REMI Wins Australian Music Prize -
Remi photo by Ros OGorman

Remi photo by Ros OGorman

REMI Wins Australian Music Prize

by Paul Cashmere on March 4, 2015

in News,Noise Pro

Melbourne rapper REMI is the 2015 winner of the Australian Music Prize.

The 2015 award was handed down at the Paddington Town Hall in Sydney on Wednesday night. REMI has won a $30,000 prize package with thanks to PPCA.

REMI said, “It’s absolutely crazy. We put everything we could into this album and to get this kind of recognition is amazing. I mean, we made this album in Sensible J’s spare bedroom so to be nominated at this level is pretty mind-blowing. We really just want to say a massive thanks to anyone who has listened to it closely and supported us so far.”

REMI ‘s album was selected by 15 member industry judging panel made up of artists, media and retailers from across Australia including Chairperson Dave Faulkner (Hoodoo Gurus), Chris Berkley (Red Eye Records, Sydney), Mikey Cahill (New Ltd), Bryget Chrisfield (The Music), Jen Cloher (artist), Mike Glynn (JB Hi FI), Chris Johnston (Fairfax), Tim Levinson (Urthboy), Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels), Shannon Logan (Jet Black Cat Music, Brisbane), Nate Nott (Polyester Records, Melbourne), Christopher Powell (Blackwood Sounds, Adelaide), Sarah Smith (Sound Alliance), Myf Warhurst (Double J), and Bernard Zuel (Fairfax).

Coopers AMP Founder and Director Scott B. Murphy said, “REMI’s win reflects all that we aim to achieve each year, as the Coopers AMP seeks to recognise Australian music of excellence across all genres. It’s amazing to see hip-hop in Australia grow so quickly. I want to congratulate REMI on his win, and hope that the $30,000 provided by PPCA will allow him to continue inspiring us with great music.”

The 10th Coopers AMP Shortlisted albums are: ‘About Face’ by #1 Dads, ‘Built On Glass’ by Chet Faker, ’Gon’ Boogaloo’ by C.W. Stoneking, ‘Grassed Inn’ by Blank Realm, ‘Laura Jean’ by Laura Jean, ‘Raw X Infinty’ by REMI, ‘Tales’ by The Peep Tempel, ‘The Sleeper’ by Caitlin Park and ‘Typical System’ by Total Control.

REMI ‘s win follows previous Coopers AMP winners:
2013 – ‘Not Art’ by Big Scary
2012 – ‘Hyperparadise’ by Hermitude
2011 – ‘Prisoner’ by The Jezabels
2010 – ‘Bliss Release’ by Cloud Control
2009 – ‘Wonder’ by Lisa Mitchell
2008 – ‘Primary Colours’ by Eddie Current Suppression Ring
2007 – ‘Devil’s Elbow’ by The Mess Hall
2006 – ‘Moo, You Bloody Choir’ by Augie March
2005 – ‘Wait Long By The River and the Bodies of Your Enemies Will Float By’ by The Drones


Never miss a story! Get your free daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Listen to the Noise11 Music News channel now at iHeartRadio

Follow on Facebook and Twitter

Related Posts

Genesis Owusu
Genesis Owusu Wins 2021 Australian Music Prize

The Australian Music Prize for 2021 has been awarded to Genesis Owusu for ‘Smiling With No Teeth’.

March 3, 2022
Billy Bragg photo by Ros O'Gorman, Noise11, photo
Billy Bragg To Guest Judge Australian Music Prize

Billy Bragg has agreed to be the guest international judge for the 2021 Australian Music Prize.

October 5, 2021
Sampa The Great 13th AMP showcase Pop up at the Arts Centre Foyer Melbourne on a Flatbed Truck. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Australian Music Prize Shortlist Revealed

The nine finalists for the Australian Music Prize have been announced. They are:

February 2, 2020
Angie McMahon
Australian Music Prize Nominees Announced

The annual Australian Music Prize - one of the most lauded awards in Australian music - has announced their shortlist for 2019 and there are some amazing records on it.

December 20, 2019
Thelma Plum Better In Blak
Thelma Plum, Alex Lahey, Julia Jacklin are up for 2019 Australian Music Prize

Thelma Plum, Alex Lahey and Julia Jacklin are included in the first 20 artists and albums nominated for a 2019 Australian Music Prize.

July 25, 2019
Gurrumul Djarimirri
Gurrumul ‘Djarimirri ‘(Child of the Rainbow)’ awarded Australian Music Prize

Gurrumul’s ‘Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow)’ has won for Australian Music Prize for 2019.

March 8, 2019
Sampa The Great 13th AMP showcase Pop up at the Arts Centre Foyer Melbourne on a Flatbed Truck. Photo Ros O'Gorman
Sydney Venue The Basement To Close

Sydney ridiculous Liberal government induced lock-out laws has claimed another scalp, according to Sydney musician Danny G Felix. The iconic Circular Quay music venue may be on the verge of closing.

March 25, 2018