Placebo Share New Song 'Surrounded By Spies' -
Placebo photo by Mads Perch

Placebo photo by Mads Perch

Placebo Share New Song ‘Surrounded By Spies’

by on November 10, 2021

in News

Placebo have shared the new single ‘Surrounded By Spies’.

Placebo recently announced details of their first album in almost a decade, ‘Never Let Me Go’, and now they’ve shared the new song about surveillance and corrupt technology, inspired by the real-life event of frontman Brian Molko finding out his own neighbours were “spying” on him “on behalf of parties with a nefarious agenda”.

The latest track follows September’s ‘Beautiful James’.

Their long-awaited follow-up to 2013’s ‘Loud Like Love’ is set for release on March 25, and they’ve also announced a 2022 headline UK and European tour.

In a statement, Brian said: “I began writing the lyrics when I discovered my neighbours were spying on me on behalf of parties with a nefarious agenda.

“I then began to ponder the countless ways in which our privacy has been eroded and stolen since the introduction of worldwide CCTV cameras that now employ racist facial recognition technologies; the rise of the internet and the cellphone, which has turned practically every user into a paparazzo and spectators in their own lives, and how we have mostly all offered up personal information to enormous multinationals whose sole intent is to exploit us.”

Brian also revealed that he used the literary technique where written text is cut up and rearranged to create a new text for the record, which the late music legend David Bowie made famous.

Brian added: “I used the cut-up technique invented by William S Burroughs and popularised in a modern song by David Bowie.

“It’s a true story told through a lens of paranoia, complete disgust for modern society’s values, and the deification of surveillance capitalism. The narrator is at the end of their tether, hopeless and afraid, completely at odds with our newfound progress and the god of money.”

The track-listing for ‘Never Let Me Go’ is:

1. ‘Forever Chemicals’
2. ‘Beautiful James’
3. ‘Hugz’
4. ‘Happy Birthday In The Sky’
5. ‘The Prodigal’
6. ‘Surrounded By Spies’
7. ‘Try Better Next Time’
8. ‘Sad White Reggae’
9. ‘Twin Demons’
10. ‘Chemtrails’
11. ‘This Is What You Wanted’
12. ‘Went Missing’
13. ‘Fix Yourself’

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Dave Grohl Foo Fighters at Etihad Stadium on Tuesday 30 January 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Foo Fighters Drop New Song Through Fraggle Rock

Foo Fighters have released a new song for the revival of children's classic ‘Fraggle Rock'.

21 hours ago
Bjork, Photo: Ros O'Gorman music news
Bjork Has New Album News

Björk has penned "a whole new album", which she hopes will be released in the summer.

2 days ago
Hoodoo Gurus Dave Faulkner, photo by Ros OGorman
Hoodoo Gurus To Release First Album In 12 Years ‘Chariot of the Gods’

Hoodoo Gurus first album in 12 years is titled ‘Chariot of the Gods’ and it will be with you in March.

2 days ago
Danny Elfman
Danny Elfman Debuts ‘In Time’ Video

Danny Elfman has premiered another video from his 2021 album ‘Big Mess’ album.

2 days ago
Bob Evans
Bob Evans Sidelined With Covid

Bob Evans’ Melbourne show this weekend at the Northcote Social Club has been scrapped due to Covid.

3 days ago
Liam Gallagher, Beady Eye, Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Liam Gallagher Teases Major Announcement

Liam Gallagher has teased a "big announcement" is coming this week.

3 days ago
Robbie Williams Heavy Entertainment Tour at Rod Laver Arena on Saturday 24 February 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Robbie Williams Plans A Return To The Road

Robbie Williams is hoping to go on tour at the end of the year.

5 days ago