APRA To Honor Colin Hay and Colleen Ironside With the Ted Albert Award for 2023 - Noise11.com
Colin Hay performs at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 11 February 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman

Colin Hay performs at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 11 February 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman

APRA To Honor Colin Hay and Colleen Ironside With the Ted Albert Award for 2023

by Paul Cashmere on April 13, 2023

in News,Noise Pro

APRA has announced that the recipient of the 2023 Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services To Australian Music will go to both Colin Hay and Colleen Ironside.

In a statement Colin Hay said, “To receive the news that APRA wanted to bestow this most prestigious Ted Albert Award is very special indeed. This award is for outstanding services to Australian Music. I think services is the key word here. It’s important to realise at some point in your life that it is a valuable thing to be of service. To be of some use.”

Colleen Ironside, who passed away in 2022, began her career with the Harbour Agency in Sydney, before branching out with her own booking agency APA, promoting clients such as INXS, Ratcat, Jenny Morris, Wendy Matthews, James Reyne and Def FX. In 1994 Frontier Touring hired Ironside as Head of its Asia division, where she managed tours by Pearl Jam, REM and Tom Jones among others. In 1999 she set up Live Limited and toured the Rolling Stones, Elton John, David Bowie, Sting and countless other music heavyweights. In 2005 she was Senior Vice President of bookings for Live Nation in Pan-Asia where she worked for five years before reviving Live Limited, promoting heavyweight artists Janet Jackson in Hong Kong, Bruno Mars in Malaysia and Bob Dylan in Hong Kong and Vietnam.

“We are very proud to salute two uniquely Australian music industry figures, the late Colleen Ironside, and Colin Hay who both honed their talent and started careers at home, which sent them out into the international scene and onto huge success. Colleen championed Australian songwriters and artists and created live music pathways into Asia with a business acumen that was years ahead of her peers. Colin is a songwriter of the highest level and with the biggest heart, whose songs continue to connect and hit #1 on the charts. We look forward to honouring them with the Ted Albert Award at this year’s APRA Music Awards,” said Dean Ormston, CEO, APRA AMCOS.

The Ted Albert Award is named after Albert productions founder Ted Albert, who founded the label to released the albums of AC/DC, The Easybeats, Flash & The Pan, Rose Tattoo, The Angels and John Paul Young.

Previous winners of the Ted Albert Award are:
Year Winner
1991 Allan Hely
1992 John Sturman
1993 Peter Sculthorpe
1994 Ian Meldrum
1995 Harry Vanda and George Young
1996 Ron Tudor
1997 No awards
1998 Michael Gudinski
1999 Slim Dusty
2000 triple j
2001 Charles Fischer
2002 Barry Chapman
2003 Angus Young, Malcolm Young and Bon Scott
2004 Don Burrows
2005 Michael Chugg
2006 Bill Armstrong
2007 Michael McMartin
2008 Roger Davies
2009 Denis Handlin (revoked)
2010 Jimmy Little
2011 Paul Kelly
2012 Mary Lopez
2013 The Seekers
2014 Lindy Morrison
2015 Fifa Riccobono
2016 Cold Chisel
2017 Archie Roach
2018 Midnight Oil
2019 Rob Potts
2020 Helen Reddy (held over to 2021)
2021 Joy McKean
2022 The Wiggles
2023 Colin Hay and Colleen Ironside

Thursday 27 April
ICC Sydney, Gadigal land.
With host Celia Pacquola and guest presenters Fred Leone and Henry Wagons And Musical Director François Tétaz

Stay updated with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see NOISE.com’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE


Follow Noise11 on Social Media

Noise11 on Instagram

You’ll discover music news first following Noise11 on Twitter

Comment on the news of the day, join Noise11 on Facebook

Related Posts

Ian Kenny of Birds of Tokyo photo by Winston Robinson
APRA Awards Winners For 2024 Announced

The APRA Awards have been revealed with The Teskey Brothers, Birds of Tokyo and Casey Barnes taking home awards this year.

May 1, 2024
Sarah Aarons (photo supplied by APRA)
APRA Song of the Year Nominees Announced

Sarah Aarons leads the ARPA Song of the Year nominees for the 2024 APRA Awards.

April 4, 2024
2023 APRA Screen Music Awards Winners List

The APRA Screen Music Awards celebrating excellence in music across small and large screens, was held at the Forum Theatre in Melbourne tonight 9 November 2023.

November 9, 2023
Nick Cave and Warren Ellis photo by Kerry Brown
The 2023 Screen Music Awards Nominees Revealed

APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers) Screen Music Awards for 2023 will be held in Melbourne on 9 November, 2023.

October 5, 2023
Screen Music Awards host Susie Youssef and Musical Director Erkki Veltheim
Susie Youssef To Host The 2023 Screen Music Awards

The 2023 Screen Music Awards will return to Melbourne this year. The Screen Music Awards honors Australia’s finest creators of film, television, streaming, documentary and advertising music.

September 12, 2023
ANNOUNCEMENT: Applications now open for 2024 APRA Professional Development Awards

APRA AMCOS is proud to announce applications are now open for the 2024 APRA Professional Development Awards, a career-boosting initiative that has helped further the musical success stories of Gotye, Ecca Vandal, Melanie Dyer, Ngaiire, Angie McMahon, Yirrmal, Morgan Evans, Baker Boy, Amanda Cole, Jem Cassar-Daley and many more.

August 8, 2023
The 2017 APIA Good Times tour in Melbourne at Hamer Hall on Friday 26 May 2017 with Deborah Conway, Colin Hay, Mental As Anything, Black Sorrows.
2023 APRA Music Awards Nominees Announced

The 2023 APRA Music Awards nominees have been announced ahead of the event taking place in Sydney on 27 April.

March 30, 2023