska Orchestra

Best Experimental/Avant-Garde Act – presented by GI & Sanicki Lawyers – Judith Hamann

Best Folk Roots Album – presented by White Sky – Archie Roach for ‘Into The Bloodstream’

The Age Music Victoria Awards 2013 nominees are:

Best Album – presented by The Age EG
All Day Venus – Adalita
Calendar Days – Dick Diver
I See Seaweed – The Drones
Not Art – Big Scary
Spring and Fall – Paul Kelly

Best Band – presented by City of Melbourne
Clairy Browne & The Bangin’ Rackettes
Dick Diver
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
The Drones

Best Song – presented by APRA
Nono/Yoyo – Standish/Carlyon
Head On/ Pill – King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
History Eraser – Courtney Barnett
I’m In Love – Cash Savage And The Last Drinks
Riptide – Vance Joy

Best Male Artist
Archie Roach
David Bridie
Paul Kelly

Best Female Artist – presented by TheMusic
Courtney Barnett
Evelyn Morris (Pikelet)
Jen Cloher
Kylie Auldist

Best Emerging Artist – presented by Travel Beyond / Bigsound
Andras Fox
Brighter Later
Damn Terran
Fraser A. Gorman
Hiatus Kaiyote

Best Live Band – presented by RockWiz
Bombay Royale
Clairy Browne & the Bangin’ Rackettes
Money For Rope
The Drones

Best Venue – presented by Mountain Goat
The Caravan Club
The Corner Hotel
The Forum
The Old Bar
The Toff In Town

Best Festival – presented by Crumpler
All Tomorrow’s Parties / I’ll Be Your Mirror
Golden Plains
Meredith Music Festival
Sugar Mountain

Best Regional Act
Gold Fields
Hunting Grounds
Quarry Mountain Dead Rats
Yacht Club DJs

Best Regional Venue
Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Meeniyan Town Hall, South Gippsland
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine
The Barwon Club, Geelong
The Bridge, Castlemaine

Stay updated with your free Noise11 daily music newsletter. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here



Related Posts

Heidi Lenffer of Cloud Control
Heidi Lenffer of Cloud Control Launches FEAT. With Vance Joy, Midnight Oil

Heidi Lenffer of Cloud Control has launched FEAT., a solar fund for artists to fund new and existing solar farms around Australia.

June 4, 2019
Big Scary, music news,
Sugar Mountain Reveals 2017 Line-up

Sugar Mountain has announced its 2017 line-up. The festival features a program of Music and Art.

October 17, 2016
Big Scary, music news,
Big Scary Win Australian Music Prize

Big Scary have been named victorious for the 9th Australian Music Prize for their ‘Not Art’ album.

March 5, 2014
Kirin J Callinan, AMP Shortlist 2014, Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Coopers AMP Shortlist Trimmed Down To Nine

The 9th Coopers AMP has trimmed its list down to the nine albums eligible for the 2014 Australian Music Prize.

January 26, 2014
Johnny Marr - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Fall Festival Second Announcement Features Johnny Marr

Smiths legend Johnny Marr has been added to the Falls Festival line-up over the New Year’s long weekend.

September 3, 2013
Splashh, Noise11, Photo
Collarts Students Feature In New Online TV Show

Students from the College of the Arts (Collarts) in Melbourne have been working in collaboration to produce an online TV show.

June 26, 2013
The Temper Trap - Photo By Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
Temper Trap, Missy Higgins Lead Hobart’s Soundscape Festival

The Temper Trap, Missy Higgins, Bluejuice, Big Scary and more sign on for the Soundscape Festival.

August 13, 2012