Missy Higgins Wins Her First APRA Screen Music Award - Noise11.com
Missy Higgins photo by Ros OGorman

Missy Higgins photo by Ros OGorman

Missy Higgins Wins Her First APRA Screen Music Award

by Paul Cashmere on November 13, 2017

in News,Noise Pro

Missy Higgins has won her first APRA Screen Music Award for Best Original Song Composed For Screen for the Australian film ‘Torchlight’.

Missy’s ‘Don’t Tell’ was the main song from the movie. ‘Torchlight’ is a movie about a woman who fights back after sexual abuse at prestigious private school.

The award is Missy’s third APRA gong after winning Song of the Year for ‘Scar’ and the Breakthrough Award in 2005.

Missy Higgins is also a nine time ARIA Award winner.

The Screen Music Awards were announced in Melbourne on Monday night (13 Nov 17).

2017 Screen Music Awards Winners

Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award
Martin Armiger

Feature Film Score of the Year
Title Jasper Jones
Composed by Antony Partos

Best Music for a Television Series or Serial
Title The Get Down
Composed by Elliott Wheeler
Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie
Title Barracuda
Composed by Bryony Marks
Published by Kobalt Music Publishing obo Lillipilli IP

Best Television Theme
Title Fox League Super Saturday
Composed by Briggs, Justin Shave and Charlton Hill
Published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Title Torchlight from Don’t Tell
Composed by Missy Higgins

Best Music for a Documentary
Title Whiteley
Composed by Ash Gibson Greig

Best Music for a Short Film
Title Last Tree Standing
Composed by Me-Lee Hay

Best Soundtrack Album
Title Alien: Covenant
Composed by Jed Kurzel
Published by Sony/ATV/FOX Music

Best Music for Children’s Television
Title Bottersnikes & Gumbles: The Ugly Pageant
Composed by Michael Szumowski
Published by BMG AM and Cheeky Little Media

Best Music for an Advertisement
Title Good Mood Water: The Bad Choice
Composed by Lindsay Jehan and Nathan Cavaleri
Published by Song Zu Publishing

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Composers Adam Gock and Dinesh Wicks

Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas
Composer Neil Sutherland

Monday 13 November, 2017
Melbourne Recital Centre
Hosted by Denise Scott
Musical Director Jessica Wells




Related Posts

Jen Cloher at the 2015 Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards held in Melbourne at the Meat Market on Thursday 22 October 2015. Photo Ros O'Gorman
APRA Delivers Its Strongest Song of the Year Shortlist In Years

With APRA AMCOS the barometer of Australian music you can rest assured that Australian music is in fine shape, even it doesn’t make the ARIA annual Top 10.

January 11, 2018
Jenny Morris and Ian James Named Chair and Deputy Chair of APRA

Jenny Morris and Ian James have been named the Chair and Deputy Chair for APRA at the annual general meeting conducted in Sydney today.

November 22, 2017
Gordi, Ainslie Wills, Julia Jacklin Awarded APRA PDAs

APRA AMCOS has announced the 2017 Professional Development Awards with Ainslie Wills, Julia Jacklin and Gordi sharing in the $135,000 cash prize pool.

July 25, 2017
Grant McLennan Fellowship
Applications for Grant McLennan Fellowship Open For 2017

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

July 19, 2017
My Friend The Chocolate Cake perform at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 16 June 2017. Photo by Ros OGorman
Art Music Awards 2017 Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2017 Art Music Awards have been announced.

July 19, 2017
Tkay Maidza
APRA Professional Development Awards Nominees for 2017 Announced

Pop acts Tkay Maidza, Julia Jacklin and Montaigne, to classical composer Katy Abbott, country singer-songwriter Christie Lamb, jazz singer and composer Daniel Susnjar, electronic artist Jacob Grant (pka Just A Gent) and screen composer Amy Bastow, are 2017 finalists for the APRA Professional Development Awards.

July 3, 2017
Art Music Awards
APRA To Hold Art Music Awards in Sydney in August

APRA AMCOS will present to the 7th Art Music Awards in Sydney on August 22.

July 2, 2017