Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick About The Day AC/DC Dropped By His House - Noise11.com
Cheap Trick and ACDC in Germany

Cheap Trick and AC/DC in Germany - photo courtesy of Rick Nielsen

Rick Nielsen of Cheap Trick About The Day AC/DC Dropped By His House

by Paul Cashmere @paulcashmere on March 16, 2021

in News,Noise Pro

Cheap Trick’s Rick Nielsen says Angus and Malcolm Young, Bon Scott and Cliff Williams of AC/DC dropped by his house in 1979 and some interesting collaborations that were never officially released happened.

Talking to Noise11.com, the Cheap Trick guitarist and songwriter said, “Angus and Malcolm (Young) and Cliff (Williams) came to my house in 1979. I was the first night Bon Scott ever had Mexican food. He had Tacos and scotch. They were sweet guys. We loved them. There is a version of us doing ‘Johnny B. Goode’, with Robin (Zander) and Bon singing and Angus playing with us”.

That AC/DC/Cheap Trick collaboration of the Chuck Berry classic has been leaked online.

That night started a friendship that lasted decades. “Last time I saw them, right before Malcolm had died, I went to see them on the last show of the tour in Nashville,” Rick says. “The friend I flew down with and myself were the only ones they allowed backstage. I walked in, they said “hey Rick you still living in Rockford?” I said, “yeah I am”.”


Cheap Trick and AC/DC photo courtesy of Rick Nielsen Cheap Trick and AC/DC photo courtesy of Rick Nielsen


Cheap Trick, Stone Temple Pilots and Bush will be the first three international acts to tour Australia since Covid began. Australia’s Rose Tattoo and Electric Mary are also on the Under The Southern Stars tour. Beginning April 30 in Wollongong.

Under The Southern Stars dates:

30 April, Wollongong
1 May, Newcastle
2 May, Gosford
5 May, Sydney
7 May, Adelaide
8 May Mornington
9 May, Yarrawonga
12 May, Melbourne
14 May, Caloundra
15 May, Gold Coast
16 May, Brisbane


Cheap Trick will tour Australia as they release their 20th album ‘In Another World’.


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

George Harrison
Massive George Harrison ‘All Things Must Pass’ Reissue Is On The Way

George Harrison’s masterpiece ‘All Things Muss Pass’ was released on 27 November 1970. It turned 50 last November. On 6 August 2021, a massive expansion featuring 8LPs and 5CDs will be released to mark the 50th anniversary.

2 days ago
Angus Young AC/DC performing at Etihad Stadium in Melbourne on Sunday 6 December 2015. They are in Australia on the final leg of their Rock Or Bust World Tour. photo by Ros O'Gorman
AC/DC Regroup Digitally For ‘Witch’s Spell’ Video

With AC/DC members living all over the world and unable to gather in the same room during the pandemic, technology has once again brought them together in the ‘Witch’s Spell’ video.

3 days ago
Lynyrd Skynyrd photo by Doltyn Snedden
Lynyrd Skynyd Discusses Returning To Work To Farewell Fans

Lynyrd Skynyrd were on their farewell tour when Covid hit and the tour came to a halt.

3 days ago
Lindsey Buckingham, Fleetwood Mac. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Lindsey Buckingham To Release First Solo Album In A Decade. Listen to ‘I Don’t Mind’

Lindsey Buckingham has been locked down working on his first solo album in a decade. ‘Lindsey Buckingham’ will be released in September.

4 days ago
APIA Good Times Tour 2019 Brian Cadd and Russell Morris photo by Mary Boukouvalas
Brian Cadd and Russell Morris Are Hitting The Road Together

Brian Cadd and Russell Morris will hit the road together again in July.

5 days ago
Gang of Four The Problem of Leisure
Catherine Mayer Completes Gang of Four Album To Honour Husband Andy Gill

When Gang of Four’s Andy Gill passed away in February 2020 he was already well down the track of marking the 40th anniversary of the first Gang of Four album with a special project.

6 days ago
Black Sabbath Sabotage
Four Black Sabbath ‘Sabotage’ 2021 Remasters Added To Spotify

Black Sabbath have shared four remastered tracks from the upcoming Black Sabbath ‘Sabotage’ reissue on Spotify.

6 days ago