Alice Cooper Reveals Mae West Put The Hard Word On Him But Keith Moon Went Through With It -
Alice Cooper, Noise11, Photo

Alice Cooper photo by Ros O'Gorman

Alice Cooper Reveals Mae West Put The Hard Word On Him But Keith Moon Went Through With It

by Paul Cashmere on February 23, 2021

in News

Alice Cooper has revealed to Noise11 that Mae West once asked him to “come up and see her sometime” but he rejected her offer. However, Keith Moon went through with it.

Alice Cooper and Keith Moon starred with the Vaudeville legend in the 1977 movie ‘Sextet’.

“Mae West and I did this movie called ‘Sextet’,” Alice Cooper tells “She did this play in 1925 and was put in jail for it. It was too racy. When she got to jail it was all painted pink, they had a double bed in there. I think she spent one night in jail. So now she wants to redo it and the cast is Ringo (Starr), Keith Moon, Alice Cooper, (Timothy) Dalton the guy who played James Bond, and I played an Italian waiter who does a song with her. We are all having lunch one day and I said ‘guys, this is weird. I got done with the song and she whispered in my ear “why don’t you come on back to my trailer”. And I’m going ‘well, because you’re 86 and I’m not sure if you’re a woman’. She said ‘oh I’m all woman’. Everybody said ‘she came onto me too’. We all went around the table and it got to Keith Moon and we all looked at him and went ‘no’. And he says ‘well, how many chances do you get to be with Mae West’.

When Alice started performing his shock horror show in the 70s, some of Vaudeville’s biggest stars would come and see him. “That’s how Groucho Marx saw the show. Groucho Marx would bring Fred Astaire, Mae West, Jack Benny, all these great Vaudeville artists would come to see our show,” Alice says. ‘They would go ‘oh yeah, I get it’. They were not thrown off by the shock value of it because when they saw the guillotine, the snake, those were all Vaudeville bits. Except we put them in Rock and Roll and it was a new form of Vaudeville. Now when Salvador Dali saw the show he saw it as surrealism. He’d say ‘Oh Alice Cooper, he is like a Dali painting. It is absurd and it comes to life’. It depended on who you were and how you saw the show. Some people saw it as a horror show, some people saw it as comedy, some people saw it as hard rock. I wanted that show to be fairly indefinable. You really couldn’t put it in a box’.

Alice Cooper’s new album Detroit Stories is out 26 February 2021.

1. Rock & Roll
2. Go Man Go (Album Version)
3. Our Love Will Change The World
4. Social Debris
5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
6. Hail Mary
7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
8. Drunk And In Love
9. Independence Dave
10. I Hate You
11. Wonderful World
12. Sister Anne (Album Version)
13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don’t Give Up)
14. Shut Up And Rock
15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

Ned Beatty as Otis in Superman
Veteran Actor Ned Beatty Dies At Age 83

Ned Beatty graced Hollywood screens for almost 50 years. He has died of natural causes at age 82.

13 hours ago
Robby Krieger of The Doors Melbourne 2005 photo by Ros O'Gorman
The Doors Recruited Elvis Bass Player For ‘L.A. Woman’

The Doors never had a bass player. Ray Manzerek used to play all of the bass parts on his keyboard. But when it came time to record the iconic ‘L.A. Woman’ album, producer Bruce Botnick recruited Elvis Presley’s bass player Jerry Scheff for the sessions.

13 hours ago
Jackson Browne performs at the Palais Theatre in St Kilda on Friday 1 April 2016.
Jackson Browne To Release ‘Downhill From Everywhere’ 50 Years After His Debut Album

Jackson Browne’s self-titled debut album was released in January 1972. His next album ‘Downhill From Everywhere’, due 27 July 2021, will be released 49 years and seven months after that first record.

14 hours ago
George Harrison
Massive George Harrison ‘All Things Must Pass’ Reissue Is On The Way

George Harrison’s masterpiece ‘All Things Muss Pass’ was released on 27 November 1970. It turned 50 last November. On 6 August 2021, a massive expansion featuring 8LPs and 5CDs will be released to mark the 50th anniversary.

4 days ago
Angus Young AC/DC performing at Etihad Stadium in Melbourne on Sunday 6 December 2015. They are in Australia on the final leg of their Rock Or Bust World Tour. photo by Ros O'Gorman
AC/DC Regroup Digitally For ‘Witch’s Spell’ Video

With AC/DC members living all over the world and unable to gather in the same room during the pandemic, technology has once again brought them together in the ‘Witch’s Spell’ video.

5 days ago
Lynyrd Skynyrd photo by Doltyn Snedden
Lynyrd Skynyd Discusses Returning To Work To Farewell Fans

Lynyrd Skynyrd were on their farewell tour when Covid hit and the tour came to a halt.

5 days ago
Lindsey Buckingham, Fleetwood Mac. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Lindsey Buckingham To Release First Solo Album In A Decade. Listen to ‘I Don’t Mind’

Lindsey Buckingham has been locked down working on his first solo album in a decade. ‘Lindsey Buckingham’ will be released in September.

6 days ago