Paul Grabowsky Awarded Order Of Australia
Paul Grabowsky

Paul Grabowsky

Paul Grabowsky Awarded Order Of Australia

by Paul Cashmere on June 9, 2014

in News,Noise Pro

Jazz pianist, composer and conductor Professor Paul Grabowsky has been awarded the Order of Australia (AO) for “distinguished service to music as a performer, composer, educator and mentor and through significant contributions to the arts as an administrator”.

Paul Grabowsky is one of Australia’s best known jazz musicians.

Professor Grabowsky was the founder and founding artistic director for the Australian Art Orchestra. He composed the music for the opening and closing ceremonies of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games and he was the musical director of the 2000 Paralympic Games Closing Ceremony.

‘Count’ Paul Grabowsky was also the musical director for Tonight Live With Steve Vizard. Paul was also the Chairman, Music Board, Australia Council 1994-1995.

The Order of Australia is award to Paul Grabowsky in recognition of:

Best Australian Jazz Composition of the Year, Australian Jazz Bell Awards, 2007; Australian Jazz Artist of the Year, 2006.
Melbourne Prize for Music, Melbourne Prize Trust, 2007.
Best Jazz Album, Before Time Could Change Us, Australian Recording Industry Awards, 2004; Best Australian Jazz Release, When Words Fail, 1996; Best Jazz Album, Six By Three, 1990; Best Jazz Album, Soundtrack, 1988.
Excellence in Film and Theatrical Score, Deadly Awards, Ruby’s Story, 2004.
Sydney Myer Performing Artist of the Year, 2002.
Best Original Score, The Theft of Sita, Helpmann Awards, 2001.
Award for Phoenix, Australasian Performing Right Association Awards, 1993; Most Performed Australasian Jazz Work, Disappearing Shoreline, 1989.

Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Related Posts

Kate Ceberano performs at APIA Good Times Tour at the Palais Theatre in St Kilda on Saturday 28 May 2016. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Kate Ceberano Awarded Order of Australia

Kate Ceberano now carried the initials AM after her name as a recipient of the Order of Australia in the 2016 Queen’s Birthday Honours.

June 13, 2016
Iva Davies, Icehouse - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Iva Davies Thanks Australia for His Queen’s Honour

Icehouse founder and frontman Iva Davies has thanked the people of “this Great Southern Land’ after being awarded the Order of Australia in the Queen’s birthday honours on the weekend.

June 11, 2013
Doc Neeson OAM photo by Buzz Bidstrup and Doc Neeson The Voice of the Angels Facebook
Doc Neeson Receives Order Of Australia Medal

Angels lead singer Doc Neeson was presented with his Order of Australia (OAM) medal at Government House in Sydney on Friday.

May 5, 2013
Lindy Morrison
Lindy Morrison Awarded Order Of Australia Honor

Lindy Morrison, drummer for The Go-Betweens from 1980-1989 and now board member of the Phonographic Performance Company of Australia (PPCA), was awarded the Order of Australia on Australia Day.

January 28, 2013
Doc Neeson photo by Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
Doc Neeson Awarded Order of Australia Medal

Doc Neeson has been awarded the Order of Australia medal for his services to music and the community.

January 26, 2013
Rolf Harris images by Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, Photo
Rolf Harris Awarded Order Of Australia

Queen Elizabeth II has honored veteran Australian Rolf Harris with the Officer of the Order of Australia as part of her birthday honours.

June 11, 2012
Brett Cottle
APRA CEO Brett Cottle Awarded Queen’s Honour

Brett Cottle, the Chief Executive for the Australian Performing Rights Association, has been awarded the Member of the Order of Australia (AM) by Queen Elizabeth II in the Queen's Birthday Honours.

June 11, 2012