Gordi To Play Europe, Australia Then North America - Noise11.com
Gordi Reservoir

Gordi To Play Europe, Australia Then North America

by Noise11.com on June 16, 2017

in News

Sophie Payten from the NSW town of Canowindra is currently on tour in the Europe before heading to the USA, then back to Australia then back to North America.

Gordi grew up on a diet of Paul Kelly and Carole King. Bon Iver heard her and invited her to sing backing vocals when they appeared on the Jimmy Fallon Show.

She will release her debut album ‘Reservoir’ in August. “Writing music has always been and will remain my therapy, my process and my way of communicating,” she explains. “I don’t write songs by someone else’s prescription, I write to fill my own need. I get this tightness in my chest, and nothing will make it go away other than trying to write lyrics or sitting down at a piano and playing it, and it’s like a medicine. If I have a good session of that, then that tightness and that weight just totally lifts. It just centres me, and gets the things that are riddled through my mind out on paper. And then I can leave them there.”

GORDI – TOUR DATES

Mon 12 Jun | St Pancras Old Church, London, UK SOLD OUT
Thu 15 Jun | Bergenfest, Bergen, NO
Tue 20 Jun | Annie O Music Series @ The Standard, NY
Wed 21 Jun | The Bishop, Bloomington, IN
Sat 24 Jun | Doug Fir Lounge, Portland (w/ Pickwick), OR
Tue 27 Jun | Hotel Café, Los Angeles, CA
Thu 6 Jul | Giant Dwarf Theatre, Sydney AU (18+)
Fri 7 Jul | Thousand Pound Bend, Melbourne, AU (18+)
Fri 21 Jul | Enmore Theatre, Sydney (w/ Asgeir) (Licen. All Ages)
Mon 24 Jul | The Forum, Melbourne (w/ Asgeir) (18+)
Tue 25 Jul | Astor Theatre, Perth (w/ Asgeir) (18+)
Sat 5 Aug | Osheaga Festival, Montreal, Canada
Sun 6 Aug | The Drake, Toronto, Canada
Mon 7 Aug | Great Scott, Allston, MA
Wed 9 Aug | Baby’s All Right, NY
Thu 10 Aug | Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia, PA
Fri 11 Aug | Songbyrd, Washington, DC
Sat 12 Aug | Schubas, Chicago, IL
Mon 14 Aug | Barboza, Seattle, WA
Tue 15 Aug | Café du Nord, San Francisco, CA
Thu 17 Aug | Resident, Los Angeles, CA
Thu 2 Nov | Iceland Airwaves, Reykjavik, REK
Mon 6 Nov | Omeara, London, UK

Noise11.com

Comments

comments

Related Posts

Bruce Springsteen and Max Weinberg at AAMI Park on Thursday 2 February 2017. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Bruce Springsteen ’41 Shots’ To George Floyd

Bruce Springsteen shared a powerful tribute to George Floyd during the latest episode of his weekly radio show.

1 day ago
Jay-Z - Photo By Ros O'Gorman
Jay-Z To Take Out Full Page Ad For George Floyd

JAY-Z and his associates at Roc Nation have spent a fortune honouring tragic Black Lives Matter icon George Floyd in a series of full-page U.S. newspaper ads.

3 days ago
Lorde, Photo By Serena Ho
Lorde Sends Support To The USA

Lorde has assured fans in an email that she is taking "true action" to help support the Black Lives Matter movement.

5 days ago
Harry Styles One Direction Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Harry Styles Donating Post Bail Funds To US Protest Organisers

Harry Styles is donating post bail funds to arrested protest organisers as a means of calling for justice following the death of George Floyd.

6 days ago
Lady Gaga - Photo By Ros O'Gorman images noise11.com
Lady Gaga Drops Album Party Because of American Violence

Lady Gaga pulled the plug on a planned virtual album playback party on Friday because the violence in Minnesota had left her raw and emotional.

6 days ago
Taylor Swift, Etihad, Ros O'Gorman, Photo
Taylor Swift Supports US Protestors

Taylor Swift has condemned U.S. leader Donald Trump for threatening violence in the wake of anti-police brutality protests in Minnesota.

7 days ago
Australian Albums: The 1975 ‘Notes on a Conditional Form’ Debuts At No 1

The fourth studio album for English group The 1975 called "Notes on a Conditional Form" becomes their second No.1 on the ARIA Albums Charts this week.

7 days ago