Grinspoon’s Pat Davern To Release Children’s Album And Book -
Pat Davern Elephant In Zanzibar, music news,

Pat Davern Elephant In Zanzibar

Grinspoon’s Pat Davern To Release Children’s Album And Book

by Paul Cashmere on October 16, 2015

in New Music,News

Grinspoon guitarist Pat Davern is going the way of The Wiggles with the release of a children’s book and album ‘Alexander The Elephant In Zanzibar’.

Pat collaborated on the book with his father, famed television writer James Davern O.B.E. The elder Davern was one of the writers of the hit TV series ‘A Country Practice’. “Pat asked if he could take the characters, write them into stories and set them to music. Of course, I was thrilled as now, the next generation can enjoy Alexander as much as the previous one.” James said.

“The main characters in this book came from childhood stories that Dad would make up and tell my daughter Francesca and the other grandkids. I realised these stories needed to be shared so I took the characters, put pen to paper and got to writing the book and the music.” Pat Davern recalls.

The album will feature many of Pat’s famous friends Megan Washington, Pete Murray, Tom Williams, Alex Lloyd, Connie Mitchell of Sneaky Sound System, and Kingswood.

The original musical score has been composed by Pat Davern. Pat also lends his voice to the stories’ narration.

And let’s not forget, pre-Wiggles, the members were Sydney rock band The Cockroaches.

Alexander The Elephant In Zanzibar tracklisting

1. Alexanders Theme – Feat. Pete Murray
2. Narration Pt.1
3. Red Ant Sandwiches – Feat. Alex Lloyd
4. Narration Pt.2
5. Pedro The Parrot – Feat. Connie Mitchell
6. Narration Pt.3
7. Zanzibar – Feat. Megan Washington
8. Narration Pt.4
9. What’s Going On In The Forest – Feat. Alex Lloyd/Megan Washington
10. Narration Pt.5
11. We Are The Loggers – Feat. Fergus Linacre/Alex Laska (Kingswood)
12. Narration Pt.6
13. Quick As A Flash – Feat. Connie Mitchell
14. Narration Pt.7
15. Alexander Can Run – Feat. Megan Washington
16. Narration Pt.8
17. On The Count Of Three – Feat. Alex Lloyd/Megan Washington
18. Narration Pt.9
19. Clever Uncle Gerald – Feat. Tom Williams
20. Narration Pt.10
21. A Plan Is Hatched – Feat. Alex Lloyd/Megan Washington
22. Narration Pt.11
23. The Truck Is Beginning To Roll – Feat. Alex Lloyd/Megan Washington
24. Narration Pt.12
25. We saved The Forest – Feat. Alex Lloyd/Megan Washington/ Connie Mitchell/ Tom Williams
26. Narration Pt.13
27. Alexanders Theme (Reprise) – Feat. Pete Murray


Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter



Related Posts

Alex Lloyd Black the Sun
Alex Lloyd to Celebrate 20 Years Since Debut with Black The Sun 2019 Dates

Alex Lloyd’s debut solo album Black The Sun was released on 5 July, 1999. Exactly 20 years to the day Alex has announced anniversary dates to celebrate his first Top 10 success.

July 5, 2019
Icehouse, Stone Music Festival, Noise11, Ros O'Gorman, Photo
Alex Lloyd To Join Icehouse Tour

Alex Lloyd has been announced as the special guest for Icehouse’s upcoming shows in Newcastle, Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra in 2016.

October 7, 2015
Alex Lloyd Coming Home For Richmond
Alex Lloyd Sings For Richmond Football Club

Alex Lloyd has reconstructed his song ‘Coming Home’ as ‘Coming Home (To Richmond)’ for the Richmond Football Club in Melbourne.

February 27, 2014
Aaron Chugg, Noise11, Photo
Aaron Chugg Farewell Planned For Sydney On Tuesday

The Australian music industry is planning a Sydney-sized farewell for Aaron Chugg, who died on March 18 from complications from a stroke he had while tour managing The Stone Roses.

March 27, 2013
Aaron Chugg, Noise11, photo
Tour Manager Aaron Chugg Dies Following Stroke

Aussie tour manager Aaron Chugg has passed away after suffering from a stroke while tour managing for The Stone Roses at the Future Music Festival last week.

March 19, 2013
Alex Lloyd. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Alex Lloyd Nominated For Screen Music Award

Alex Lloyd has been nominated for a Screen Music Award for his song ‘Won’t Look Back’ from Mad Bastards.

October 18, 2011