Joy Division Launch Official Website -
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman

Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman

Joy Division Launch Official Website

by on June 27, 2015

in News

Joy Division has today launched a new website, the first time that the band has had an official site.

The site,, allows fans to explore the band’s history through a detailed discography, which features links to listen to every song, videos and a selection of Kevin Cummins’ iconic photos.

The launch comes ahead of the release of vinyl reissues of ‘Unknown Pleasures’ and ‘Closer’ on Monday June 29th. Both albums are being released on heavyweight 180g vinyl and will be followed by ‘Still’ and an expanded version of ‘Substance’ – both available as double-LP sets ‘ on July 24th.

Joy Division recorded two albums before singer Ian Curtis tragically took his own life in 1980. But what the Manchester quartet lacked in longevity, it more than made up for in quality. The band’s only two studio albums were groundbreaking and helped shape the sound and mood of the alternative music that followed in the band’s wake.

Ian Curtis (guitar/vocals), Bernard Sumner (keyboard), Peter Hook (bass), and Stephen Morris (drums) released their debut, Unknown Pleasures, in 1979. By the end of the year, the album’s atmospheric sound had won over fans and critics with tracks like ‘She’s Lost Control’ and ‘Day of the Lords.’ Closer, the group’s second album, arrived the following year and its dark and melancholy tones continued to earn rave reviews for songs like ‘Isolation’ and ‘Heart and Soul.’

The compilations Still and Substance fill in the missing pieces of the band’s history with non-album singles (‘Transmission’ and ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’), unreleased studio tracks (‘Something Must Break’ and ‘Ice Age’), and choice live recordings (‘Disorder’ and the only performance of ‘Ceremony.’)

Unknown Pleasures

Side A
1. ‘Disorder’
2. ‘Day of the Lords’
3. ‘Candidate’
4. ‘Insight’
5. ‘New Dawn Fades’

Side B
1. ‘She’s Lost Control’
2. ‘Shadowplay’
3. ‘Wilderness’
4. ‘Interzone’
5. ‘I Remember Nothing’


Side A
1. ‘Atrocity Exhibition’
2. ‘Isolation’
3. ‘Passover’
4. ‘Colony’
5. ‘A Means to an End’

Side B
1. ‘Heart and Soul’
2. ‘Twenty Four Hours’
3. ‘The Eternal’
4. ‘Decades’

Still (2LP)

Side A
1. ‘Exercise One’
2. ‘Ice Age’
3. ‘The Sound of Music’
4. ‘Glass’
5. ‘The Only Mistake’

Side B
1. ‘Walked in Line’
2. ‘The Kill’
3. ‘Something Must Break’
4. ‘Dead Souls’
5. ‘Sister Ray’

Side C
1. ‘Ceremony’
2. ‘Shadowplay’
3. ‘Means to an End’
4. ‘Passover’
5. ‘New Dawn Fades’
6. ‘Twenty Four Hours’

Side D
1. ‘Transmission’
2. ‘Disorder’
3. ‘Isolation’
4. ‘Decades’
5. ‘Digital’

Substance (1CD and 2LP Track Listing)

1. ‘Warsaw’
2. ‘Leaders Of Men’
3. ‘Digital’
4. ‘Autosuggestion’
5. ‘Transmission’
6. ‘She’s Lost Control’
7. ‘Incubation’
8. ‘Dead Souls’
9. ‘Atmosphere’
10. ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’
11. ‘No Love Lost’
12. ‘Failures’
13. ‘Glass’
14. ‘From Safety To Where’
15. ‘Novelty’
16. ‘Komakino
17. ‘As You Said’
18. ‘These Days’
19. ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ (Pennine Version)


Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter

more from



Related Posts

Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman
Peter Hook to Orchestrate Joy Division In Australia

Former Joy Division/New Order founder Peter Hook will tour Australia with the Metropolitan Orchestra in August.

April 12, 2019
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman
Peter Hook To Send Joy Division Classical

Joy Division founder Peter Hook will perform the music of Joy Division with an orchestra in London in October.

September 26, 2018
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman
Peter Hook Adds Exclusive Album Show For Sydney

Peter Hook and The Light will perform the first two Joy Division albums from start to finish in a special one-off show for Sydney.

July 19, 2017
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman
Peter Hook Adds Second Melbourne Show

Peter Hook will before a second concert of Joy Division and New Order’s ‘Substance’ albums in Melbourne in October.

March 20, 2017
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros OGorman
Peter Hook To Perform Joy Division and New Order Albums In Australia

Peter Hook easily makes my Top 10 bets concerts of all-time. Last time he was in Australia he played a special show on a vacant block in Melbourne’s Southbank called Testing Grounds.

March 14, 2017
Peter Hook and the Light photo by Ros O'Gorman
Peter Hook To Tour Joy Division Albums

In 1987, Factory Records released the album Substance by New Order. Officially titled Substance 1987, the album compiled all of the band's hits in their 12-inch versions plus each single's b-side on a two-CD set. The album went to number 3 in the U.K. and 36 in the U.S., eventually gaining platinum status in both countries.

January 22, 2016
Joy Division Unknown Pleasures
Joy Division ‘Unknown Pleasures’ T-Shirt Named Greatest T-Shirt Of All Time

In his show today, Steve Lamacq announced that Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures has been named the winner of BBC Radio 6 Music’s favourite band t-shirt of all-time.

November 28, 2015