Australian Music Prize Shortlist Revealed -
Sampa The Great 13th AMP showcase Pop up at the Arts Centre Foyer Melbourne on a Flatbed Truck. Photo Ros O'Gorman

Sampa The Great Photo Ros O'Gorman

Australian Music Prize Shortlist Revealed

by Paul Cashmere on February 2, 2020

in News,Noise Pro

The nine finalists for the Australian Music Prize have been announced. They are:


Ainslie Wills – All You Have Is All You Need

Amyl & the Sniffers – Amyl & the Sniffers

Dispossessed – Warpath Never Ended

Julia Jacklin – Crushing

Methyl Ethel – Triage

Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds – Ghosteen

Sampa The Great – The Return

Sleep D – Rebel Force

Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

“The fact that I’m able to create my most vulnerable music and have it supported over the years has been amazing! I want to thank the AMP for recognising the music and stories behind The Return. Said Sampa The Great “The Return was not written for radio play or commercial appeal. It was written to bring to light the journey of a person who began her career in a country far away from home. It was to bring to light the sense of displacement felt in that journey and in a global sense throughout the world. It allowed me to tell my full story – without having it told for me. I thank the AMP for looking at solely the music and judging only that. As in this day and age it seems that is not the norm.”

“I would like to thank everyone behind the Return. The executive producer of the Return, Silent J. The community within the music. The authors behind the soul of the music. My parents and my family.” Continued Sampa The Great

The panel of judges for the 2020 Awards are:

Abbe May
Alex Cameron
Alex Gow
Alex Grigg
Amelia Jenner
Angus Andrew
Andrew Drever
Andrew Sinclair
Bryget Chrisfield
Bernard Zuel
Cassie Walker
Cameron Adams
Dan & Maia
Dan Kelly
Dan Condon
David James Young
Chris Berkley
Jeremy Rose
Jessica Dale
Jill Webb
Hayden Davies
Kieran Stafford
Kate Hennessy
Lauren Baxter
Jeb Taylor
Mikey Cahill
Miranda Boyce
Martin Boulton
Mike Glynn
Phil Jamieson
Paddy Mann
Ofa Fotu
Michael Hohnen
Rok Riley
Sam Anning
Sarah Smith
Rod Yates
Shaad D’Souza
Simon Collins
Sose Fuamoli
Steve Bell
Shannon Logan
Tim Freedman
Tiarney Miekus
Simon Winkler
Tim Daley
Triana Hernandez
Zoë Radas

“As a first time AMP judge, binge-listening was a chance to revisit great albums and discover albums that had slipped through the cracks now we’re all seemingly bombarded with more music than ever before. Heaven knows how they managed to cull all those albums down, but they’ve come up with a fine nine that is a killer snapshot of Australian music in the last 12 months,” said Australian Music Prize judge Cameron Adams.

The Australian Music Prize will be announced this month. Date to be determined. The winner will receive a cash prize of $30,000.

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook



Related Posts

Amyl & The Sniffers
SXSW highlight Amyl & The Sniffers Debut Album is coming in May

Melbourne band Amyl & The Sniffers were the buzz band of SXSW 2019. In May they will release their debut album.

April 11, 2019
Cut Copy
Cut Copy Dizzee Rascal Added To Falls

Cut Copy, Dizzee Rascal and Melbourne punks Amyl & The Sniffers will be performing at some or all of the upcoming Falls Festivals.

October 23, 2018
18 Australian and Eight New Zealand Acts Announced for SXSW 2019

Australia’s Skegss and Amyl & The Sniffers and New Zealand’s The Chills will perform at SXSW 2019.

October 18, 2018