Greg Dulli of Afghan Whigs To Release Second Solo Album -
Greg Dulli (pic by Maciek Jasik)

Greg Dulli (pic by Maciek Jasik)

Greg Dulli of Afghan Whigs To Release Second Solo Album

by Tim Cashmere on December 4, 2019

in News

Afghan Whigs frontman Greg Dulli has revealed he has been working on a solo album due to hit your ears in February.

The album – called Random Desire – was born out of necessity. After the last Whigs album In Spades, drummer Patrick Keeler took time to tour with The Raconteurs, bassist John Curly wanted to return to study and guitarist Dave Rosser tragically passed away from colon cancer. This unfortunate series of events sent Dulli back to the bedroom, taking full responsibility for putting the rock orchestra in his head onto a recording.

Recorded at his home in Silverlake with stints in San Bernadino and New Orleans, Dulli recorded much of what you hear himself. Not content with his own talents, however, he also enlisted help from current Afghan Whigs’ guitarist Jon Skibic, multi-instrumentalist Rick G. Nelson, producer and jack-of-all-trades Mathias Schneeberger (Twilight Singers, Brant Bjork and the Bros), actual physician Dr. Stephen Patt on upright bass and pedal steel, and drummer Jon Theodore (QOTSA, The Mars Volta).

Random Desire will be Dulli’s second solo album. His first, Amber Headlights, was released in 2005.

The band has announced a string of European dates in support of the album, which you can see down below.

Random Desire will be released on February 21, but you can hear the first single here:

Random Desire Track listing

1 Pantomima
2 Sempre
3 Marry Me
4 The Tide
5 Scorpio
6 It Falls Apart
7 A Ghost
8 Lockless
9 Black Moon
10 Slow Pan

Greg Dulli European Tour, 2020

19 – Róisín Dubh, Galway, IRELAND
20 – Whelans, Dublin, IRELAND
22 – SWG3 Warehouse, Glasgow, UK
23 – Gorilla, Manchester, UK
24 – Islington Assembly Hall, London, UK
26 – Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS
27 – Muziekodroom, Hasselt, BELGIUM
28 – Trix – Antwerp, BELGIUM
30 – Luxor – Cologne, GERMANY
31 – Lido – Berlin, GERMANY

02 – Hotel Cecil, Copenhagen, DENMARK
03 – Debaser Strand, Stockholm, SWEDEN
04 – Parkteatret, Oslo, NORWAY

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

You Me At Six photo by Daniel Harris
You Me At Six Set To Release Seventh

You Me At Six have released their seventh album ‘Suckapunch’.

3 days ago
Justin Timberlake - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Justin Timberlake To Play For President Biden

Justin Timberlake and Demi Lovato will help to celebrate Joe Biden's inauguration as the 46th President of the United States during a star-studded TV special.

3 days ago
Shakira Sells Music Catalogue

Shakira has sold her music publishing catalogue to Hipgnosis Songs.

4 days ago
Queen + Adam Lambert, Melbourne 2014. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Adam Lambert Plots Birthday Shows In LA

Queen singer Adam Lambert is planning to celebrate his 39th birthday with a virtual gig at the Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles.

4 days ago
Demi Lovato. music news,
Demi Lovato To Talk About Drug Overdose In New Doco

Demi Lovato is finally ready to lay bare her soul and reflect on the drug overdose which almost claimed her life in her candid new YouTube documentary series.

4 days ago
Azealia Banks, Future Music, Ros O'Gorman, Photo
Azealia Banks Shocks Fans With Vile Pet Abuse Video

Azealia Banks has become a trending topic on Twitter after posting videos of herself boiling her dead cat.

5 days ago
Catherine Britt Home Truths
Catherine Britt Goes Full Tilt Indie With ‘Home Truths’

Australian Country star Catherine Britt will release new music for 2021 on Friday 15 January. Here new album is ‘Home Truths’.

5 days ago