Let It Bleed Indeed, The Stones To Expand Hackney Diamonds - Noise11.com
Rolling Stones Hackney Diamonds

Let It Bleed Indeed, The Stones To Expand Hackney Diamonds

by Paul Cashmere on December 1, 2023

in News

With not even two months since the release of the 43 different ‘Hackney Diamonds’ album covers, the Rolling Stones will suck more cash from the veins of fans and let them bleed once again with an expanded edition of ‘Hackney Diamonds’.

The upcoming Christmas cash grab will be released on 15 December. The bonus disc is the live album from the Racket Club, New York Hackney Diamonds launch on 19 October, 2023.

Hackney Diamonds (Live Edition) Tracklisting
1. Angry
2. Get Close
3. Depending On You
4. Bite My Head Off
5. Whole Wide World
6. Dreamy Skies
7. Mess It Up
8. Live By The Sword
9. Driving Me Too Hard
10. Tell Me Straight
11. Sweet Sounds of Heaven (featuring Lady Gaga)
12. Rolling Stone Blues

CD2 – Live At Racket, NYC
1. Shattered (Live at Racket, NYC)
2. Angry (Live at Racket, NYC)
3. Whole Wide World (Live at Racket, NYC)
4. Tumbling Dice (Live at Racket, NYC)
5. Bite My Head Off (Live at Racket, NYC)
6. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Live at Racket, NYC)
7. Sweet Sounds of Heaven (featuring Lady Gaga) (Live at Racket, NYC)

The Rolling Stones have done a magnificent job milking ‘Hackney Diamonds’. The band created a multi-million dollar marketing campaign around the release of their first studio album since ‘Blue & Lonesome’ in 2016, including the construction of an entire media circus fronted by clown Jimmy Fallon.

The Stones planned ‘Hackney Diamonds’ as a cash grab right from the start. Justin Bieber’s producer Andrew Watt was recruited to give the album a sound only 18 year olds can appreciate. There are no dynamics. It is over-compressed. It is an album made to be listened to through earbuds, not a sound system.

The top-heavy celebrity guest list of players recruited was to generate headlines and added to the campaign and the production of a different album cover for every major league baseball team milked fans right at the start of the release.

‘Hackney Diamonds’ is a good album. It could have been a great album if it didn’t have Andrew Watt but we have what we have. There is also a part two (or another album) expected sometime in the future. The Stones recorded enough for two albums during these sessions so there is another one coming. That’s the good news. The bad news is Watt will be all over it too.

The fact is we would rather have a new Stones album than no Stones album at all. With a North American tour in 2024, talk of an Australian tour for 2025 and yet another album to come (as well as whatever is next from the archives) Stones fans will still have a lot to look forward to for years to come.

Stay updated with your free Noise11.com daily music news email alert. Subscribe to Noise11 Music News here

Be the first to see NOISE11.com’s newest interviews and special features on YOUTUBE and updated regularly. See things first SUBSCRIBE here: Noise11 on YouTube SUBSCRIBE


Related Posts

UB40 Cover 60s Pop Classic ‘Gimme Some Sign’

Robin Campbell’s UB40 are continuing their tradition of covering pop hit as reggae songs with their latest cover, Brenton Wood’s ‘Gimme Little Sign’ as ‘Gimme Some Kinda Sign’.

15 hours ago
Josh Owen Hold Your Breath
Josh Owen Premiers New Song Hold Your Breath

Josh Owen is not only guitarist for James Reyne but will open for James on the Crawl File tour and no doubt his setlist will include this new song ‘Hold Your Breath’.

4 days ago
Taylor Swift at the MCG Melbourne 16 February 2024 Photo Credit TAS Rights Management
Taylor Swift Describes ‘Tortured Poets Department’ As a “Life-Line”

Taylor Swift has admitted her upcoming album, 'The Tortured Poets Department', was "really a lifeline for me".

4 days ago
Peter Freebairn
Here Is Some New Australian Power Pop From Peter Freebairn – I Got Lucky (I Got You)

Melbourne singer-songwriter Peter Freebairn is heading towards that long overdue solo debut album following the 2019 release of the self-titled EP.

5 days ago
Taylor Swift at the MCG Melbourne 16 February 2024 Photo Credit TAS Rights Management
Australian Acts Cover Taylor Swift For Triple M

Australian radio station Triple M curated an incredible list of Australian artists performing the songs of Taylor Swift and it really, really works.

5 days ago
Amigo The Devil
Amigo The Devil Preps Fourth Album Ahead Of Australian Tour

Amigo The Devil (Danny Kiranos) will tour Australia in April with a unique blend of folk, country, rock and punk metal with themes of death and murder. Its been called Murderfolk and Dark Folk. Whatever the case, you’ll hear a whole new music genre play out before your eyes and ears.

5 days ago
Taylor Swift the 2009 Noise11 interview
Taylor Swift Started Out Humble and Remains Humble. Watch The 2009 Noise11 interview

In 2009 when Taylor Swift toured Australia she took time out to join us for an early edition of her story at Noise11.

6 days ago