The Australian Music Prize Announces The "Longlist" -
Alpine: Photo Ros O'Gorman

Alpine: Photo Ros O'Gorman

The Australian Music Prize Announces The “Longlist”

by Andrew Tijs on October 9, 2012

in News,Noise Pro

The rebranded AMP releases a list of 26 albums as part of the “Official Entrants” longlist.

Alpine: Photo Ros O'Gorman

Alpine: Photo Ros O'Gorman

The album of the year Australian Music Prize  also removed the entry free, so after listening to 130 albums, the judges have “invited” 26 albums to be “Official Entrants” in the prize, making up a proxy longlist (which they will supposedly add to as they listen to more albums).

Some artists have commented on their inclusion. Alpine say, “Making this album was a non-stop party. Lots of whiskey, cigarettes, dancing, emotions and emoticons.”

Jess Ribeiro of Jess Ribeiro & The Bone Collectors says, “This is awesome, what a wonderful surprise to be acknowledged by the people ofAMP, thank you, I was just about to quit making music forever. Thanks for listening, I appreciate it greatly.”

James of Made in Japan says, “We were nicely surprised to find out we’d been nominated. As an indie band from Sydney, it’s very flattering to have Sights and Sounds included alongside albums by suchwell established artists.” James of Made in Japan

The AMP also notes that people can check the list on their Facebook page to see if all eligible albums have been accounted for.

The “Official Entrants” albums are below

Alpine – A Is For Alpine
Bearhug – Bill, Dance, Shiner
Bushwalking – First Time
Catcall – The Warmest Place
Charge Group – Charge Group
Children Collide – Monument
Deep Sea Arcade – Outlands
Dirty Three – Toward The Sun
DZ Deathrays – Bloodstreams
Emma Russack – Sounds Of Our City
Forty Thousand Sisters – Goodbye Broken Sled
Grand Salvo – Slay Me In My Sleep
Hermitude – Hyper-Paradise
Hilltop Hoods – Drinking From The Sun
House Vs Hurricane – Crooked Teeth
Jess Ribeiro & The Bone Collectors – My Little River
Liz Stringer – Warm In The Darkness
Made In Japan – Sights & Sounds
Missy Higgins – The Ol’ Razzle Dazzle
Ollo – Ape Delay
Pond – Beard, Wives, Denim
The Bamboos – Medicine Man
The Hello Morning – The Hello Morning
The Maple Trail – Cable Mount Warning
Tim Hart – Milling The Wind
Xavier Rudd – Spirit Bird

Check out our interviews with Liz Stringer, Xavier Rudd, Tim Hart, Alpine, The Bamboos, The Hello Morning, and Children Collide.

Related Posts

The New Alpine Song is ‘Dumb’

Alpine have a new track. Its called ‘Dumb’.

May 3, 2019
Courtney Barnett, music news,
Sugar Mountain 2016 Line-up Confirmed

The Sugar Mountain festival will return for the second year in Melbourne in January.

October 12, 2015
Alpine,, music news
Alpine Announce Foolish Tour

Alpine will head out on their ‘Foolish’ tour across Australia from June.

April 17, 2015
Alpine, music news,
Alpine’s New Album Is Yuck

After choosing April Fool’s Day to debut their new song ‘Foolish’, Melbourne sextet Alpine have announced the title of their second album is ‘Yuck’.

April 8, 2015
They Might Be Giants, Noise11, Photo
Groovin’ The Moo To Head To South Australia In 2014

The regional Groovin’ The Moo music festival will head to South Australia for the first time in 2014.

September 9, 2013
Alpine: Photo Ros O'Gorman
Melbourne’s Alpine Perform On Jimmy Kimmel Live VIDEO

“From their album A Is For Alpine here with their song Gasoline from Melbourne, Australia, Alpine.” That is how Jimmy Kimmel introduced Melbourne’s Alpine for their first international television performance.

September 6, 2013
Tina Arena, Noise11, music news
Tina Arena To Release First Album Of Original English Songs In A Decade

Tina Arena will release her first English language album of original songs since 2001 in October.

August 19, 2013