APRA Shortlist 20 Song of the Year Contenders - Noise11.com
Nick Cave, Photo: Ros O'Gorman

Nick Cave, Photo: Ros O'Gorman

APRA Shortlist 20 Song of the Year Contenders

by Paul Cashmere on April 15, 2014

in News,Noise Pro

With the APRA Music Awards heading to Brisbane in June, APRA have revealed 20 songs up for the major award Song of the Year.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Boy and Bear have both been shortlisted with two songs each while Ian Kenny of both Birds of Tokyo and Karnivool has been nominated twice, one for each of his bands.

The APRA Music Awards are about songwriters and are voted for by APRA AMCOS members.

The nominees for all APRA Music Award categories will be announced on Thursday 29 May.

On 23 June the APRA Music Awards will be held for the first time in Brisbane.

APRA Song of the Year contenders

A Moat You Can Stand In – The Drones
Alive – Empire Of The Sun
Avenger – The Bamboos
Battleships – Bernard Fanning
Bayini – Geoffrey Yunupingu
Covered In Chrome – Violent Soho
Drop The Game – Flume & Chet Faker
God Fearing – Sarah Blasko and the Slavey Folklore Quartet
Harlequin Dream – Boy and Bear
Is This How You Feel – The Preatures
Jubilee Street – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds
Lanterns – Birds Of Tokyo
Only One – John Butler Trio
Resolution – Matt Corby
Rip Tide – Vance Joy
Southern Star – Boy and Bear
Steal The Light – The Cat Empire
Under Your Skin – Dan Sultan
We Are – Karnivool
We No Who U R – Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Never miss a story! Get your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to the Noise11 Music Newsletter here

Follow Noise11.com on Facebook and Twitter

Related Posts

Tom Gleeson
APRA Awards Adds Hard Rock / Heavy Metal Category for 2024

The 2024 APRA Music Awards will recognise Hard Rock and Heavy Metal with a new category this year.

March 19, 2024
Colin Hay performs at the Recital Centre in Melbourne on 11 February 2018. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
Ringo Starr Beams Down To Australia’s APRA Awards to Congratulate Colin Hay

Ringo Starr popped up at the APRA Awards in Sydney tonight to congratulate his friend Colin Hay on receiving the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music.

April 27, 2023
Angus Young AC/DC Etihad Stadium, Rock Or Bust World Tour. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
2022 APRA Music Awards, the Complete Winners List

The APRA Music Awards were held in Melbourne Tuesday night (3 May 2022) honoring Australian songwriters across 15 categories.

May 3, 2022
Peter Garrett Midnight Oil 6 November 2017. Photo by Ros O'Gorman
APRA Music Awards Nominees for 2022 Have Been Revealed

The nominees for the APRA Music Awards have been revealed with Midnight Oil. Amy & The Sniffers, Hiatus Kaiyote, Genesis Owusu and The Kid Laroi up for Song of the Year.

April 7, 2022
Jerome Farah
APRA Music Awards To Celebrate 40 Years Event In Melbourne

The APRA Music Awards is about to have its landmark 40 year edition with a major celebration in Melbourne on 3 May 2022.

March 24, 2022
Jimmy Barnes at Red Hot Summer Mornington 2019 photo Noise11.com
Tones and I, Hilltop Hoods, Jimmy Barnes Win APRA Music Awards

The APRA Music Awards were announced tonight with a virtual event during COVID-19 lockdown.

May 25, 2020
Kate Miller-Heidke announces Helpmann Awards Nominations at Hamer Hall.
APRA Song of the Year Short List Reveals Incredible Diversity In Australian Music during 2018

The APRA Song of the Year short list has once again revealed an incredible list of homegrown talent.

February 4, 2019