Hip-Hop Supercollective Quakers Deliver Acclaimed Debut - Noise11.com


Hip-Hop Supercollective Quakers Deliver Acclaimed Debut

by Andrew Tijs on March 26, 2012

in New Music,News

Hip-hop collective Quakers, produced by Geoff Barrow (Portishead), Katalyst and 7Stu7, stream more tunes and release their debut.



After streaming the huge, Radiohead-sampling ‘Fitta Happier’ (featuring Guilty Simpson and MED), the hip-hop project Quakers streams two more tunes on the eve of their debut album.

The project was spearheaded by Portishead’s Geoff Barrow (under the name Fuzzface), as well as producers Katalyst and 7Stu7, as a reaction to the vacuous hip-hop being released of late.

They chose rappers and singers on merit, rather than by name-recognition, and the huge list includes Prince Po, The Pharcyde’s Booty Brown, members of Dead Prez, Phat Kat, Aloe Blacc, Guilty Simpson, MED, Jonwayne, Dave Dub, Coin Locker Kid, Lyric Jones, Estee Nack and more.

For their efforts, media outlets (including us) have been falling over themselves in anticipation – it has already been RRR and FBi Album Of The Week and received love from BMA, AV Club, Consequence Of Sound, Prefix, Fact Mag and more.

They’re streaming new tracks ‘Smoke’ featuring Jonwayne, and ‘Belly Of The Beast’ featuring Emilio Rojas, which you can sample below (as well as ‘Fitta Happier’ because it rules).

Their 41-track self-titled album is available on Stones Throw through Fuse tomorrow, March 27.

Related Posts