APRA Awards To Head To Brisbane - Noise11.com
Gotye, Wally De Backer, arriving at the APRA Awards, Ros O'Gorman, Photo

Gotye arriving at the APRA Awards, Photo By Ros O'Gorman

APRA Awards To Head To Brisbane

by Paul Cashmere on March 4, 2014

in News,Noise Pro

Brisbane, home of Australia’s biggest music conference BigSound, will host the APRA Awards in June.

The annual APRA Awards recognise and celebrate the success of songwriters, composers and publishers in all genres. The APRA Song of the Year is the only major peer voted award in Australia.

Winners of APRA Song of the Year include Gotye feat. Kimbra ‘Somebody That I Used To Know’ (2012), The Living End ‘White Noise’ (2009), Missy Higgins ‘Scar’ (2005) and John Butler Trio ‘Zebra’ (2004).

Brisbane has long been recognised as one of Australia’s major music cities. Brisbane is the home of Powderfinger, The Saints, The Bee Gees and Savage Garden.

“The calibre of songwriters from Brisbane and world-class industry events like BIGSOUND, make this city a leader in the Australian music industry. It is a perfect place to host our 32nd annual music awards,” said APRA AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle.

The APRA Music Awards will be held at the Brisbane Town Hall on June 23.

Stay updated with news on APRA Music Awards and other music news with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert.Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Follow Noise11.com on Facebook and Twitter

Related Posts

Tones and I
Tones and I Leads Nominations for 2020 Virtual APRA Awards

Tones and I has been nominated four times for the 2020 APRA Awards and this year they’ll be virtual.

April 7, 2020
Sarah Aarons
Sarah Aarons wins Four APRA Awards The Complete Winners List

Melbourne songwriter Sarah Aarons was the big winner at the 2019 APRA Awards. She has picked up the prestigious Songwriter of the Year award as well as Most Played Australia Work for ‘The Middle’ by Zed, Dance Work of the Year for ‘The Middle’ and Rock Work of the Year for ‘Never Ever’ with The Rubens.

April 30, 2019
Amy Shark
2019 APRA Awards nominees announced

The 2019 APRA Awards nominations have been announced with Song of the Year showcasing the diversity of Australian music over the past year.

March 27, 2019
Paul Kelly AWITG on Friday 17 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Paul Kelly Wins APRA Song of the Year, A.B. Original Is Songwriter of the Year

Paul Kelly ‘Firewood and Candles’ was won Song of the Year at the APRA Awards in Sydney beating out songs by Jessica Mauboy, Ainslie Wills, Amy Shark and Gang of Youths.

April 10, 2018
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Midnight Oil To Receive Ted Albert Award

APRA will recognise Midnight Oil’s cultural contribution by awarding the band the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music at the upcoming APRA Music Awards.

April 5, 2018
Amy Shark
APRA Song of the Year and Awards Finalists Revealed

Gang of Youths, Amy Shark, Paul Kelly, Jessica Mauboy and Ainslie Wills have songs shortlisted for the APRA Song of the Year for 2018.

March 15, 2018
Don Walker, Photo Ros O'Gorman
Watch Don Walkers Incredible APRA Speech And Living End Cover Chisel

Don Walker of Cold Chisel gave a gracious acceptance speech when Cold Chisel were awarded the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

April 9, 2016