Rick Springfield Lost Album ‘Springfield’ To Be Released After 40 Years - Noise11.com
Rick Springfield 'Springfield'

Rick Springfield 'Springfield'

Rick Springfield Lost Album ‘Springfield’ To Be Released After 40 Years

by Paul Cashmere on May 4, 2023

in News

Rick Springfield’s aborted 1970’s album ‘Springfield’ will finally be released on May 12, 2023.

Rick Springfield had his first hit in America with ‘Speak To The Sky’. His next album ‘Comic Book Heroes’ was originally released by Capitol Records in America but withdrawn because of legal issues and then reissued by Columbia. Columbia then worked on a follow-up. The single ‘America Girls’ was released but only reached no 98 on the US chart and 74 in Canada. It was the lead single off what would have been the ‘Springfield’ album but when the single failed and the label was presented with a “glam rock” album they shelved it.

The album was also going to include Rick’s solo version of the prog-rock cover of The Beatles’ ‘Eleanor Rigby’ he had earlier done with Zoot in Australia.

Rick’s producers for ‘Springfield’ were Hand Medress and Dave Appel, who had worked with Tony Orlando and Melissa Manchester.

The ‘Springfield’ album will feature ‘Live at Northwest Speedway, Post Falls, Idaho, 1974’ and Rick’s silly non-hit of 1974 ‘Streaking The Australian Way’.

Rick Springfield, Springfield (Iconoclassic ICON 1062, 2023)

1. Trash *
2. Call The Fire Brigade *
3. Eleanor Rigby
4. Child Within
5. Beethoven Street *
6. Sukaya *
7. Sweet Teezer *
8. Pearly And Me *
9. American Girls
10. Elektra *

Bonus Single
11. Streakin’ Across The U.S.A.
12. Music To Streak By

Live at Northwest Speedway, Post Falls, Idaho, 1974
13. Wolfman Jack Introduction *
14. Music To Streak By *
15. Trash *
16. Call The Fire Brigade *
17. Sukaya *
18. Eleanor Rigby *
19. American Girls *
20. Elektra *
21. Beethoven Street *

(*) previously unreleased

• Rick Springfield – Guitar, Piano, Vocals
• Peter Leinheiser aka Peter Lyon – Guitar, Background Vocals
• Gabriel Katona – Keyboards, Saxophone, Background Vocals
• Les Smith – Bass, Background Vocals
• Eddie Rodriguez – Drums, Background Vocals

• Jimmie Haskell – String arrangements

From the label:

Rick Springfield seemed to be on a fast track to stardom by 1974. He had it all: a batch of well-crafted commercially viable songs, a great voice, muscular musicianship and striking good looks. After scoring with 1972’s “Speak to the Sky” single, he assembled his first solo band and hit the road in pursuit of his dreams. “It was a hedonistic couple of months of rock and roll and partying and no parents,” remembers Springfield. “Songs came out of all that fire and sexual angst of being 25 and being on your own.”

But when Rick delivered his completed Springfield album to Columbia Records, the label balked. Its hard rock sound and suggestive lyrics flew in the face of the pink and perky bubblegum sound they expected. In early ’75, the Springfieldalbum was officially shelved.

For almost 50 years, Springfield has sat in the vaults…until now. Remastered from the original tapes and expanded with unheard live performances of its material, Springfield finally takes its rightful place in Rick’s catalog.

Expanded Edition Remastered CD with Bonus Tracks | ICON 1062
• Previously unreleased vintage Rick Springfield studio album!
• Plus rare single sides for first time on CD worldwide
• Unheard bonus live versions of 8 of the album tracks, introduced by the legendary Wolfman Jack
• 16 of 21 tracks previously unissued
• 20-page full color booklet includes unseen photos and memorabilia
• 5000-word liner notes essay by Ken Sharp includes new commentary from Rick Springfield plus the contributing musicians and his then-manager, and full track by track discussion
• Digitally remastered from the original master tapes by Vic Anesini
• Street Date: May 12, 2023

Related Posts

Buzzcocks To Tour Australia in October

Buzzcocks will return to Australia for dates in October and November.

2 days ago
John Lennon Mind Games EP
John Lennon ‘Mind Games’ EP To Be Released Ahead of Box Set

The Estate of John Lennon will preview the upcoming ‘Mind Games’ box set with a 4 track 12” EP to be released for Record Store Day 2024.

2 days ago
AC/DC To Release Gold Disc Editions Of American (Not Australian) Versions of Classic Albums

AC/DC will release nine Gold disc editions of their classic albums to mark the 50th anniversary of the first gig of the band in Australia but for some weird reason it is the US editions of the albums, not the Australia editions.

4 days ago
Engelbert Humperdinck performs at the Palais Theatre in St Kilda on Thursday 29 October 2015. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Engelbert Humperdinck Has The Hot Ticket of 2024

If Taylor Swift fans are called Swifties, what are Engelbert Humperdinck fans called? Humpers?

4 days ago
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Peter Garrett Spans 46 Years With Solo Setlist

Peter Garrett has played two solo shows so far in 2024 with a fairly even divide between the solo songs and his Midnight Oil catalogue.

4 days ago
Alice Cooper photo by Ros O'Gorman
Alice Cooper Announces UK Tour With Glen Matlock and Primal Scream

Alice Cooper is touring the UK this October with Primal Scream and Sex Pistol Glen Matlock.

5 days ago
Rich Kids
Glen Matlock’s Post Pistols Band Rich Kids Was The Group That Never Took Off

After Sex Pistols broke up, Glen Matlock formed a new group Rich Kids with Midge Ure pre-Ultravox on vocals but the band never kicked in, was short lived and broke up after one album.

5 days ago