ARCA’S 1982 Midnight Oil Live Tape Getting CD Release And Orders Are Now Open -

Rob Hirst and Frog of Songland Records

ARCA’S 1982 Midnight Oil Live Tape Getting CD Release And Orders Are Now Open

by on March 9, 2023

in News,Noise Pro

The Australian Road Crew Association (ARCA)’s desk tape release of Midnight Oil LIVE At The Old Lion Adelaide 1982 is getting a CD release in early May.

ARCA created the Desk Tape series to raise money for Support Act’s Roadies Fund to provide financial, health, counselling and well being services for roadies and crew in crisis.

The series were of tapes recorded by a crew member off the mixing desk from a live show.

So far the 33 releases on the series have been issued on all major streaming platforms through ARCA’s Black Box Records and MGM Distribution.

But the demand for a CD version has been so strong from fans ever since its streaming release in December 2022.

“It became a necessity,” explains ARCA co-founder Ian “Piggy” Peel.

“It’s one of our biggest streaming releases but Oils fans have made it clear they also want a CD version.”

Peel says Oils fans –aka Powderworkers – have recognised that LIVE At The Old Lion Adelaide 1982 has an important historical value for fans as well as the Australian music industry.

“It was recorded just as the iconic Australian band was starting to break into the big time.

“Many of the songs on it were seldom played after.

“They were at their peak as a live powerhouse, they were remarkable players and their powerful sound came right through on the recording. It is awesome.”

Coordinating the CD release of Midnight Oil LIVE At The Old Lion Adelaide 1982 was “Frog” Harris, owner of indie Canberra store Songland Records.

Harris, an industry veteran of over 40 years had worked with Midnight Oil’s Rob Hirst on some of his solo projects and, through those releases, the worldwide online Powderworkers Facebook group.

He says: “To make this project feasible for ARCA, I understandably needed to guarantee a certain amount of sales to ensure the success of the project.

“When I asked The Powderworkers if they wanted this to happen, the reaction was as expected-instantaneous, wildly enthusiastic and supportive of, not only their band, but how the proceeds would be going to help roadies who have kept The Oils, and hundreds of other bands on the road over decades of gruelling touring.”

This CD will be a once only pressing and can be ordered via [email protected] and all good record stores. Enjoy this incredibly rare piece of history.


1 Written In The Heart
2 Brave Faces
3 Armistice Day
4 I’m The Cure
5 Bus To Bondi
6 Quinella Holiday / Love’s On Sale
7 Some Kids
8 Burnie
9 Cold Cold Change
10 Powderworks
11 Koala Sprint
12 Back On The Borderline
13 Don’t Wanna Be The One
14 Wedding Cake Island
15 Stand In Line
16 No Reaction

Stay updated with your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Johnny Batchelor
Johnny Batchelor Continues Return To New Music With ‘Alright’

One month after releasing ‘Anemone’, former Dropbears frontman Johnny Batchelor has more new music with ‘Alright’.

6 hours ago
Jesus and Mary Chain, the Reid brothers
Jesus and Mary Chain Premiere ‘Silver Strings’ Video

Jesus and Mary Chain have premiered a video for ‘Silver Strings ahead of their Australian tour in August.

12 hours ago
Crowded House at the Forum photo by Ros O'Gorman
Crowded House Set New Gravity New Zealand and Australia Dates

Crowded House have a stack of New Zealand and Australia dates in support of the eighth album ‘Gravity Stairs’.

14 hours ago
Elton John at A Day On The Green at Rochford Winery on Sunday 1 October 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Elton John Has A New Album Set For Release

Sir Elton John's new album is just a few weeks away from being released.

2 days ago
Kylie Minogue Is Working With Producer Lostboy Again

Kylie Minogue is working with 'Padam Padam' producer Lostboy again.

2 days ago
Steve Kilbey of The Church - photo by Ros O'Gorman
The Church To Focus On First Four Albums For ‘Already Yesterday’ Tour

The Church will tour Australia in November and December performing a setlist mostly featuring songs from the first four albums.

4 days ago
D:A:D To Release 13th Album

Danish rock band D:A:D will release their 13th album ‘Speed of Darkness’ in October.

4 days ago