Music Conference Indie-Con Australia To Debut In Adelaide in July -
Jen Cloher

Jen Cloher

Music Conference Indie-Con Australia To Debut In Adelaide in July

by on June 27, 2017

in News

Indie-Con, a music conference offering insights into the latest innovations and technological advancements in products, services and strategies available to the independent music sector, will debut in Australia in Adelaide in July.

Notable speakers for the inaugural event include Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars/Future of What), Richard James Burgess (A2IM), Paul Pacifico (AIM), George Howard (Berklee/Forbes), Amy Dietz (InGrooves), Merida Sussex (Stolen Recordings/Paradse Motel) Jen Cloher (Milk Records) and Briggs (Bad Apples/A.B. Original), with Sebastian Chase (MGM) offering the Opening Keynote.

Indie-Con has been confirmed to be held for the next three years with support from the South Australian government.

Conference programmer Stu Watters comments “Indie-Con Australia will feature unrivalled networking opportunities, workshops, panels, presentations and interviews with key industry players. One of the things that makes the independent sector truly appealing is that the business models are all quite diverse and they don’t fit a mould, they are cutting their own track along the way and this conference is all about sharing those stories.

The event will coincide with the AIR Awards first South Australian event after leaving Melbourne.

AIR members will receive invitations to attend Indie-Con Australia, with a limited number of tickets available for sale to non-members from July 6th, 2017 via – book early to avoid disappointment!

AIR has also partnered with The Appointment Group and Peppers Waymouth (Mantra) giving guests and attendees the opportunity to take advantage of discounted travel offers directly with the Appointment Group. For more on this email: [email protected]

2017 INDIE-CON AUSTRALIA SPEAKERS: Sebastian Chase (MGM), Portia Sabin (Kill Rock Stars/Future of What), Richard James Burgess (A2IM), Paul Pacifico (AIM), George Howard (Berklee/Forbes), Mishal Varma (Know What’s Loved), Amy Dietz (InGrooves), Joanna Syme (Pieater/Hotel Motel Records), Joe Alexander (Bedroom Suck), Jane Slingo (Young Strangers), Matt Rogers (UNFD), Matt Bird (Whitesky), Ashley Gay (Xelon), Tom Harris (Whitesky), Henry Compton (The Orchard), Karl Richter (Level 2/Disco), Kate Mills (Native Tongue), Tyler McLoughlin (The Soundpound), Ben Godding (AWAL/Kobalt), Jay Mogis (QUT/Nightlife), Lynne Small (PPCA), John Ferris (TMRW), Andy Hayden (Poison City Records), Nick O’Byrne (Lookout Kid), Katie Besgrove (Barley Dressed Records), Jen Cloher (Milk Records), Briggs (Bad Apples/A.B.Original), Susan Cotchin (IRR Music), Chris Maund (Liberation), Tim Kelly (Inertia), Merida Sussex (Stolen Recordings/Paradse Motel), Natalie Waller (ABC), James Limon (ABC), Maya Janeska (UNFD), Ben Martin (Golden Era Records) and more.

Follow AIR and join the conversation:

Related Posts

Warren Costello on Rockwiz
Warren Costello Receives Posthumous AIR Awards

Australian Record executive Warren Costello, the co-founder of Liberation Records who passed away on 30 May, has been honored with a posthumous award at the 2022 AIR Awards in Adelaide.

August 5, 2022
APIA Good Times Tour 2019 Vika and Linda photo by Mary Boukouvalas
AIR Awards Reveals 2021 Winners

DMA’s, Emma Donovan, Katie Noonan, Vika & Linda and Gordi are just a few of the AIR Award winners for 2021.

August 6, 2021
Casey Barnes
The 2021 AIR Awards Nominees List Is In

The 2021 AIR Awards nominees list has been revealed.

June 2, 2021
The Teskey Brothers
2020 Air Awards Nominees Announced

AIR is thrilled to return to the UNESCO City of Music this October for its annual AIR Awards and Indie-Con Australia Conference.

July 7, 2020
Alex Lahey
AIR Awards Reveals The Class of 2018 Nominees

Alex Lahey, Baker Boy, Jen Cloher, Stella Donnelly and The Jungle Giants are the nominees for Best Independent Artist for the 2018 AIR Awards.

April 17, 2018
A.B. Original winner of The 12th AMP held in Melbourne at the Toff in Town on Thursday 9 March 2017. Photo Ros OGorman
A.B. Original Cleans Up At 2017 AIR Awards

Briggs and Trials A.B. Original project has picked up five awards at the 2017 AIR Awards.

July 27, 2017
One Electric Day at Werribee Mansion on Sunday 27 November 2016 with Russell Morris, Icehouse, James Reyne, Jimmy Barnes.
AIR Shortlist Best Independent Labels For 2017

AIR have revealed the nominees for the Best Indepent Label at the upcoming AIR Awards in Adelaide.

July 19, 2017