Split Enz ‘True Colours’ Expanded and Reissued To Mark 40th Anniversary - Noise11.com
Split Enz True Colours

Split Enz ‘True Colours’ Expanded and Reissued To Mark 40th Anniversary

by Paul Cashmere on July 31, 2020

in News

Split Enz ‘True Colours’ is back with extra tracks, marking the 40th anniversary of its release in 1980.

‘True Colours’ came out on 25 January, 1980. It was the fifth album for Split Enz.

‘True Colours’ was the album when 21-year old Neil Finn excelled in the band. His song ‘I Got You’ became a number one hit in Australia and ‘True Colours’ a number one album as a result of the momentum.

Another single and hit song from the album was ‘I Hope I Never’, composed and sung by Tim Finn.

Two other songs ‘Nobody Takes Me Seriously’ and ‘’Whats The Matter With You’ were released as singles but failed to chart.

The ‘True Colours’ album was recorded at Armstrong Studios in South Melbourne between June and October 1977. The album was produced David Tickle who also worked on Joe Cocker’s ‘Night Calls, 4 Non Blondes ‘Bigger, Better, Faster, More!’, Toni Childs ‘Union’ and Belinda Carlisle’s ‘A Woman and a Man’.


1. Shark Attack
2. I Got You
3. What’s The Matter With You
4. Double Happy
5. I Wouldn’t Dream Of It
6. I Hope I Never
7. Nobody Takes Me Seriously
8. Missing Person
9. Poor Boy
10. How Can I Resist Her
11. The Choral Sea
12. Firedrill (Live form the Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
13. Hard Act To Follow (Live from Logan Campbell Centre Auckland, Dec 1984)
14. I Walk Away (Live from Festival Hall Melbourne, Nov 1984)
15. Log Cabin Fever (Live from Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
16. Lost For Words (Live from Capitol Theatre Sydney, Jul 1982)
17. Ninnee Neez Up (Live from Festival Hall Melbourne, Nov 1984)
18. Wail (Live from Regent Theatre Sydney, Mar 1981)


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

Midnight Oil play the Bowl on their Great Circle Tour 2017 Monday 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Midnight Oil Debut ‘Gadigal Land’ Their First New Music in 18 Years

Midnight Oil’s ‘Gadigal Land’ is the band’s first new music since 2002. The song features Dan Sultan, Joel Davison, Kaleena Briggs and Bunna Lawrie.

3 days ago
Paul Mescal Scarlett Rolling Stones video
The Rolling Stones Debut ‘Starlight’ Video Featuring Paul Mescal

The Rolling Stones have premiered their ‘Scarlett’ video starring Paul Mescal.

3 days ago
Roger Waters played Rod Laver Arena Melbourne on Saturday 10 February 2018. Roger Waters is performing his Us and Them Australian tour. Photo, Ros O'Gorman
Roger Waters Debuts Iso Version Of Pink Floyd’s ‘Vera’

Roger Waters has premiered the third edition of his Iso videos with a new version of his Pink Floyd ‘The Wall’ classic ‘Vera’ and ‘Bring The Boys Back Home’.

3 days ago
Taste Make Isolation Video For Pre-Isolation Song ‘Stand Up’

Taste have used self-isolation time to create a music video for their new song ‘Stand Up’.

4 days ago
Rod Stewart, photo by Mary Boukouvalas Noise11
Rod Stewart Australian Dates Bumped To 2022

The Rod Stewart Australian tour due to begin in November has been postponed until 2022.

4 days ago
Paul McCartney at AAMI Park Melbourne on Tuesday 5 December 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Paul McCartney Says Lennon’s ‘How Do You Sleep’ Was Hurtful

Sir Paul McCartney has admitted he found his late Beatles bandmate John Lennon's song 'How Do You Sleep?' “hurtful”.

4 days ago
Roger Waters talking at an event for Australia Palestine Advocacy Network (APAN) at the Atheneum Theatre Melbourne on Friday 9 February 2018. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Roger Waters Covers John Prine’s ‘Hello In There’

Pink Floyd legend Roger Waters has recorded an acoustic version of John Prine’s ‘Hello In There’ with Lucius.

5 days ago