Daptone To Release 20th Anniversary Live At The Apollo - Noise11.com
Daptone Super Soul Revue Live At The Apollo

Daptone Super Soul Revue Live At The Apollo

Daptone To Release 20th Anniversary Live At The Apollo

by Paul Cashmere on August 24, 2021

in News

Daptone Records will release up a 32 track feast of soul to mark the 20th anniversary of the label.

Daptone Records was founded in Brooklyn by Bosco Mann in 2001. It was the home of Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings and Charles Bradley.

‘Live At The Appollo’ by the Daptone Super Soul Revue was recorded over three nights in December 2014 at New York’s iconic Apollo Theater in Harlem.

The live album arrives this fall on October 1st and features performances by Charles Bradley, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, Naomi Shelton, Antibalas, The Budos Band, Menahan Street Band, Sugarman 3, Saun & Starr and the Como Mamas. The physical live album includes a 3xLP gatefold with 48-page booklet featuring both on-stage and backstage photos by Isaac Sterling and Jacob Blickenstaff.

‘Live At The Apollo’ will be released on 1 October, 2021.

1. Introduction by Binky Griptite – The Dap-Kings
2. Hot Shot – Saun & Starr
3. Confess It – Saun & Starr
4. In the Night – Saun & Starr
5. Witch’s Boogaloo – The Sugarman 3
6. Love Went Away – The Sugarman 3
7. Thank You Lord – Naomi Shelton and the Gospel Queens
8. Stranger – Naomi Shelton and the Gospel Queens
9. Higher Ground – Naomi Shelton and the Gospel Queens
10. Make the Road by Walking – Menahan Street Band
11. Out of the Wilderness – The Como Mamas
12. Heartaches and Pain – Charles Bradley (And His Extraordinaires)
13. The World (Is Going Up In Flames) – Charles Bradley (And His Extraordinaires)
14. Lovin’ You Baby – Charles Bradley (And His Extraordinaires)
15. Slip Away – Charles Bradley (And His Extraordinaires)
16. How Long – Charles Bradley (Featuring the Menahan Street Band)
17. Let Love Stand A. Chance – Charles Bradley (And His Extraordinaires)
18. The Sticks – The Budos Band
19. Ain’t It A Sin – Charles Bradley (Featuring the Budos Band)
20. Sare Kon Kon Pt. 1 – Antibalas
21. Sare Kon Kon Pt. 2 – Antibalas
22. Miss Sharon Jones’ Intro – The Dap-Kings
23. He Said I Can – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
24. If You Call – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
25. Tell Me – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
26. Get Up And Get Out – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
27. Making Up And Breaking Up (And Making Up And Breaking Up Over Again) – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
28. I’m Not Gonna Cry – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
29. Calamity – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
30. Every Beat Of My Heart – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
31. There Was A Time – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings (And Friends)
32. Family Affair / Outro – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

NEW: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

John Legend by Ros O'Gorman
John Legend Calls Tucker Carlson Reporting ‘Sickening and Dangerous’

John Legend has criticised political commentator Tucker Carlson for promoting a conspiracy theory following the mass shooting in Buffalo over the weekend.

1 day ago
Machine Gun Kelly Mainstream Sellout
Machine Gun Kelly To Auction Diamonds For Charity

Machine Gun Kelly is selling the diamonds he wore on his nails during the Billboard Music Awards for charity.

1 day ago
My Chemical Romance photo by Devin Sarno courtesy of Warner Music
My Chemical Romance Debut First New Music Since 2014 ‘The Foundations of Decay’

My Chemical Romance’s ‘The Foundations of Decay’ is the band’s first new music since ‘Fake Your Death’ in 2014. The last album ‘Danger Days: The Trues Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys’ was released in 2010.

2 days ago
Arcade Fire, Big Day Out Melbourne
UK Charts: Arcade Fire ‘WE’ Debuts At No 1

Arcade Fire secure their fourth UK Number 1 album with WE this week.

4 days ago
Black Dahlia Murder from the bands Facebook page
Black Dahlia Murder Singer Trevor Scott Strnad Dead At 41

Black Dahlia Murder have announced the death of lead singer Trevor Scott Strnad at age 41.

7 days ago
Death Cab For Cutie from their Facebook page
Death Cab for Cutie To Release New Music This Week

Death Cab For Cutie will release their first new music in four years this week.

May 11, 2022
photo credit Jarad Levy
Kav Temperley Of Eskimo Joe Premieres Solo Work ‘Machines of Love and Grace’

Kav Temperley of Eskimo Joe has a second solo album on the way. The first album ‘All Your Devotion’ was released four years ago in 2018.

May 11, 2022