The Black Sorrows Give You A Second Taste of ‘Citizen John’ - Noise11.com
Joe Camilleri Black Sorrows

Joe Camilleri of the Black Sorrows

The Black Sorrows Give You A Second Taste of ‘Citizen John’

by Paul Cashmere on February 7, 2019

in News

The Black Sorrows have released a second taste of their upcoming 20th album ‘Citizen John’.

“I’m on my 49th album. 21st with the Black Sorrows,” says Joe Camilleri. “So there’s a lot of sins I got to repent.”

‘Wednesday’s Child’ is ‘Citizen John’s opening track.

Joe Camilleri is proud of the relevancy the band has today. “I’m not a heritage act. I’ve never been a heritage act. I’ve always been a constant player. The Sorrows continue to thrive and grow not because we’re an ‘80s band, or a ‘90s band, or any other kind of band,” he says.

“We exist because of the now. Just treat me like a new act,” he says. “It’s just that this one’s got a very old face.”

The first song we heard from ‘Citizen John’ was Joe Camilleri’s cover of Bob Dylan’s ‘Silvio’.

Citizen John Album
The Black Sorrows
Out Friday 29 March 2019 through Bloodlines
Deluxe Edition with bonus live tracks available for a limited time only

Citizen John tracklist:
1. Wednesday’s Child
2. Brother Moses Sister Mae
3. Lazy Slide Guitar
4. Way Below The Heavens
5. Worlds Away
6. Wild Times
7. Messiah
8. Storm The Bastille
9. Play It Sentimental
10. Citizen John
11. Silvio
12. Lover I Surrender
13. Wednesday’s Child (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
14. Do I Move You (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
15. Silvio (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
16. Lover I Surrender (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
17. Way Below The Heavens (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
18. Down Home Girl (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
19. Brother Moses Sister Mae (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
20. Citizen John (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)
21. The Honeydripper (Live) – Bonus Track (Deluxe Edition only)

AUSTRALIAN TOUR DATES:

Friday 15 February
Bay Central Tavern | Hervey Bay, QLD

Saturday 16 February
Anges Waters Blues & Roots Festival | Anges Waters, QLD

Thursday 21 February
Garden Of Unearthly Delights | Adelaide, SA

Friday 22 February
Old Mill Inn | Hahndorf, SA

Saturday 23 February
Coopers Inn | Wallaroo, SA

Sunday 24 February
Blues Brews And BBQ | Hobart, TAS

Sunday 17 March
By The C at Leura Park Estate | Geelong, VIC

Sunday 17 March
John Power Memorial Concert at Memo Music Hall | St Kilda, VIC

Friday 22 March
The Star Hotel | Gundagai, NSW

Saturday 23 March
Rewind In The Vines | Griffith, NSW

Friday 29 March
The Palms At Crown | Melbourne, VIC

Sunday 31 March
Royal Hotel | Meredith, VIC

Friday 5 April
Mandurah Performing Arts Centre | Mandurah, WA

Saturday 6 April
Bridgetown Hotel | Bridgetown, WA

Sunday 7 April
By The C | Cottesloe Beach, WA

Thursday 11 April
Camelot Lounge | Marrickville, NSW

Friday 12 April
Dee Why RSL | Dee Why, NSW

Saturday 13 April
Belmont 16s | Belmont, NSW

Sunday 14 April
By The C | Wollongong, NSW

Thursday 18 April
Byron Bay Bluesfest | Tyagarah, NSW

EUROPEAN TOUR DATES:

Thursday 25 April
PizzaExpress Live | Maidstone, UK

Friday 26 April
Nell’s Jazz & Blues | London, UK

Saturday 27 April
Nidaros Blues Festival | Trondheim, Norway

Tuesday 30 April
på Hjörnet | Nesbyen, Norway

Wednesday 1 May
John DEE | Oslo, Norway

Thursday 2 May
Folk & Rock | Malmo, Sweden

Friday 3 May
Bryggerhuset | Halden, Norward

Saturday 4 May
Portalen | Copenhagen, Denmark

Follow Noise11 on Twitter for news as it happens

For news as it happens follow Noise11 on Facebook

Noise11.com

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Comments

comments

Related Posts

Cold Chisel photo by Ros O'Gorman
Cold Chisel Resume Work

Cold Chisel are back together with another album in the planning stages.

10 hours ago
Ronnie Wood, photo by Ros O'Gorman, the rollings stones melbourne 2014
The Rolling Stones Play Second Chicago Show with Monkey Man in the Setlist

The Rolling Stones second Chicago show setlist had a seven song change-over from the first event last Friday night. Of the new additions, ‘Monkey Man’ and ‘Play With Fire’ got a run.

1 day ago
Joe Walsh. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
What Are Joe Walsh and Brian Johnstone up to together?

Brian Johnson of AC/DC and Joe Walsh of the Eagles are making music together. We just don’t know what.

1 day ago
Michael Jackson, Noise11, Photo, music news
Michael Jackson 10th Anniversary Marked by Fans

Representatives from Michael Jackson's estate have paid tribute to the late King of Pop on the 10th anniversary of his death.

2 days ago
John Farnham One Electric Day Sunday 26 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
John Farnham Exhibition Launched by National Film and Sound Archive of Australia

John Farnham will turn 70 on 1 July. As a “Happy Birthday to him”, the National Film and Sound Archive has put together an online exhibition to celebrate the occasion.

2 days ago
Michael Jackson Thriller vinyl
Michael Jackson Died 10 Years Ago Today (June 25)

Today, June 25 2019, marks the 10th anniversary of the death of Michael Jackson.

2 days ago
Elton John by Ros O'Gorman
Elton John Granted French Honor

Elton John urged world leaders to dig deeper to fund AIDS research as he collected France's highest civilian honour on Friday.

5 days ago