J.D. Souther’s Asylum And Warner Bros Catalogue To Be Reissued On Vinyl - Noise11.com
JD Souther John David Souther

JD Souther John David Souther

J.D. Souther’s Asylum And Warner Bros Catalogue To Be Reissued On Vinyl

by Paul Cashmere on June 28, 2018

in News

J.D. Souther’s first two albums for Asylum and his forth album for Warner Bros will be reissued on Vinyl in September.

As the musician’s songwriter, Souther found his career generating iconic songs for Linda Ronstadt, Eagles and Jackson Browne even though few knew the songs they thought were originals by those acts are actually J.D. Souther covers.

J.D. Souther’s first album ‘John David Souther’ from 1972 featured ‘How Long’, a song that would not become better known until decades later by Eagles on their ‘Long Road Out Of Eden’ album in 2007. The Souther album failed to make the Top 200 in the USA while Eagles had a number one record.

1976’s ‘Black Rose’ featured ‘Simple Man, Simple Dream’. The album got as high as number 85 in the USA but the following year Linda Ronstadt had a number one album with it as the title track.

Souther did manage one hit record on his own. ‘You’re Only Lonely’ was a Top 10 record in America. It was off the third album ‘You’re Only Lonely’ on Columbia so therefore not included in these reissues.

J.D. return to the Warner stable for ‘Home By Dawn’ on Warner Bros in 1984. By this stage he was the least famous person in the room for the recording featuring Don Henley and Timothy B. Schmit of Eagles, David Hungate of Toto and Linda Ronstadt.

J.D. Souther’s albums will be reissued on vinyl through Omnivore Recordings on September 21.

John David Souther track listing:
Side One:
1. The Fast One
2. Run Like A Thief
3. Jesus In 3/4 Time
4. Kite Woman
5. Some People Call It Music
Side Two:
1. White Wing
2. It’s The Same
3. How Long
4. Out To Sea
5. Lullaby

Black Rose Track Listing:
Side One:
1. Banging My Head Against The Moon
2. If You Have Crying Eyes
3. Your Turn Now
4. Faithless Love
5. Baby Come Home
Side Two:
1. Simple Man, Simple Dream
2. Silver Blue
3. Midnight Prowl
4. Doors Swing Open
5. Black Rose

Home By Dawn Track Listing:
Side One:
1. Home By Dawn
2. Go Ahead And Rain
3. Say You Will
4. I’ll Take Care
5. All For You
Side Two
1. Night
2. Don’t Know What I’m Gonna Do
3. Bad News
4. All I Want

For news as it happens follow Noise11 on Facebook


Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio



Related Posts

James Taylor American Standard
James Taylor To Release American Standard Album

James Taylor’s 19th studio album is a collection of 14 American standards titled ‘American Standard’.

12 hours ago
Gordon Lightfoot
Gordon Lightfoot To Release His First Album In 16 Years

81-year old Canadian music legend Gordon Lightfoot will release ‘Solo’, his first album in 16 years in March.

17 hours ago
NeilYoung at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl by Ros O'Gorman
Neil Young Has Become A US Citizen

Neil Young has finally been granted US citizenship.

1 day ago
Rod Stewart - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Rod Stewart Pleads Not Guilty To Battery Charges

Rod Stewart and his son Sean have pleaded not guilty to battery charges relating to an alleged bust-up with a hotel security guard on New Year's Eve.

2 days ago
Joey Kramer with Aerosmith photo by Ros OGorman
Judge Denies Joey Kramer The Right To Perform With Aerosmith At The Grammy Awards

Joey Kramer's has been denied the right to perform with his band Aerosmith at the Grammy Awards this weekend.

3 days ago
Terry Jones as Brian's mother in The Life of Brian
Monty Python’s Terry Jones Has Passed Away At Age 77

Terry Jones, one of Monty Python’s creators, has passed away at age 77. Jones was diagnosed with FTD, a form of dementia four years ago.

3 days ago
Joey Kramer with Aerosmith photo by Ros OGorman
Joey Kramer Sues Aerosmith

Aerosmith drummer and co-founder Joey Kramer is suing his band Aerosmith for preventing him from performing with the band.

4 days ago