Madonna ‘True Blue’ Turns 35 With Expanded Edition -
Madonna True Blue

Madonna ‘True Blue’ Turns 35 With Expanded Edition

by Paul Cashmere on July 30, 2021

in News

The third Madonna album ‘True Blue’ turns 35 today.

‘True Blue’ was released on July 30, 1986, just three years after the debut ‘Madonna’ and two years after ‘Like A Virgin’. By the time ‘True Blue’ arrived, Madonna had already sold over 30 million albums. ‘True Blue’ almost doubled that again with another 25 million sales. To this date it is her biggest selling album.

‘True Blue’ delivered hit after hit starting with:

Live to Tell, (no 1 US, no 7 Australia)

Papa Don’t Preach, (no 1 US, no 1 Australia)

True Blue (no 3 US, no 5 Australia)

Open Your Heart (no 1 US, no 16 Australia)

La Isla Bonita (no 4 US, no 6 Australia)

Off the back of ‘True Blue’ Madonna launched her second world tour ‘Who’s That Girl’.

The setlist was:

1. “Open Your Heart”
2. “Lucky Star”
3. “True Blue”
4. “Papa Don’t Preach”
5. “White Heat”
6. “Causing a Commotion”
7. “The Look of Love”
8. Medley: “Dress You Up” / “Material Girl” / “Like a Virgin” (contains an excerpt from “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)”)
9. “Where’s the Party”
10. “Live to Tell”
11. “Into the Groove”
12. “La Isla Bonita”
13. “Who’s That Girl”
14. “Holiday”

The 35th Anniversary edition ‘True Blue’ tracklisting is:

Disc 1

1. Papa Don’t Preach
2. Open Your Heart
3. White Heat
4. Live To Tell
5. Where’s The Party
6. True Blue
7. La Isla Bonita
8. Jimmy Jimmy
9. Love Makes The World Go Round

Disc 2
10. Papa Don’t Preach (Extended Remix)
11. True Blue (The Color Mix)
12. Open Your Heart (Extended Version)
13. La Isla Bonita (Extended Remix)
14. True Blue (Remix/Edit)
15. Open Your Heart (Dub)
16. Live To Tell (Instrumental)
17. True Blue (Instrumental)
18. La Isla Bonita (Instrumental Extended Remix)

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

Island Records and UMe announce the 40th-anniversary vinyl release of “Gloria,” a limited edition 12” yellow vinyl EP to celebrate RSD Black Friday on Friday, November 26, 2021. Originally released as a single in October 1981, “Gloria” is the second single to be taken from U2’s second studio album October and has been a staple in U2’s live set to this day. This very special anniversary release includes the studio version of “Gloria” plus three live versions from three different decades.
U2 To Release ‘Gloria’ Rarities On 40th Anniversary Vinyl

U2 will release a yellow-vinyl 4-track EP to mark the 40th anniversary of their ‘Gloria’ single including some rare versions of the song.

14 hours ago
David Bowie Complete Catalogue Moves To Warner Music

The Warner Music Group and the Estate of David Bowie have signed a global deal to put the entire Bowie catalogue in the hands of the Warner group.

14 hours ago
Rod Stewart - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Rod Stewart Debuts New Song ‘One More Time’ Ahead of ‘The Tears Of Hercules’ Album

Rod Stewart will release his 31st album ‘The Tears of Hercules’ in November. His new song ‘One More Time’ is a little bit country and a little bit rock and roll.

16 hours ago
Elton John and his Band perform in Melbourne at Rod Laver Arena on Friday 11 December 2015. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Elton John Postpones Show To 2023

Elton John has postponed his upcoming tour in the U.K. and Europe so he can undergo an operation on his hip.

22 hours ago
James Hetfield of Metallica photo by Ros O'Gorman
Metallica To Headline First Download Festival In Germany

Metallica are set to headline the inaugural Download Festival Germany.

2 days ago
Charlie Watts of the Rolling Stones photo by Ros O'Gorman
The Rolling Stones Could Not Attend Charlie Watts Funeral

The Rolling Stones, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Ron Wood, were unable to attend the funeral of their drummer Charlie Watts due to Covid restrictions.

2 days ago
Paul Kelly AWITG on Friday 17 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Paul Kelly Debuts Song About Eddie Betts ‘Every Step Of The Way’

Paul Kelly’s new song ‘Every Step Of The Way’ is about football player Eddie Betts.

2 days ago