David McCormack Wins APRA Screen Music Awards For Redfern Now - Noise11.com
David McCormack, Noise11, Photo

David McCormack

David McCormack Wins APRA Screen Music Awards For Redfern Now

by Paul Cashmere on December 9, 2013

in News,Noise Pro

David McCormack of Custard has won two APRA Screen Music Award for his music from episode 4 of Redfern Now.

McCormack won two awards at the APRA Screen Music Awards announced in Sydney on Monday night.

David McCormack is part owner of Solar Music and has written scores for Wild Boys, Blood Brothers and House Husbands.

In Custard McCormack had hit albums with ‘We Have The Technology’ and ‘Loverama’ and hit songs with ‘Music Is Crap’ and ‘Girls Like That (Don’t Go For Guys Like Us)’.

McCormack and composer Antony Parton won for Redfern Now for Best Music for a Television Series or Serial and Best Original Song Composed for the Screen.

2013 Screen Music Awards Winners

International Achievement Award
John Polson

Feature Film Score of the Year
Title The Rocket
Composed by Caitlin Yeo

Best Television Theme
Title The Doctor Blake Mysteries
Composed by Dale Cornelius
Published by Native Tongue Music Publishing

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Title Redfern Now – Episode 4: Stand Up
Composed by David McCormack / Antony Partos
Published by Sonar Music Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
Title The Mystery of a Hansom Cab
Composed by Cezary Skubiszewski
Published by Burberry Productions

Best Music for a Documentary
Title The A-Z of Contemporary Art
Composed by Michael Lira
Published by Sonar Music Pty Ltd

Best Music for a Short Film
Composed by Jonathan Dreyfus
Best Soundtrack Album
Title Black Water
Composed by Rafael May

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Title Lonely Child from Redfern Now
Composed by David McCormack / Antony Partos
Published by Sonar Music Pty Ltd

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title Flea Bitten
Composed by Christopher Elves
Published by Moody Street Kids Pty Ltd

Best Music for an Advertisement
Title Shibui Hands
Composed by Erin McKimm
Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Composer Jay Stewart

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas
Composer Neil Sutherland

Stay updated with your free Noise11 daily music newsletter. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here



Related Posts

Casey Barnes
APRA Professional Development Awards Finalists Revealed

APRA’s Professional Development Awards will be announced on 24 June 2021.

June 1, 2021
Alex The Astronaut
Alex The Astronaut To Headline LGBTQI+ Event In Sydney

Alex The Astronaut will play live for the Mardi Gras and APRA AMCOS for the second edition ‘Express Yourself – Queer Discovery’ in Sydney.

May 17, 2021
Jimmy Barnes at Red Hot Summer Mornington 2019 photo Noise11.com
Watch Jimmy Barnes and Josh Teskey Perform Matt Taylor Classic ‘I Remember When I Was Young’

Jimmy Barnes and Josh Teskey paid tribute to the late Michael Gudinski at the APRA Music Award in Sydney overnight.

April 29, 2021
Peter Garrett of Midnight Oil at Mt Duneed - photo Noise11.com
Midnight Oil Win Song of the Year At APRA Music Awards

Midnight Oil have won the 2021 APRA Song of the Year and Cold Chisel have also grabbed an award for Most Performed Rock Work.

April 28, 2021
APRA Regional Sessions
APRA To Conduct Songwriting Seminars Across Regional New South Wales

APRA AMCOS will head to Tamworth, Wagga Wagga, Dubbo, Wollongong and Byron Bay for ‘The Regional Sessions’, a one-day songwriting event.

April 28, 2021
Joy McKean
APRA To Honour Country Legend Joy McKean

Country legend Joy McKean has been announced as the recipient of the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music for 2021.

April 15, 2021
Midnight Oil play the Bowl on their Great Circle Tour 2017 Monday 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
The 2021 APRA Awards Nominations List

The 2021 APRA Music Awards nominees have been announced with Song of the Year in 2021 spread around Missy Higgins, Tame Impala, Midnight Oil, Amy Shark and Guy Sebastian.

March 30, 2021