Nic Cester To Publish Children’s Book ‘Skipping Girl’ -

Nic Cester To Publish Children’s Book ‘Skipping Girl’

by Paul Cashmere on November 5, 2021

in News

Nic Cester is paying tribute to one of Melbourne’s landmarks, the Skipping Girl Vinegar sign, with his first children’s book ‘Skipping Girl’.

Cester, the lead singer of Jet, was passing the iconic landmark in Victoria Street when the inspiration for the book dawned on him.

“I was looking at it during a pivotal moment in my life,” he recalls. “For the first time I saw it as a metaphor. On the surface it’s very beautiful and colourful and lights up the skyline, but there’s also a deep sadness to it. For me, it’s always been very melancholic because it’s a child who is trapped in this eternal loop that’s not going anywhere. And for me that was a really powerful metaphor for someone who is trapped in a repetitive loop of any kind: it could be alcoholism, an unhappy relationship, or a job that you’re dissatisfied with.”

Nic recruited artist Richolly Rosazza for the images. Richolly’s work on his previous work ‘L’ospite’ is a favourite of Nic’s daughter Marilda. Nic has recorded a campanion album to go with the book. “The songs are a mix of vignettes of stories from my own life, with stories from my own childhood, and ideas I’d like to impart upon my daughter. Hopefully when she grows up, she can listen to the songs and explore those ideas a little deeper.”

The sessions were Nic’s first since leaving lockdown at his home in Milan, Italy. “It was amazing to have the chance to go to that incredibly beautiful studio, which is also mind-bogglingly interesting. Suddenly we could go to a restaurant and a studio and listen to an orchestra. It was a sensory overload! Carbonara, wine, music: it was beautiful.”

The ‘Skipping Girl’ book will be released in English and Italian.

‘Skipping Girl’ album tracklist:
1. ‘Goodnight Beautiful’ (intro)
2. ‘Forever’
3. ‘Emily’
4. ‘Cry Baby’
5. ‘Don’t Lean On Me’
6. ‘Ordinary Love’
7. ‘The Way That We Are’
8. ‘All In Your Head’
9. ‘Goodnight Beautiful’ (outro)

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Michael Buble Higher
Michael Buble Covers Paul McCartney and Bob Dylan For New Album ‘Higher’

Michael Buble has recorded a cover of Paul McCartney’s ‘My Valentine’ and Bob Dylan’s ‘Make You Feel My Love’ for his next album ‘Higher’.

1 day ago
Madonna, Rod Laver Arena Rebel Heart Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Madonna Wants To Tour With Britney Spears

Madonna has suggested going on a joint stadium tour with Britney Spears.

2 days ago
Kanye West 2012 - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Kanye West Announces Donda 2 Release Date

Kanye West plans to release 'Donda 2' on February 22. West has taken to social media to announce that his next album, and the sequel to last year’s 'Donda', will be released next month.

2 days ago
50 Cent photo by Ros O'Gorman
50 Cent To Play Wembley

50 Cent is set to play London's The SSE Arena, Wembley in June.

3 days ago
Kanye West
Kanye West ‘Donda 2’ Is Closer Than First Thought

Kanye West's new album 'DONDA 2' is set to be released earlier than expected.

4 days ago
Taylor Swift photo by Ros O'Gorman
Damon Albarn Apologizes To Taylor Swift After Songwriting Slag-off

Blur frontman Damon Albarn has apologised to Taylor Swift for claiming she does not write her own songs.

4 days ago
Damon Albarn photo by Ros OGorman
Taylor Swift Fires Off Foot Stomping Tanty At Damon Albarn Over Songwriting Quip

Taylor Swift is stomping her feet and banging her fists over comments Damon Albarn made about her songwriting and she does have a point. Albarn’s comments are completely wrong.

4 days ago